
Research
Resources > Subject Guides
Subject Guide for Journalism and Mass Communication
Class: Journalism 4871 - Global Media Empires
Professor: Mody
Date: Friday, October 28, 2005
Please feel free to contact me with any questions:
Stephanie Lichtenauer
stephanie.lichtenauer@colorado.edu
(303) 492-0682
Foreign and Commonwealth Office, UK - http://www.fco.gov.uk/
The British equivalent to the U.S. Department of State that provides information on UK relations with other country. Includes a section of profiles by country (including Sudan).
Guide to United Kingdom Government Sources - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/govpubs/for/british.htm
Produced by the Government Publications Library at CU, a thorough collection of internet resources about the British government.
World Bank - http://www.worldbank.org/
Includes country profiles that detail the relationship that the World Bank and its partners have with each country. Also includes other vital data, statistics and news on each country.
CIA World Factbook - http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/
Contains country reports produced by the CIA that include information on the economy, people, geography, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues.
Ownership of the Guardian |
Guardian - http://www.guardian.co.uk/
Includes information on the history of the newspaper, the newspaper's values, the editorial code and the code of conduct for the paper's reporters.
Guardian Media Group - http://www.gmgplc.co.uk/
Includes information on the ownership of the newspaper, including the Board of Directors and Current Trustees, and the management of the Guardian Foundation.
Hoover's Online
A database that contains financial information about companies all over the globe, including the Guardian Media Group. Includes yearly financial data and information on the key people in the organization.
Research on Guardian Coverage of Genocides |
Search Tips
When looking for research on these topics, you need to brainstorm the terms that would be used to describe this type of research. Some example keywords:
Location: Rwanda, Bosnia, Somalia, Kosovo
General: genocide, civil war, disaster, humanitarian, relief
Newspaper: Guardian, UK, British, English
Media: newspaper, media
Research: content analysis, frame analysis
Many of the databases you'll be searching will also use descriptors or specific words or phrases that they've assigned to a particular topic (much like subject headings in a library catalog). Using these descriptors can help you find other similar articles.
Searching for Articles
Communication Studies Article Databases
ComAbstracts
The major index in Communications; no descriptors or full text
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collections
A small full-text collection of communications journals
Communication Abstracts
Includes descriptions of published communication research
Political Science Article Databases
PAIS International
Index of publications of international bodies, US and other governments on global policy and social issues.
International Political Science Abstracts
Index of political science articles from around the world
General Article Resources
Academic Search Premier
Index of nearly 4,000 academic journals, with full text available for many
Google Scholar
Uses Google search technology to search a wide variety of sources for academic material
Searching for Books
To look for books that the CU Libraries have, you want to search Chinook, the library catalog. You'll want to do keyword searches similar to the keyword searches you were using to look for articles.
Instead of using descriptors in article databases, you can use the subject headings provided in Chinook to try and find other articles on a particular day. Some of the applicable subject headings I found are below - these are not ALL of the subject headings that might be relevant, just a selected list. You can search by subject in Chinook for these headings.
Related to specific events:
- Kosovo Serbia – History – Civil War –1998 1999 – Press Coverage
- Yugoslav War, 1991 – 1995 – Press Coverage – Serbia
- Genocide – Rwanda – Press Coverage
- Rwanda – History – Civil War, 1994 – Press Coverage
General:
- Mass Media and War
- War in Mass Media
- Disasters – Press Coverage
- War – Press Coverage
- Violence – Press Coverage
Another tip for finding research through books is to consult the bibliography of books that are related to your topic - sometimes called "citation-chasing." The author of these books has gone to a lot of work to compile the resources they used to write the book - you can use the bibliography or list of works cited to find similar or related research.
Accessing International Newspapers Online |
To find international newspapers, you can either look the newspaper title up in the E-Journal Finder, or go directly to one of the databases listed below. Since Factiva is a new database, many of the newspapers contained in the database aren't listed yet in the E-Journal finder, so it is wise to check both places.
E-Journal Finder - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/ejournalfinder.htm
Search the E-Journal Finder by newspaper title to locate databases that provide a specific newspaper's content.
Factiva
Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires. More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.
ProQuest Newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus |
The easiest method of accessing library databases from off campus is through the use of the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Current CU-Boulder students, staff, and faculty need to install the VPN software on their computer and login to the VPN using their IdentiKey account.
Complete instructions on downloading and using the VPN software can be found at the ITS VPN Information Page: http://www.colorado.edu/its/vpn/ . For questions (and answers) about using the VPN, please call the ITS Help Desk at (303) 735-HELP.
Constructing Keyword Searches
Here are some of the general tricks you can use while construction keyword searches. Not every trick works in every database - if you have questions, you can check the database's help menu or send me an email.
Phrase |
Using quotation marks to search for words as a phrase |
"Rocky Mountain National Park"
|
Truncation |
Words may be right-hand truncated using an asterisk. |
child*
news* |
Connectors |
and searches both words
or searches either word
and not excludes words
Parentheses can be used to group concepts |
barn and owl
(grey or barn) and owl
owl and (grey and not barn) |
|