UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for History

Finding History Dissertations

History

American Historical Association's Directory of History Dissertations
Listing of over 23,000 dissertations completed or in progress at academic departments in Canada and the United States.

History On-line
List of theses completed and in progress for higher degrees in the U.K. since 1995.

You can locate Printed Catalogues of History Dissertations in the CHINOOK library catalog or, for titles that CU does not hold, in WorldCat. CU These catalogs will usually treat a particular subject (in this case history), time period, or institution. Try running a Word Search in Chinook on "dissertations and history and bibliography."
General (including History)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, with more than 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses included, covering graduate research from 1861 to present from universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24-page previews available. The full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available for a fee. You may also try to borrow them through Interlibrary Loan. Coverage: 1861 to present. Dissertation abstracts since 1980. Thesis abstracts since 1988. CU

 

Index to Theses
Index to Theses provides a comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Provides total bibliographic control of all theses ever produced by British and Irish Universities. Full abstracts included from 1970. CU

Center for Research Libraries (CRL), of which CU is a member, is working on guides and cataloging for foreign dissertations. To search what has been cataloged, search the CRL catalog. If the title does not appear in the database or the catalog, you may contact CRL directly or ask Interlibrary Loan staff to inquire if CRL holds the title. If not, you may request that CRL purchase a foreign dissertation (any doctoral dissertation submitted to an institution outside of the U.S. and Canada), to the extent that funds permit. The average turnaround time for the British Library, for instance, is 5 weeks, the Atelier National de Reproduction de Theses de Lille, 4 weeks, and Ludwig-Maximilians Universität (Munich). 11 weeks. CRL Demand Purchases may be initiated by our Interlibrary Loan office. For general information on dissertations at CRL, see their Dissertations page. To explore its holdings by topic, see their Topic Guides.

 

EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service (Beta)

This database offered by the British Library contains records for doctoral theses from UK Higher Education Institutions and allows immediate download of an increasing number of electronic and digitized theses. The database covers ALL UK theses so, in theory, could go back to the 1600s! Primarily, theses from participating institutions supporting open access are loaded to the system.

Online catalogs of national libraries may contain dissertations. To see if they are on the web, visit IFLA's National Libraries of the World: Address List. The Frankfurter Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek, for instance, lists almost all postwar German dissertations.

You can locate Printed Catalogues of Foreign Dissertations in the CHINOOK library catalog or, for titles that CU does not hold, in WorldCat. CU These will usually treat a particular subject area, time period, or institution. Try running a Keyord Search in Chinook on "dissertations and France (or whatever country you are interested in) and bibliography."

Electronic

Many universities and other institutions now offer web versions of some of their dissertations. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is a gateway to many online dissertations. NDLTD is federation of universities and supporting organizations constructing a global digital library of theses and dissertations.

UNESCO has set up a Clearinghouse on Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) Projects, which includes a database of institutions with ETD programs worldwide.

There are other collected lists of electronic dissertations online, most of which you can find by searching the Web. For German dissertations, for instance, there is dissonline.de: Digitale Dissertationen im Internet.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.