University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    

 

Journalism / Mass Communication

 

 

Question?
Need Research Help?


Stephanie Alexander
Social Sciences Librarian
(303) 492-0682


 


Any or no photo can go here

Research Resources  > Subject Guides
  

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Journalism and Mass Communication

 

Finding Local Newspapers

Below is the information on locating four local newspapers online, in print or on microfilm at the CU libraries. To see if the CU Libraries have access to another local newspaper title, do a Periodical Title search in Chinook on the name of the publication.

 

Denver Post

Format Source/Location Dates Covered Call Number
Online ProQuest 1988 - present  
Print Periodicals Room Current issues  
  Archives Jan. 1, 1901 - Mar. 31, 1914; June 1, 1914- Oct. 31, 1929; Dec. 1, 1929 - Nov. 30, 1935; Jan. 16, 1936-  
Microfilm Media 1895 - present Microfilm 1955
Index Norlin Reference

1963/1966 - 1975/1978

1979 - present

AI21 .D458

AI21 .D459

 

Rocky Mountain News

Format Source/Location Dates Covered Call Number
Online LexisNexis 1994 - present  
Print Periodicals Room Current issues  
  Archives 1859-72, 1944-46, 1955-64, 1968) 1969-  
Microfilm Media 1859-62(1863-64)1865-1996(1997)1998- Microfilm 1650

 

Daily Camera

Format Source/Location Dates Covered Call Number
Online

Daily Camera Archive

General Reference Center Gold

LexisNexis

1995 - present (index only)

3/2000 - present (selected full text)

1/1996 - present (selected full text)

 
Print Periodicals Room Current issues  
  Archives (1891) Mar. 1, 1892 - Jan. 27, 1928, May 8, 1935; Sept. 13, 1963, July 21, 1969; Jan. 30, 1972; Aug. 15, 1972  
Microfilm Media (1891-92)1893-1928, 1928-1973, 1973 - present Microfilm 3310

 

Colorado Daily

Format Source/Location Dates Covered Call Number
Online

Colorado Daily Archive

LexisNexis

2001 - present

9/1997 - present (selected full text)

 
Print Periodicals Room Current issues  
  Archives 1953 - 1996, Jan.22 1973-Dec. 30 1988; Mar.20-Aug.31 1989 378.788 UQCd 
Microfilm

Media

(Silver & Gold, Colorado Daily pre-1953)

1-4,9,12,15-22,24-34,37-40,44-45,48-56,59-62 1892-1952

Microfilm 196

  Media 1953 - present

Microfilm 197

 

 

Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection

A project of the Collaborative Digitization Program. Contains historic Colorado newspapers that have been digitized and made accessible via the Internet.

Denver Public Library's Western History / Geneology Department

The Denver Public Library has a large collection of Colorado newspapers in its History/Geneology Department. Besides the two major Denver newspapers, the Rocky Mountain News and The Denver Post, the Library has hundreds of local newspapers and magazine titles, reflecting the Rocky Mountain region's diverse communities and religious organizations, past and present.

     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark