UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Journalism and Mass Communication

Finding News Articles on a Topic

 

When you're looking for newspaper articles on a particular topic, the best place to start is with one of the library's online newspaper databases. Below is a list of library databases that provide either indexing or full-text articles from a variety of newspapers. The databases are grouped in the following categories:

CU Lexis-Nexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU ProQuest Newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

 

CU InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

 

CU National Newspaper Index

Provides access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1977 - present.

Historical Databases

Individual Papers:

 

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851-2001
New York Times (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

 

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal 1889-1987

The Wall Street Journal (1889-1987) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

 

CU The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times (London), available in full page images.

 

Multiple Papers:

 

CU Poole's Plus (19th Century Masterfile)

The largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. Indexes newspapers and periodicals, as well as books and government documents. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), supplemented by Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902; the "British Poole's") and other indexes to 19th-century publications.

 

British Library Online Newspaper Archive

Archive provides full-text access to the Daily News, Manchester Guardian, News of the World, Penny Illustrated , and the Weekly Dispatch going back as early as 1851.

Alternative Press

CU Alternative Press Index
A quarterly subject index to over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Each article is listed and cross-referenced by subject. Every citation contains the title, author and information about the publication in which it is located.

 

CU Alternative Press Index Archive

Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-1990

 

CU Ethnic NewsWatch
Designed to provide the "other side of the story", Ethnic NewsWatch full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Both English and Spanish language search interfaces are provided.

Local Newspapers

Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection

A project of the Collaborative Digitization Program. Contains historic Colorado newspapers that have been digitized and made accessible via the Internet.

 

 

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.