UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for History

Historical Maps on the Web

Historical Maps at CU

 

The Map Library is the place to go on campus for historical maps. Map Librarian Katie Lage and her staff offer research assistance in finding historical maps in their collections and beyond. In addition to the links provided below, also check out the Map Library's links to historical maps online.

 

The Map Library collection consists of an estimated 200,000 maps, over 500 atlases and geographic reference books, and a growing collection of digital spatial data. Our collection provides well-rounded, world-wide coverage. We collect general and thematic maps and atlases at small and large scales, mostly from the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries, and related reference materials such as gazetteers. The Map Library is a full Federal Depository Library.

 

Historical Maps on the Web

General (including maps of the World, the Americas, Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific)

Antiquarian Maps at Reed College
Database of antique map images searchable by date, title, mapmaker, and area.

Cartographic Images
Large corpus of historically significant maps arranged by time period (ancient through medieval), maintained by Jim Seibold.

Historical Maps
An extensive selection broken down by region from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas at Austin. See also its page on other historical map web sites.

Map History/History of Cartography Gateway

A large site dedicated to the study of early maps and associated resources and activities, created and maintained by Tony Campbell of the British Library. See also his page on images of early maps on the web.

Historical Atlas of the Twentieth Century

Political, economic, demographic, religious, and historical maps of the countries and continents over the last century, offered by Matthew White.

Map Case

Selection of images from the map collections of the Bodleian Library, University of Oxford, with an emphasis on Britain and America.

Odden's Bookmarks
One of the most comprehensive collections of links on the web relating to maps and mapmaking, old and new. It allows searches for links by keyword or browsing of many different categories, including maps and atlases by region or country.

Mapping History

Interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and illustrations of events, developments, and dynamics in European and American history made available by the University of Oregon.

The Americas
American Memory Map Collections
Extensive selection from the Library of Congress Map Collections, focusing on Americana and cartographic treasures.
Canada at Scale: Maps of Our History
National Archives of Canada exhibition of maps reflecting the evolution of cartography in Canada, with sections on government cartography and exploration, colonization, and development.

David Rumsey Collection

Large collection of high resolution images, focusing on 18th and 19th-century North and South American cartographic materials, including maps, atlases, globes, and maritime charts.

Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library Rare Map Collection

Maps of America, with an emphasis on Georgia and the South, divided into various categories including new world, colonial America, revolutionary America, and American Civil War.
Europe
Historical Maps of Great Britain
First edition historical maps of Great Britain, printed 1846-1899 at a scale of 1:10,560, made available by Landmark Information Group. The maps may be accessed by county, place name, address, or grid reference.
IEG-Maps
Digital historical maps, mainly showing developments in politics, economy, administration and transportation in Central Europe since 1812, from the Institute for European History in Mainz.

Ravenstein's Atlas des Deutschen Reichs

1883 atlas of the German Empire with a detailed gazetteer of place names, digitized by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Library.
The Middle East
Walker Collection: Maps of Asia Minor and the Middle East, 1511-1774
Collection of historic maps covering Asia Minor and the surrounding areas (the Mediterranean, Middle East, and Balkans), made available by the University of Melbourne Library.
City Maps
Dutch City Maps
Maps from Blaeu's Toonneel der Steden (1652) scanned by George Welling, University of Groningen.

Historic Cities
Site containing maps of many cities and other documents relating to them by the Historic Cities Center, Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Jewish National and University Library.

Maps of London

UCLA's Department of Epidemiology offers the Map of London Water Works (1856) and Reynold's Map of London (1859), as well as links to Greenwood's Map of London (1827) and Booth's Map of London Poverty (1889), offered by the Bath Spa University College and University of Michigan respectively.

Maps of Jerusalem

"Jerusalem 3000: Three Millennia of History," a web exhibition of maps and views of Jerusalem presented by the Osher Map Library, University of Southern Maine.

Maps of Paris

Maps from the 18th and 19th century from Barry Bergdoll's art history slides at Columbia University.