UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for History

Guide to C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. The 12 collections available in C19 Index are (* = only available online in C19):

 

Periodicals/Newspapers

 

  • Palmer's Index to the London Times*
  • The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900*
  • British Periodicals Index*
  • Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
  • American Periodicals Series
  • Periodicals Index Online

Books

 

  • Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project*
  • Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue*

Government Documents

 

  • House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Index*
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Archives

 

  • Archive Finder*

Reference

 

  • Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism*

Please note that C19 is a great cross-resource search for patrons working in the 19th century and for accessing indexes only available through it; however other databases are often better for longer periods of time or for accessing full text. Each one of these resources is listed below along with this additional information. CU

 

Palmer's Index to The Times

Palmer's Index to The Times 1790-1905 enables you to search bibliographic records for every article in every issue of The Times® newspaper during one of the most important periods in the development of the industrialised world. The indexing framework for Palmer's Index to The Times 1790-1905 was taken from the print volumes of Palmer's Index to The Times newspaper. CU

 

The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900

The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. CU

 

British Periodicals Index

Based on the UMI microfilm collection, British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. A wide array of different types of periodical are represented, from magisterial quarterlies and scholarly and professional organs through to coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines. C19 Index incorporates records from the 19th century content in this collection. Will link to full text in British Periodicals Collection I, but please note this collection covers a longer period, 1681-1921. CU owns full text of many other titles indexed on microfilm in the British Literary Periodicals series. CU

 

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals. Originally published in six volumes between 1882 and 1908, the Index began in 1848 as the project of Yale student, William Frederick Poole. Poole observed that libraries hold collections of periodicals which receive little use because their content is not known. Through the application of subject indexing, Poole was able to dramatically increase access to periodical literature, greatly facilitating the research process. In 1876, Poole was approached by the American Library Association, and persuaded to produce a new edition of his index, with the assistance William Fletcher, Librarian of Amherst College, and the library community in North America and the UK. When the final volume was released in 1908, the Index had covered 482,000 articles and 378,000 subjects in 12,241 volumes of 479 British and American periodicals for the years 1802-1906. This index is also available through 19th Century Masterfile (Paratext) and can be searched with Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902, the "British Poole's") and another set of indexes to 19th-century publications. CU

 

American Periodicals Series Index

This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of over 1,000 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles include general magazines and miscellanies, scientific and medical journals, popular and literary publications, women's and children's magazines, regional and niche publications and more. Bibliographic information from 7.3 million APS articles published between 1770 and 1919 is now available in C19 Index. Also available as a standalone database Index to Early American Periodicals (CIS) that covers a longer period, 1741 to 1935. CU owns full text of American Periodicals Series on microfilm. CU

 

Periodicals Index Online

Periodicals Index Online began as Periodicals Contents Index at Harvard University. It is an index to millions of articles published in over 4,600 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from around the world. Articles from over 900 of these periodicals with nineteenth century content (1790-1919) have been indexed in C19 Index. Also available as a standalone database Periodicals Index Online that covers a longer period, 1665-present. Will link to full text in Periodicals Archive Online. CU

 

Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project

The Nineteenth Century is a thirty-year publishing programme based at the British Library which reproduces on microfiche a significant proportion of English-language works first published between 1801 and 1900. C19: The Nineteenth Century Index makes the growing collection of catalogue records produced as part of this project cross-searchable with other key bibliographic resources for nineteenth-century studies. CU

 

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue

The Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War. The project aims to index all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. In addition to providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications. CU

 

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Index

As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. The division of papers into Bills, Reports of Committees, Reports of Commissioners, and Accounts and Papers reflects the various functions of parliament; legislative, quasi-judicial, inquisitorial and supervisory. C19 Index includes bibliographic records for the entire collection of 19th century Parliamentary Papers (79,527 papers), based on Chadwyck-Healey's Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900 by Peter Cockton. Coverage of the 'long 19th century' is provided with an additional 19,423 bibliographic records for the period 1901-1919. C19 Index users who also own the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers service can link from C19 Index to searchable full text within HCPP. CU

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Records from the LexisNexis digital collections of the United States Congressional Serial Set and its predecessor, the American State Papers, are now available in C19, covering congressional and executive material from 1789 through 1901. Included are congressional reports and documents, executive documents ordered to be printed by Congress, presidential communications, maps, treaty materials, and more. Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics, and society, these government publications capture key aspects of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, business and manufacturing, and international relations. Also available as a full-text resource as U.S. Congressional Serials Set (Readex) and analyzed in Chinook with links to full text. The C19 index does not link directly to this full text. CU

 

Archive Finder

Archive Finder is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archive Finder, researchers can read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials.

Archive Finder draws from three major information sources:

  • Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS)
  • National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
  • National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS) CU

Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism

DNCJ is an attempt to provide a snapshot of British and Irish journalism in the nineteenth century, and a gateway to the period. Print journalism both shaped and reflected the complexities of its time, as the internet does now. The Dictionary takes its place beside distinguished predecessors and contemporaries, most notably the Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals 1800-1900 which is the most inclusive of its kind, and the more selective but invaluable British Literary Magazines and the Wellesley Index of Victorian Periodicals. The scope and remit of DNCJ lie somewhere between these landmarks. It is a one-volume, rapid reference work. CU

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.