
 
|
 |
 |

Research
Resources > Research Tools > Geography
Library Resource Guide for GEOG 5722 Field Methods in Human Geography (Fall 2006)
- The Basics
- general search techniques:
- use broader/narrow terms within the same concept blocks
- combine search terms from different concept blocks
- use synonyms within the same concept blocks
- use database specific subject terms for more focused search results
- apply field searching (such as abstract, title, descriptors, publication type) to search terms
- combine search terms with logical operators, truncation, and nesting
eg, (countries or nations) and econom*
- plan strategically; think critically and creatively
- finding full-text
- Click on the find full-text link on the result screen or use
Chinook E-Journal Finder to locate "hidden" full-text from aggregated databases we subscribe to
- Periodical Title search in Chinook for journals we subscribe to
- Chinook and Prospector (for books and documents in print format)
- ILLiad (interlibrary loan)
- bibliography management service: RefWorks
- saved searches and TOC alert
- Business
- Trade Publications
- Industry Survey and Market Research Reports
- Scholarly Sources
- Urban Communities/Local Politics
- Newspaper Sources
- Documents
- Scholarly Sources
- Agriculture
- Non-Academic Sources
- Scholarly Sources
- Prospector or search Colorado State University's Libraries Catalog Sage (includes book chapter title search)
- Agricola
- Further Assistance
- Joseph Yue (Economics and Political Science Bibliographer)
- Email: joseph.yue@colorado.edu
- IM (AOL, Google, MSN, Yahoo!): referencej
- ICQ: 65390919
- Phone: 303-492-8628
- Office Hour: by appointment
- Norlin Reference Desk:
- most Tuesday evening (5 - 8 pm)
- Sept 24 (Sun) 1 - 5 pm
- Oct 4 (Wed) 5 - 8 pm
- Nov 4 (Sat) 1 - 5 pm
- Jennie Gerke (Government Publications)
- Email: jennifer.gerke@colorado.edu
- Phone: 303-735-6804
- Suzanne Larsen (Geography Bibliographer)
- Email: suzanne.larsen@colorado.edu
- Phone:
303-492-4611
Last Update: September 27, 2006/JY
|
 |
 |