UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Germanic Studies

Indexes & Databases
General

Historical Abstracts
Indexing with abstracts for literature relating to world history -- excluding the US and Canada -- from 1450 to the present. Covers political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural, and intellectual history. Coverage: 1955-present. CU

Stuart Jenks, Dieter Rübsamen (eds.), Magazine Stacks: Tables of Contents of Historical Journals and Monographic Series in German
Covers the period prior to Historical Abstracts.

Periodicals

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Extensive list of print and electronic indexes to German periodicals.

Bibliographie
der deutschen Zeitschriften-literatur. Leipzig: Fr. Andra's Nachfolger, 1896-1964. 
REFERENCE AI9 B5

Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus Allen Gebieten des Wissens. Osnabrück: Dietrich, 1963-
International, multilingual, and interdisciplinary bibliography indexing over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences; continuation of the entry above. 
REFERENCE AI1 I57

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens
Coverage: 1983 - present. CU

Reviews

Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen wissenschaftlicher Literatur. Osnabrück: Dietrich, 1971- 
REFERENCE AI1 I58

H-Net Reviews
Especially H-German, HABSBURG, and H-Soz-u-Kult (social and cultural history).

Bibliographies
General

RI-OPAC (Regesta Imperii OPAC)
Database with German-language search interface that indexes materials in a variety of languages on the European Middle Ages. Materials cover many subject areas, including archaeology, history, art, literature, music, philology, philosophy, and theology. Currently, it contains more than 650,000 titles, ranging in years covered from 1500 to today.

Regesta Imperii
Database of keyword-searchable full text and images of this great source work of German and European history. The Regesta Imperii offers an inventory of all documentary and historiographical sources of Romano-German kingship from the Carolingians to Maximilian I (751-1519), as well as of the Popes of the early and high middle ages.

 

Köhler, Hans-Joachim. Bibliographie der Flugschriften des 16. Jahrhunderts. Tübingen: Bibliotheca Academica, 1991.
NORLIN BR303 K64 1991

Das Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachbereich erschienenen Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts (VD16)
. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1983.
Catalog of all works published in Germany or the German language in the 16th century.
REFERENCE Z1014 V47 1983

Das Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts (VD 17)

Searchable database of the same type of works for the 17th century, including scanned images of their front matter. Work still in progress.

Zophy
, Jonathan W. An Annotated Bibliography of the Holy Roman Empire. Bibliographies and Indexes in World History, 3. New York: Greenwood, 1986. 
REFERENCE Z2236 Z66 1986

Hacken, Richard D. Central European Economic History from Waterloo to OPEC, 1815-1975: A Bibliography. Bibliographies and Indexes in Economics and Economic History, 6. New York:

Greenwood, 1987.
PASCAL Z7165 C42 H33 1987
Austria
Österreichische Historische Bibliographie
Searchable database of entries from the Austrian Historical Bibliography, a classed bibliography of historical literature published in Austrian periodicals or Austrian publishing houses, with the bulk of the material relating to Austria.

Mitchell, Michael. Austria. Rev. ed. World Bibliographical Series, 66. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio, 1999.
Good starting point for beginners.
PASCAL Z2101 S27 1999

Low, Alfred D. The Anschluss Movement, 1918-1938, Background and Aftermath: An Annotated Bibliography of German and Austrian Nationalism. New York: Garland, 1984.
NORLIN Z2120 L68 1984
Germany
Dahlmann, Friedrich Christoph. Dahlmann-Waitz Quellenkunde der deutschen Geschichte: Bibliographie der Quellen und der Literatur zur deutschen Geschichte. 10th ed. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1965-1993
The standard bibliography of German history in all its phases covering through the end of WWII, and including both German and non-German works.
REFERENCE Z2236 D14 1965

Wattenbach, Wilhelm. Deutschlands Geschichtsquellen im Mittelalter, Vorzeit und Karolinger. Weimar: Böhlau,1953,
Important guide to the printed sources of German history.
NORLIN DD3 W35s

Lorenz, Ottokar. Deutschlands Geschichtsquellen im Mittelalter seit der Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts. Reprint of 1886/87 ed. Graz: Akademische Druck- u. Verlagsanstalt. 
NORLIN DD86 L86 1966

Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte: Kumulierte Bibliographie
Topical listing from the earliest times to WWII.

Keyser, Erich. Bibliographie zur Städtegeschichte Deutschlands. Köln: Böhlau, 1969.
REFERENCE Z2243 K48

Hill, Boyd H. The Rise of the First Reich: Germany in the Tenth Century. Major Issues in History. New York: Wiley, 1969.
NORLIN and PASCAL DD136 H5

Stokes, Lawrence D. Medieval and Reformation Germany (to 1648): A Select Bibliography. Helps for Students of History, 84. London: Historical Association, 1972.
NORLIN D6 H38 no.84

Huch, Ricarda. Das Zeitalter der Glaubensspaltung. Berlin: Atlantis Verlag, 1954.
Topical listing of the main sources for Reformation history, with a brief discussion of documents and references to other bibliographies.
NORLIN DD176 H8 1954

Schottenloher, Karl. Bibliographie zur deutschen Geschichte im Zeitalter der Glaubensspaltung, 1517-1585. 2nd ed. Stuttgart: Hiersemann. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1974.
REFERENCE and NORLIN Z2239 F68

The Weimar Republic: A Historical Bibliography. ABC-Clio Research Guides, 9. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio, 1984.
NORLIN Z2240 W38 1984

Low, Alfred D. The Anschluss Movement, 1918-1938, Background and Aftermath: An Annotated Bibliography of German and Austrian Nationalism. New York: Garland, 1984.
NORLIN Z2120 L68 1984

The Third Reich, 1933-1939: A Historical Bibliography. ABC-Clio Research Guides, 10. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio, 1984.
NORLIN Z2240 T47 1984

Snyder, Louis Leo. The Third Reich, 1933-1945: A Bibliographical Guide to German National Socialism. New York: Garland, 1987.
NORLIN Z2241 N27 S65 1987

The Third Reich at War: A Historical Bibliography. ABC-Clio Research Guides, 11. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio, 1984.
PASCAL Z6207 W8 T46 1984

Gassert, Philipp. The Hitler Library: A Bibliography. Bibliographies and Indexes in World History, 52. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood, 2001.
NORLIN Z997 H6657 G37 2001

Hollmann, Michael. Besatzungszeit, Bundesrepublik Deutschland und Deutsche Demokratische Republik (1945-1969): Akten und persönliche Quellen. Quellenkunde zur deutschen Geschichte der Neuzeit von 1500 bis zur Gegenwart, 7. Damstadt: Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 2001.
NORLIN DD257.2 H655 2001

Vogelsang, Thilo. Bibliographie zur Zeitgeschichte, 1953-1980. München: Saur, 1982-1983.
PASCAL Z6204 B59 1982

Abbey, William. Two into One: Germany 1989-1992, A Bibliography of the "Wende." London: University of London Institute of Germanic Studies, 1993. 
NORLIN DD290.5 T86 1993
Switzerland
Barth, Hans. Repertorium über die in Zeit- und Sammelschriften der Jahre 1812-1890 enthaltenen Aufsätze und Mitteilungen schweizergeschichtlichen Inhaltes. Bern: Lang, 1967.
NORLIN Z2786 B35 1967

Barth, Hans. Bibliographie der schweizer Geschichte enthaltend die selbstandig erschienenen Druckwerke zur Geschichte der Schweiz bis Ende 1912. Basel : Basler Buch- und Antiquariatshandlung, 1914-1915.
Continuation of above entry.
NORLIN DQ3 Q354

Bibliographie der Schweizergeschichte
. Bern: Eidegenossische Durcksachen- und Materialzentrale, 1913. 
REFERENCE Z2786 B58

Meier, Heinz K. Switzerland. World Bibliographical Series, 114. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio, 1990.
Good starting point for beginners.
NORLIN Z2771 S9 1990
Historical Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
General
Brockhaus Enzyklopädie. 19th ed. Mannheim: Brockhaus, 1986-1994.
NORLIN AE27 G672

Meyers enzyklopädisches Lexikon
. 9th ed. Mannheim: Bibliographisches Inst., 1971-
REFERENCE AE27 M6 1971
Austria
Bamberger, Richard. Österreich-Lexikon. Wien : Österreichisches Bundesverlag, 1966.
Extensive coverage of topics relating to Austria during all periods, short articles with bibliographies
REFERENCE DB14 O48

AEIOU Österreich Lexikon

Fichtner, Paula S. Historical Dictionary of Austria. European Historical Dictionaries, 36. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow, 1999.
NORLIN DB35 F53 1999
Germany
Thompson, Wayne C. Historical Dictionary of Germany. European Historical Dictionaries, 4. Metuchen, N.J.
REFERENCE DD84 .T48 1994
Switzerland
Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz
Handbooks
General
Haberkern, Eugen. Hilfswörterbuch für Historiker: Mittelatler und Neuzeit. Bern: Francke, 1964.
PASCAL 903 H113
Austria
Uhlirz, Karl. Handbuch der Geschichte Österreichs und seiner Nachbarländer Böhmen und Ungarn. Graz: Leuschener und Lubensky, 1927-1944.
Guide to research on the history of Austria, Bohemia and Hungary, with extensive bibliographies.
NORLIN DB38 U4
Germany
Gebhardt, Bruno. Handbuch der deutschen Geschichte. 10th ed. Stuttgart: Klett Cotta, 2001. Chronological compendium covering up to 1950, surveying the history of each period followed by and extensive bibliography.
REFERENCE DD90 .G32 2001

Grotefend, Hermann. Zeitrechnung des deutschen Mittelalters und der Neuzeit.
Glossaries, calendars and tables showing the chronology of German history in the Middle Ages.
Also NORLIN CE61.G3 G8 1891a

Büsch, Otto. Handbuch der preussischen Geschichte. Berlin: De Gruyter, 1992.
NORLIN DD347 .H26 1992

Spindler, Max. Handbuch der bayerischen Geschichte. München: Beck, 1968.
Similar to Gebhardt (above), but for Bavaria.
NORLIN DD801.B35 S62 1968
Archival Directories
Austria
Archive in Österreich
Germany
Archive in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Verzeichnis der schriftlichen Nachlässe in deutschen Archiven und Bibliotheken
. Boppard am Rhein: Boldt, 1971-1983.
Survey of collections of papers by name.
PASCAL Z6616.A2 M6

Welsch, Erwin K. Archives and Libraries in a New Germany. New York: Council for European Studies, 1994.
REFERENCE Z675.H5 W45 1994
Switzerland
Archive in der Schweiz
Language Dictionaries
General
Grimms Deutsches Wörterbuch

Mittelhochdeutsche Wörterbücher Online
Allows searches in the Mittelhochdeutsche Wörterbuch by Benecke/Müller/Zarncke, the Mittelhochdeutsche Handwörterbuch by Lexer and the Findebuch zum mittelhochdeutschen Wortschatz.

Götze, Alfred. Frühneuhochdeutsches Glossar. 7th ed. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1967.
Handy and relatively comprehensive aid to high German of the end of the 15th to the middle of the 17th centuries.
PASCAL 433 G718f
Dialects
Castelli, I. F. Wörterbuch der Mundart in Oesterreich unter der Enns, eine Sammlung der Wörter, Ausdrücke und Redensarten, welche von der hochdeutschen Sprache abweichend, dem niederösterreichischen Dialekte eigenthümlich sind, sammt beigefügter Erklärung, und so viel möglich auch ihrer Abstammung und Verwandschaft, beigegeben grammatische und dialektologische Bemerkungen über diese Mundart überhaupt ... Wien: In Commission bei Tendler und Compagnie, 1847.
Microfiche 1552 (request at CIRC DESK)

Biographical Works

Austria

Wurzbach, Constant von. Biographisches Lexikon des Kaiserthums Oesterreich, enthaltend die Lebensskizzen der denkwürdigen Personen, welche seit 1750 in den österreichischen Kronländern geboren wurden oder darin gelebt und gewirkt haben. Wien: K. K. Hof- und Staatsdruckerei, 1856.
REFERENCE CT903 .W8

Neue österreichische Biographie, 1815-1918. Wien: Amalthea, 1923.
NORLIN CT912 .N4

Germany

Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (ADB). Leipzig: Duncker & Humblot, 1875-1912.

REFERENCE CT1053 .A5
Allgemeine/Neue deutsche Biographie: Digitales Register
This online index unites these two standard German biographical works into a single searchable resource.

Killy, Walther. Deutsche biographische Enzyklopädie. München: Saur, 2001.
T ranslated into English.
REFERENCE CT759 .D4813 2001

Neue deutsche Biographie (NDB). Berlin: Duncker & Humblot, 1953-
REFERENCE CT1053 .N4
Allgemeine/Neue deutsche Biographie: Digitales Register
This online index unites these two standard German biographical works into a single searchable resource.

Cosner, Shaaron. Women under the Third Reich: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1998.
NORLIN HQ1623 .C65 1998

Web Resources
General
Dortmunder Linkkatalog zur Geschichtswissenschaft: Das Verzeichnis historischer Online-Ressourcen: Geschichte im Internet
Austria

Virtual Library History: German History

Switzerland

WWW Virtual Library History: Switzerland

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.