
Research
Resources > Subject Guides
Subject Guide for Journalism
Finding Articles
This guide provides a selective list
of subscribed online research databases related to journalism, advertising,
and mass communication. An subject-organized list of all available Library databases can be found at Find Articles and More.
Databases by Types of Research:
CU
= Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff,
and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to
copyright laws and license limitations.
Remote access information.
Newspaper Articles
CU Lexis-Nexis
Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full
text of national, international, and regional news, newswires,
transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information,
public opinion polls, and other sources.
CU ProQuest
Newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news
sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international
newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of
London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
CU Factiva
Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires. More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.
CU InfoTrac
OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles
on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current
events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care,
hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science,
social science, sports, technology, and many general interest
topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated
daily.
CU Alternative Press Index
A quarterly subject index to over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Each article is listed and cross-referenced by subject. Every citation contains the title, author and information about the publication in which it is located.
CU Ethnic NewsWatch
Designed to provide the "other side of the story", Ethnic NewsWatch full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Both English and Spanish language search interfaces are provided. This does not affect the content.
CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851-2001
New York Times (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
News Transcripts and Multimedia Archives
CU Lexis-Nexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.
CU Television News Archive
The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
CU AccuNet/Associated Press Multimedia Archive
Provides a sensory journey of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history.
Mass Communication Research
CU Communication and Mass Media Complete 1915-
Includes indexing and abstract for more than 440 journals (with full text for more than 320 journals) in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
CU ComAbstracts 1968-
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional
literature of the communication(s) field.
CU Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982-
Includes the full-text of 18 journals, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Coverage: varies. CU
Social Science and Humanities Research
CU Academic Search Premier
Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
CU Expanded Academic ASAP
Access to scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers across all academic disciplines.
CU Social
Sciences Abstracts/Full Text
A database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere plus the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
CU Social Sciences Citation Index: Web
of Science
A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author
abstracts and cited references, covering the journal literature
of the social sciences.
CU Sociological
Abstracts
Provides access to the latest research in sociology
and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
CU PsycINFO
Produced by the American Psychological Association. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
CU Humanities
Abstracts/Full Text
A database that cites articles from English-language periodicals, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines in a number of disciplines (including Journalism and Communications).
Environmental Science Research
CU Environmental
Issues & Policy Index
Environmental Issues & Policy Index provides
researchers with abstract/index information to over
1000 titles covering Environmental policy and studies. There
is ongoing coverage for over 500 of those titles. An Environment
Thesaurus is available to assist with advanced searching.
Library
Subject Guide for Environmental Issues -- Science and Policy
Environmental
Resources on the Web (Center for Environmental Journalism)
Government Publication and Information
CU LexisNexis Congressional
CU LexisNexis Government Periodicals
Index
CU LexisNexis State
Capital
CU LexisNexis Statistical
CU PAIS International
Provides access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries on global policy and social issues.
CU CQ Voting and Election Collection
CQ Voting and Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material on voting and elections in America.
CU CQ Researcher
Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner.
CU CQ Weekly
Coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
Library Subject
Guide for Government Publication and Information
Advertising, Marketing and Business Information
CU ABI/INFORM
Global
Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage
of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice
of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance,
taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access
to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles.
Includes The Wall Street Journal.
CU Business
Source Premier
Provides full text for over 2,800 scholarly business
journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting,
international business and much more.
Advertising Resource Guide (from the CU Business Library)
|