UCB Libraries

 

Italian Language and Literature

 

  • Getting Started
  • Literature
  • Language
  • Current Affairs
  • Politics, Media, Culture
How do I?

Ciao! Benvenuti alla biblioteca!

 

This is a guide of librarian-selected materials that will assist you with your research and reporting. Use the tabs above to locate research resources. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if you wish to set up an appointment for research help.

 

Course Guides: Italian 4145 | Italian 4150

 

 

+ Focussing a topic

Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:

  • Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
  • List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
  • Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
  • Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
  • Choose a specific time period.

Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.

+ Finding Background Information

Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:

Dictionary of Italian literature
REF PQ4006 .D45 1996

 

The Cambridge history of Italian literature
REF PQ4038 .C35 1996

 

Encyclopedia of Italian literary studies
REF PQ4006 .E536 2007

 

Storia della letteratura italiana
REF PQ4037 .S76 1987

 

The feminist encyclopedia of Italian literature
REF PQ4063 .F45 1997

 

Encyclopedia of contemporary Italian culture
REF DG450 .E53 2000

 

Medieval Italy : an encyclopedia

REF DG443 .M43 2004

 

+ Finding Keywords

Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.

 

Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.

 

First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:

Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of feminism in Italian literature

Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:

 

Representation Feminism Italian literature

 

Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distinctions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.

 

It's important to think of alternate words to describe your topic; either synonyms, or broader and narrower terms. This will ensure that you can find a wide range of results.

 

Everyday Example

 

Synonyms: NFL, American football, Friday Night Lights

 

Narrower Terms: Quarterback, Denver Broncos

 

Broader Terms: College Sports, Team sports, Ball game

 

Research Paper Example

 

Concept 1:

portrayal

illustration

account

embodiment

Concept 2:

rights of women

women's suffrage

gender studies

female emancipation

Concept 3:

Poetry/Drama

Fiction/Novel

European Language

Romance Language

 

 

How do I?

 

Find books and articles on Italian literature, (including authors, novels and poetry) as well as film and theater.

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

+ Author Resources

Books

To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.

 

To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Authors Italian
Authors Italian Biography
Dante Alighieri 1265 1321

 

Articles 

To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:

CU Biography and genealogy master index

CU Contemporary authors

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

CU Dictionary of literary biography

CU Oxford reference online : premium collection

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

+ Novel Resources

Books

To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Dante and Divine Comedy

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Italian Literature 15th Century History And Criticism
Italian Literature 20th Century
Italian Literature Women Authors History And Criticism

 

Articles 

To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.

 

Start Here: MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CUContemporary literary criticism

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

+ Poetry Resources

Books

Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.

 

Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found

eg Poesie familiari

to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Italian Poetry 16th Century History And Criticism
Italian Poetry History And Criticism
Italian Poetry Women Authors

 

Articles 

To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.

 

Start Here: MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

+ Theater Resources

Books

To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.

 

To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Feminist Theater
Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre)
Theater Italy History

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:

CU International Index to the Performing Arts

CU JSTOR (or Mobile)

CU MLA international bibliography

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide

+ Film Resources

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:

 

CU MLA international bibliography

CU Film and Television Index

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

+ Literary Theory Resources

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]

The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature [CU]

 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005

 

Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001

 

The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001

 

Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001

 

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000

 

The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997

 

Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory
PE1479.C7 L96 1994

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

 

Is "notte" masculine or feminine? What is the past participle of "to sew"? Try the following tools to help:

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

 

+ Dictionaries

Online Dictionaries

CU Oxford language dictionaries online

CU The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary (English-Italian)

CU The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary (Italian-English)

 

Wordreference.com

Garzanti editore

Parole nuove

R-O-Matic Italian/English Dictionary

Picture Dictionary

 

Tesoro della Lingua Italiana delle Origini

Dizionario Etimologico

 

Print Dictionaries

Italian dictionaries in print can be found in the Reference Department Stacks (map) and the Norlin Stacks (map) in Norlin Library, under the call number PC1625.

+ Thesauri

Online Thesauri

 

Print Thesauri

Using Italian Synonyms (see a)

La Parola Giusta Al Momento Giusto. Dizionario Ragionato Dei Sinonimi E Dei Contrari (see a)

Dizionario Dei Sinonimi E Dei Contrari, Analogico E Nomenclatore (see a)

+ Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Print Encyclopedias

  • La Piccola Treccani : Dizionario Enciclopedico (see a)
  • Gli Strumenti Del Sapere Contemporaneo (see a)

 

Try the following sections to find language learning resources:

 

+ Grammar

Centro studi italiani

CLIPS: corpus of spoken and written Italian

 

Grammatica Italiana : Italiano Comune E Lingua Letteraria

PC1112 .S48 2006

A Reference Grammar Of Modern Italian

PC1112 .M26 2000

Modern Italian Grammar : A Practical Guide

PC1129.E5 P76 1997

+ Listening

Spoken

Banca dati dell'italiano parlato (BADIP)

CLIPS, Corpus of Spoken Italian

Italica

Il Narratore

 

Italian sound recordings in the library

Video

Anica: Archivio del Cinema Italiano 1905-2005

Archivio Cinematografico Luce

Cinethes

Cortometraggi

Istituto Luce

Internet Archive

Moving Image Archive

Open Source Movies Collection.

Italian videos/DVDs in the library

How do I find DVDs

Television

Broadcast-Italiano

Italian Television Online

Italian Television: Harvard

 

AGUS
Web Television channel with 24 hour/day broadcasting of a variety of news programs. (Requires Realone Player).
Babele
A website dedicated to the literary program Babele (from the Rai) with video streaming (Realone player required).
Camera dei deputati
The official "Camera dei deputati" website with video streaming of sessions. (Realone Player Required).
Comune TV
An online initiative which has the objective of introducing Italian "comuni" via video streaming. (Realone player required).
Gay.tv
The official site of Gay TV - an Italian gay tv channel via satellite.
InteracTV
An Italian webtv site with various types of trendy interviews live web stream. (Realone player required).
ItaliaTV
An Italian news webchannel with various news bits with video streaming. (Realone Player or Windows Media Player).
Kayenna
An Italian web channel with various categories via video streaming (Realone Player required).
Made In Italy TV
An Italian WebTV channel of Italian products from various regions.
Magic TV
An Italian webchannel that broadcasts music videos.
Mosaico (RAI)
An Italian website with a database of videoclips that can be seen thematically (powered by RAI).
Nessuno.tv
An Italian WebTV with a variety of programs including Insider and A schiena diritta.

Radio

Broadcast-Italiano

Italian Radio: Harvard

Pandora (40 free hours a month)

Radio List

Music

Classical music library CU

The Classical Music Library contains over 50,000 tracks of streaming audio.

 

Naxos music library CU

This database contains over 200,000 music tracks in streaming audio and includes folk music, some world music, and jazz.

 

Naxos music library jazz CU

This database of streaming audio offers over 20,000 tracks from over 1,900 albums. The scope of the database covers American and European artists and labels in jazz, blues and R&B.

+ Speaking

DOP : Dizionario D'ortografia E Di Pronunzia

PC1137 .D55 1999

Forvo- Pronounciation

+ Verbs

Il sito del verbo

Verbs online

 

Italian Verb Drills

PC1271 .N36 2004

Verbi Italiani : Tutti I Verbi Regolari E Irregolari

PC1271 .B87 2002

501 Italian Verbs : Fully Conjugated In All The Tenses In A New Easy-To-Learn Format Alphabetically

PC1271 .C65 2001

+ Writing

Dueparole : il mensile di facile lettura

 

DOP : Dizionario D'ortografia E Di Pronunzia

PC1137 .D55 1999

 

Keeping up with Berlusconi, Juventus or Fiat? Try the following tools to help:

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

+ Newspapers

On a Topic

Factiva

Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language. CU

 

LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. Select "Non-English language News" as a news category. CU

 

Italian Newspapers

 

Newseum: Front pages from round the world

 

Alternative Press Index
Some Italian language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines) CU

Specific Newspaper

Most access to Italian language newspapers at CU will be online.

 

To find digital access to newspapers, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.  

E.g.
Corriere della Sera

Corriere della Sera
from Jan. 27, 1997 to present in Factiva 
from Jan. 01, 1992 to present in Freely accessible general interest journals 

 

To find historical newspapers, do a title search in Chinook in the Journals/Serials collection. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (print or microfilm.)

 

Also try:

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

+ Magazine Articles

To find digital access to magazines, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
Arte Veneta

from Jan 01, 1998 to present in Art full text

 

+ Breaking News

Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Italian language news.

EuroNews

Google News Italia

Onlinenewspapers.com

Today's Front Pages

World Newspapers

 

+ Television

Broadcast-Italiano

Italian Television Online

Italian Television: Harvard

 

AGUS
Web Television channel with 24 hour/day broadcasting of a variety of news programs. (Requires Realone Player).
Babele
A website dedicated to the literary program Babele (from the Rai) with video streaming (Realone player required).
Camera dei deputati
The official "Camera dei deputati" website with video streaming of sessions. (Realone Player Required).
Comune TV
An online initiative which has the objective of introducing Italian "comuni" via video streaming. (Realone player required).
Gay.tv
The official site of Gay TV - an Italian gay tv channel via satellite.
InteracTV
An Italian webtv site with various types of trendy interviews live web stream. (Realone player required).
ItaliaTV
An Italian news webchannel with various news bits with video streaming. (Realone Player or Windows Media Player).
Kayenna
An Italian web channel with various categories via video streaming (Realone Player required).
Made In Italy TV
An Italian WebTV channel of Italian products from various regions.
Magic TV
An Italian webchannel that broadcasts music videos.
Mosaico (RAI)
An Italian website with a database of videoclips that can be seen thematically (powered by RAI).
Nessuno.tv
An Italian WebTV with a variety of programs including Insider and A schiena diritta.

+ Blogs etc

 

 

 

How do I?

Find books and articles on Italian politics, media and culture, including film, journalism, communication and mass media.

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

 

+ Film

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:

 

CU MLA international bibliography

CU Film and Television Index

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

 

+ Media

Books

To find books about media topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Articles

 

To find critical journal articles about a medial topic, try the following databases:

CU Communication and Mass Media Complete (or mobile)

To find newspaper articles about media topics, try the following databases:

Factiva

Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language. CU

 

LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. Select "Non-English language News" as a news category. CU

 

Alternative Press Index
Some Italian language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines) CU

To find a specific newspaper, try the following:

Most access to Italian language newspapers at CU will be online.

 

To find digital access to newspapers, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.  

E.g.
Corriere della Sera

Corriere della Sera
from Jan. 27, 1997 to present in Factiva 
from Jan. 01, 1992 to present in Freely accessible general interest journals 

 

To find historical newspapers, do a title search in Chinook in the Journals/Serials collection. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (print or microfilm.)

 

+ Politics

Books

To find books about political topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Italy Politics And Government
Italy Foreign Relations Great Britain
Elections Italy

 

Articles 

To find critical journal articles about a political topic, try the following databases.

 

CU PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)

CU International Political Science Abstracts (or mobile)

CU Ciao : Columbia International Affairs Online

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

Government/Legal Documents

The Government Publications Library has gathered government and legal resources from every country in the world:

Italy

San Marino

Switzerland

Vatican City

Other Countries

Statistics

Statistics--Worldwide (data)