University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    

 

Journalism / Mass Communication

 

 

Question?
Need Research Help?


Stephanie Alexander
Social Sciences Librarian
(303) 492-0682


 


Any or no photo can go here

Research Resources  > Subject Guides
  

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Journalism and Mass Communication

 

Class: Journalism 6871

Instructor: Dewitt

Date: Friday, September 2, 2005

 

How to Find Library Resources

 

E-Journal Finder - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/ejournalfinder.htm

Search the E-Journal Finder for databases that provide a specific journal's content.

 

Find Articles & More - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/

The library's article databases are listed alphabetically or by subject.

(Subject examples: Journalism , News and Newspapers , etc.)

 

Chinook - http://libraries.colorado.edu/

Chinook is the library catalog for materials at CU. Chinook is also used to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.).

 

Prospector - http://prospector.coalliance.org/

Prospector is a union library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming . CU students, staff and faculty can request materials not held by CU through Prospector.

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/ill/

If the item you're looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, request it through ILLiad.

 

Subject Guides - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/subjectguides/

Librarians have compiled subject guides of the important resources (print, Internet and databases) for many disciplines, including Journalism and Mass Communication.

 

 

Keyword Searching

 

You can combine your search terms using operators and punctuation:

 

Operators :

AND: undergraduates AND alcohol (must find both terms)

OR: undergraduates OR alcohol (must find one of the terms)

NOT: undergraduates NOT alcohol (must find first term and NOT second term)

 

Punctuation :

Phrases: “alcohol abuse” (must find that phrase in that order)

Synonyms: (undergraduates OR “college students”) AND alcohol

Wildcards: alcohol* will find alcohol, alcoholism, alcoholic, etc.

 

 

Recommended Newspaper Resources

 

ProQuest Newsstand

URL: http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/alpha-p.htm

About: This database provides access to over 350 newspaper titles from around the country. Most of the titles have the full text available.

Searching Tips: You can limit your results by date of publication, by specific newspaper, by person or subject, or by choosing a specific document type. You can expand your results by using the subjects that are provided with each article. You can email the articles or print the full text or PDF, where available.

LexisNexis Academic

URL: http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/alpha-l.htm

About: Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

Searching Tips: Choose the Guided Search option to refine your search. You need to choose a news category and news source for your search. You then can limit your results by date of publication and by specific publication title. You can email the full text of individual articles, or mark multiple articles and email only citations.

 

Other Recommended Databases : Expanded Academic ASAP, National Newspaper Index

 

 

 

Recommended Academic Resources

 

Academic Search Premier

URL: http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/alpha-a.htm

About: Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Searching Tips: You can limit your results to full text only, by date of publication, by publication type (i.e. “newspaper”) or by specific title. You can expand your results by searching the full text of the article. You can email the articles or print the full text or PDF, where available.

 

ComAbstracts

URL: http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/alpha-c.htm

About: The core index of communication journals, with bibliographic records and abstracts for over 120 journals. Does not contain the article full text.

Searching Tips: Use the “Check your library for full text access” link in the article records to link to the E-Journal Finder to see if the library has full text access to the content through another database. If no full text is available, check Chinook for the library's print holdings.

 

Other Recommended Databases : International Political Science Abstracts, Political Science Full Text, Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science), Social Science Abstracts/Full Text

 

 

 

Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus

 

The easiest method of accessing library databases from off campus is through the use of the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Current CU-Boulder students, staff, and faculty need to install the VPN software on their computer and login to the VPN using their IdentiKey account.

 

Complete instructions on downloading and using the VPN software can be found at the ITS VPN Information Page: http://www.colorado.edu/its/vpn/ . For questions (and answers) about using the VPN, please call the ITS Help Desk at (303) 735-HELP.

 

 
 
     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark