University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    

 

Germanic


 


Any or no photo can go here

Research Resources  > Subject Guides
  

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Germanic Language & Literature

 

What's New

Trial Databases

No current trials.

Recently Acquired Databases

Spiegel Wissen

Spiegel's free online archive back to 1947 includes all content except for the two most recent issues. A separate section exists for Spiegel Dossiers. Searches also bring up results from Wikipedia and from the Lexikon, which includes a Bertelsmann encyclopedia, Wahrig's Rechtschreibung, and Bertelsmann's Deutsches Wörterbuch.

 

Österreichische Historische Bibliographie

The ÖHB (Austrian Historical Bibliography) is a bibliography of historical literature published in Austrian books, periodicals, festschriften and dissertations since 1945 and relating primarily to Austrian history.

 

Periodicals Archive Online

PAO is ann archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with e-access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. CU

 

Literature Compass

Literature Compass features a new kind of core content: survey articles foreground important trends while viewpoint articles challenge the received wisdom. It gives access to the driving ideas, current issues and controversies that enliven the discipline and fuel literary research, providing an ideal entry point for the non-specialist. See also Philosophy Compass. CU

 

JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV

The online Arts & Sciences IV Collection from JSTOR contains over one hundred titles. Law, psychology, and public policy and administration are the new areas introduced with this collection. The collection also includes business and education titles as well as a diverse general and interdisciplinary subjects.

 

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Includes 13,000 poems in full text, and 25,000 poetry citations for poems in anthologies. It also includes selective commentaries, biographies, bibliographies, notes on form, and a glossary of terms. It is possible to search by: Author, Author Category, Subject, Title, First Line, Last Line, Words in Poem, or a combination of searches. It provides simple and advanced searching. CU

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography
A contemporary 300+ volume literary encyclopedia with substantive 2 to 5 page biographical introductions, critical evaluations, and bibliographic essays on authors, critics, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and scholars, a majority of whom have published in the 20th century. The database, which will continue to grow, includes a large number of international literary figures. This is one of the better beginning overview resources for research on individuals within literary movements, diverse cultures, and literary formats. CU

 

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft
BDSL Online covers all aspects of secondary literature in the areas of German language, linguistics, and literary studies. BDSL is the continuation of the Eppelsheimer/Köttelwesch bibliography. Coverage: 1985-present. CU

 

Factiva
A Dow Jones & Reuters Company, Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers a single content solution with multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication. CU

 

Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK)

Best starting point for searching German library catalogs. The KVK is an extremely useful metacatalog that allows simultaneous searching of several German library catalogs (including union catalogs for Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia, and Southwest Germany, Die Deutsche Bibliothek, and the Verzeichnis der in deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts), national library catalogs in Europe and beyond (including those for Austria and Switzerland), as well as several German booksellers' web sites (including amazon.de and the Zentrales Verzeichnis Antiquarischer Bücher).

New Journals

Viking and Medieval Scandinavia

Item-Level Cataloging in Chinook

Records for individual titles in Bibliothek der deutschen Literatur have been added to CHINOOK. This collection contains facsimiles of 15,000 German imprints, both books in the original German and German translations, published 1650-1890, listed in the Taschengoedeke: Bibliographie deutscher Erstausgaben (guide Z2231 .B69 1999). Try searching the collection title and see what you get! If you suspect that a certain title is in the collection, you can search for it by author, title, or keyword. The catalog will give you a fiche number that you can use to find to specifically locate the title you are seeking.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.

     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark