University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    

 

History

 


 


Any or no photo can go here

Research Resources  > Subject Guides
  

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for History

 

What's New

Trial Databases

Proquest Historical Black Newspapers

Trial access to Proquest Historical Black Newspapers including: Atlanta daily world, 1931-2003; Chicago Defender, 1905-1975; Los Angeles sentinel, 1934-2005; New York Amsterdam news, 1922-1993; Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002.

 

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Online access to the history and culture of Islam and full-text access to Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, and the forthcoming Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (due to publish in 2008). Trial ends April 1, 2008.

 

Praeger Security International
PSI publishes material on international security, including defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, twentieth century military history, and terrorism. Trial was supposed to end November 10, 2006.

Recently Acquired Electronic Resources

Österreichische Historische Bibliographie

The ÖHB (Austrian Historical Bibliography) is a bibliography of historical literature published in Austrian books, periodicals, festschriften and dissertations since 1945 and relating primarily to Austrian history.

 

Periodicals Archive Online

PAO is ann archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with e-access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. CU

 

American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to the Literature

Definitive bibliographic resource on the history of U.S. foreign relations. Each of its 32 chapters offers a bibliographic survey of primary sources and biographies of key figures in a specific era. Chapters conclude with examinations of every part of the world or nation addressed by the United States during that period. This award-winning title is updated twice a year for currency and accuracy. CU

 

Asia Studies Humanities

Special interface devoted to Asian Humanities created by Asia-Studies Full-text Online to complement its social sciences content. Covers resources in the arts, culture, history, language, literature, philosophy, and religion from 53 Asian countries and includes material from peer-reviewed journals, scholarly institutional publishers, and working papers. CU

 

History Compass

History Compass publishes peer-reviewed surveys of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline.

Unique in both range and approach, the journal explores all branches of historical scholarship. History Compass plays an active role in fostering research that spans centuries and continents, and provides an ideal entry point for the non-specialist. CU

 

JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV

The online Arts & Sciences IV Collection from JSTOR contains over one hundred titles. Law, psychology, and public policy and administration are the new areas introduced with this collection. The collection also includes business and education titles as well as a diverse general and interdisciplinary subjects. CU

 

Niles' Register

Online version of the cumulative Index (1811-1849) to Niles Register (also known as The Weekly Register, Niles Weekly Register, and Niles National Register ). Full-text will be added semi-annually. Please consult the update page for details. CU

 

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
MECAS is a systematic, and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Over 12,000 records of recently published & "grey" literature are added annually. CU

 

Eighteenth Century Journals II

This collection is a critical resource for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century, including the American and French revolutions, British and European literature, theatre and popular entertainment, politics and religion, popular morality and social life, and exoticism and imperialism. It offers a wide variety of fully searchable newspapers and periodicals not available elsewhere and has no overlap with ECCO, EEBO, or Early English Newspapers. CU

 

Everyday Life & Women in America

This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the everyday lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920, offering material for the study of families and home life in the South and North. It covers topics such as religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, gossip, travel, entertainment, and popular pastimes by providing fully searchable access to periodicals, pamphlets, books, and prescriptive literature and manuals for domestic management, all complemented by contextual essays by leading scholars. CU

 

Black Studies Database (Kaiser Index to Black Periodicals)

Includes more than 170,000 citations drawn from significant and influential journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets and reports relevant to the Black experience from 1948-1986 in the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The New York Public Library. CU

 

Oxford African American Studies Center

Includes over 5000 biographies, selected primary documents, encyclopedic entries on African American topics (arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences) from reference works such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-, Black Women in America, African American National Biography 1527-, Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture, and others. CU

 

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

This resource provides full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life. CU

 

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900

The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. CU

 

Historical Statistics of The United States

This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest. CU

 

American National Biography Online

The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. CU

 

British Periodicals Collection I

When complete, this database will consist of more than 160 British periodicals that detail life between 1681 and 1921. These titles touch on diverse topics like philosophy, fine arts, history, slavery, literature, psychology, science, Celtic folklore, and religion. The content is available in full page image with searchable full text. CU

Primary-Source Microform/Print Sets

Africa through Western Eyes. Part 4, Papers of Sir John Kirk (1832-1922) from the National Library of Scotland

The papers of Sir John Kirk, David Livingstone's chief assistant on the Second Zambesi Expedition, 1858-1863. He was a physician, an accomplished botanist and zoologist. His surviving expedition notes and photographs form a unique record of the expedition with Livingstone. The other fascinating letters, notes and photographs in the Kirk collection vividly document his twenty years as British Consul in Zanzibar, his relationship with the Sultan, his work in abolishing the Slave Trade there and his negotiations with the Germans regarding the formation of German East Africa (now Tanzania).

 

Documents of the National Security Council: Ninth Supplement

This supplement brings together a large number of documents issued by the National Security Council (NSC). The documents cover a broad range of issues during the years 1947 through 1994 in the areas of national defense and security, nuclear weapons and testing, arms control, general foreign relations, foreign aid, trade relations, and international cooperation.

 

Britain in India, 1765-1905

This six-volume set of scarce primary source materials seeks to explore the nature of the relationship between Britain and India at the height of imperial expansion

 

The Parliament Rolls of Medieval England 1275-1504

Full text and translation of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII, covering the years from 1275 to 1504. All surviving records of the parliaments, including many texts never before published, are given in full, with new scholarly introductions to each parliament.

New Journals

Itinerario: International Journal on the History of European Expansion and Global Interaction

Viking and Medieval Scandinavia

Item-Level Cataloging in Chinook

Individual titles in the following collections have been added to Chinook. Try searching one or more of these collection titles there and see what you get!

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
To see the titles in Chinook, do a title search on "Eighteenth Century Collections Online." ECCO offers digital images and keyword searchable texts of 150,000 works in English and foreign languages published in Britain, along with thousands of works published in the Americas, between 1701 and 1800 in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

 

ACLS Humanities E-Book
To see the titles in Chinook, do a title search on "History E Book Project Online Publications." Records will be periodically added to Chinook as new titles are added to the database. The HEB Project is a cross-searchable, online collection of over 1200 books in the field of history. Currently the majority are previously published "backlist" titles, carefully selected works of major importance that are regularly consulted by students and scholars. The project also includes "frontlist" titles, entirely new titles in electronic format. Over the next few years, the Project plans to add approximately 250 titles annually to the collection, including new frontlist titles.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.

     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark