UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Journalism and Mass Communication

Finding Historical Newspapers

 

There are a few different methods to use when searching for older newspaper articles. Below is a list of online databases, online indexes and print indexes that will help you to find articles in older newspapers. You can also search Chinook for a particular newspaper title to see if the CU libraries have the print or microfilm of the newspaper.

 

Online Databases

Individual Papers:

 

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2006)
This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to 1851. The collection includes digital reproductions providing page access from every available issue.

 

CU ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1889-1992)

The Wall Street Journal (1889-1987) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

 

CU The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

Searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times (London), available in full page images.

 

CU Harp Week

An index and the electronically reproduced and enhanced pages of Harper's weekly. Consists of the pages of Harper's weekly from the Civil War Era, 1857-1865, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.

 

Multiple Papers, General:

 

CU Poole's Plus (19th Century Masterfile)

The largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. Indexes newspapers and periodicals, as well as books and government documents. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), supplemented by Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902; the "British Poole's") and other indexes to 19th-century publications.

 

CU 19th Century US Newspapers

Provides online access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

 

CU America's Historical Newspapers, including Early American Newspapers, Series I

America's Historical Newspapers, including Early American Newspapers, Series II

The Series I database offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of nearly 350,000 issues from over 700 historical American newspapers focusing largely on the 18th century. Series II complements Series I by offering fully searchable digital facsimiles of several hundred thousand issues from more than 200 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. These digital editions are based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies and primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, which houses a comprehensive collection of American newspapers through 1876.

 

CU African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century

This collection contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. It also contains large numbers of early biographies, statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.

 

Multiple Newspapers, Geographically Specific

 

Colorado Digitization Project

Access to the visual and oral record of Colorado's history, culture, government and industry in full text and graphic content. Includes Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection and Heritage Colorado: Digital Collections of the West and on Colorado's cultural, scientific and historical heritage.

 

British Library Online Newspaper Archive

Archive provides full-text access to the Daily News, Manchester Guardian, News of the World, Penny Illustrated , and the Weekly Dispatch going back as early as 1851.

 

18th Century Journals

This database offers a wide variety of fully searchable newspapers and periodicals from the UK that are not available elsewhere.

 

Latin American Newspapers

Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries. Completion of the estimated 900,000 pages is scheduled for November 2009.

 

Online Indexes

CU National Newspaper Index

Provides access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1977 - present.

 

Print Indexes

 

 

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available in campus libraries and to students, staff, and faculty via the campus network. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations. Remote access information.

 

Updated 12/09 SA