Subject Guide for Latin American Studies
- Start here!
- Literature
- Politics
- News
- Anthro,History,Gender etc
¡Bienvenidos a la biblioteca!
This is a guide of librarian-selected materials that will assist you with your research and reporting. Use the tabs above to locate research resources. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if you wish to set up an appointment for research help.
Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:
- Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
- List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
- Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
- Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
- Choose a specific time period.
Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.
Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. CU
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture CU
Literature of Latin America CU
Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. 1992
REF F1406 .C36 1992
Encyclopedia of Latin American politics. 2002
REF F1410 .E56 2002
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures. 2000
REF F1406 .E515 2000
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. 1996
REF F1406 .E53 1996
Historical dictionary of U.S.- Latin American relations. 2005
REF F1418 .F457 2005
Iberia and the Americas : culture, politics, and history : a multidisciplinary encyclopedia. 2006 (3 volumes)
REF E18.75 .I24 2006
Latin America, history and culture : an encyclopedia for students. 1999
REF F1406 .L38 1999
Bibliographies and Guides
Handbook of Latin American studies CU
REF A Bibliography of Latin American Bibliographies. 1984-2000
Z1601 .A2 G76
REF A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean , and U.S. Latino Made Film and Video. 1998
PN1995.9.L37 G85 1998
Latin American Films, 1932-1994: a Critical Filmography. 1997
PN1995.9.L37 S38 1997
REF Latin America and the Caribbean : A Critical Guide. 1992
Z1601 .L3225
Latin American studies: a basic guide to sources. 1990
Z1601 .L324 1990
Â
CU = Available to campus IP addresses.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.
Â
Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.
Â
First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:
Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of corruption in Latin American cinema
Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:
representation |
corruption |
Latin American cinema |
Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distinctions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.
It's important to think of alternate words to describe your topic; either synonyms, or broader and narrower terms. This will ensure that you can find a wide range of results.
Everyday Example
![]() |
Synonyms: NFL, American football, Friday Night Lights
Narrower Terms: Quarterback, Denver Broncos
Broader Terms: College Sports, Team sports, Ball game |
Research Paper Example
Concept 1: portrayal illustration account embodiment |
Concept 2: bribery extortion fraud perversion |
Concept 3: Spanish American Movies Film Industry Motion pictures |
The following subclasses of the Library of Congress Classification Outline allow more precise browsing of the library's collection of the different areas that encompass Latin American Studies.
A General AP62-65 Periodicals-Span. and Port. General AS60-90 Academies and Societies AY430-729 Almanacs B Philosophy and Religion B1001-1084 Modern Philosophy (1450/1600-) BL2490 History and Principles of Religion BL2520-2532 BL2580-2592 LAS BR600-730 Christianity-History
Liberation TheologyBT660/G8 Miracles BV2829-2853 Missions BX1425-1489 Denominations--Roman Catholic BX1739-1740 Inquisition BX2529.5-2589 Roman Catholic Religious Orders BX2912-4114 Specific Orders BX4610-4675 Denominations--Roman Catholic Churches, Biog. BX4833-4836 Protestantism C History, Auxiliary Sciences CD3650-4280 Archives CS95-399 Genealogy CT329-758 National Biography E History: America E65 Pre-Columbian America; The Indians E110-125 Discovery E141-143 Descriptive Accounts to 1606-1810 E183.8 United States--Foreign Relations E184 United States--Population--Mexicans E401-415.2 War with Mexico, 1845-1848 E714-735 War of 1898 F History: America F1201-3799 History, Latin America and Caribbean F1201-1392
Mexico F1219-1219.8
Antiquities, Indians F1223-1228.9
History, general F1228.98
1492-1519 F1230
1519-1535, Spanish Conquest F1231
1535-1810, New Spain F1232
1810-1849, Independence F1232.5-1236
1849-present F1236.6-1391
Regions, states, territories F1401-1419
Latin America, general F1421-1440
Central America, general F1441-1457
British Honduras/ Belize F1461-1477
Guatemala F1435-1435.3
Antiquities, Indians F1481-1497
El Salvador F1501-1517
Honduras F1521-1537
Nicaragua F1541-1557
Costa Rica F1561-1577
Panama F1569.C2
Panama Canal F1601-1629
West Indies F1630-1640
Bermudas F1650-1660
Bahamas F1751-1849
Cuba F1769
Antiquities, Indians F1772
Historiography F1776
History, general F1779-1785
1492-1895, Colonial period F1786
1895-1898, Spanish American War F1787
1898-1959 F1788-1788.22
1959- Communist regime F1861-1896
Jamaica F1900-1941
Haiti (Island), Hispaniola F1912-1930
Haiti (Republic) F1931-1941
Dominican Republic F1951-1983
Puerto Rico F2001-2151
Lesser Antilles F2161-2175
Caribbean Sea F2201-2239
South America, general F2251-2299
Colombia F2301-2349
Venezuela F2351-2471
Guianas F2501-2659
Brazil F2510
Social life and customs F2510.9
Geography F2511-2517
Travel F2518.5-2520
Antiquities, Indians F2520.3
Historiography F2524-2534
1500-1821, Discovery, Colonial Period F2536
1822-1889, Empire F2537-2538.3
1889-present F2538.5-2660.9
Regions and states F2661-2669
Paraguay F2701-2799
Uruguay F2801-3021
Argentina F3031-3031.5
Falkland Islands F3051-3285
Chile F3301-3359
Bolivia F3401-3619
Peru F3429
Antiquities, Indians F3701-3799
Ecuador G Geography and Anthropology G5-6 Societies G1535-1779 Atlases G4390-5668 Maps GA481-775 Cartography GB133-170.2 Physical Geography GB711-719 Hydrology; Water GB1031-1080 GB1231-1280 Rivers GF514-532 Human Ecology--Settlements GR114-133 Folklore--Folktales GT4213.5-4241 Manners and Customs GT4813.5-4841 GV1626-1641 Dancing H Social Sciences HA751-1100 Statistical Data HB122-133 Economic Theory HB940.5-990 Demography, Fertility HB1360.5-1410 Demography, Mortality HB1990.5-2040 Demography, Migration HB2620.5-2670 Demography, Occupations HB3530.5-3580 Demography, Classes HC121-239.5 Economic History and Conditions HD320.5-580 Land Use (agrarian reform) HD1531 Agricultural Laborers HD1696 Water Resources HD1790.5-1915 Agricultural Economics HD2810.5-2843 Industry HD3450.5-3483 Cooperative HD4010.5-4135 State Industries HD4610.5-4643 State and Municipal HD4980.5-5013 Labor--Wages HD5330-.5-5363 Labor Disputes HD5730.5-5763 Trade Unions HD6995.5-7021 Cost/Standard of Living HD7130.5-7163 Social Security HD7305.5-7331 Welfare; Housing HD8110.5-8370 Labor HD9014 Agricultural and Food Products Industries HD9114 Sugar HD9199 Coffee HE215.5-241 Transportation HE2810.5-3000 Railways HF130.5-179 Commerce HF1480.5-1530 Commercial Policy HF3230.5-3490 Commerce HF5073.5-5151 Business--Directories HG185 Personal Finance HG660.5-920 Finance--Money HG2710.5-2970 Banking HG4091.5-4130 Business and Corporate Finance HG5160.5-5420 Investment HJ15-39 Public Finance HJ799.5-999 History HN110.5-370 Social History and Conditions HQ560.5-610 Family, Marriage, Woman HQ1460.5-1585 Feminism HS560.5-593 Freemasons HT127.5-129 Classes, Races; Urban Groups HT1052.5-1152 Slavery HV8160.5-8193 Welfare, Penology HX110.5-235 Socialism, Communism, Anarchism J Political Science J131-258 Official Documents JL590-3899 Constitutional History and Administration JS1840-2778 Local Government JV7310-7539 Emigration and Immigration JX361-620 International Law JX1515-1541 International Relations; Diplomatic History L Education LA420-609 History LA2331-2367 Biography LC2667-2698 Special Aspects LE7-78 Individual Institutions PC Language PC4001-4071 Spanish Philology PC4073--4977 Spanish Language PC5001-5041 Portuguese Philology PC5043-5498 Portuguese Language PQ Literature PQ7081-8560 Literature of Spanish America PQ9500-9698.36 Brazil R Medicine R464.5-483 History (indigenous) RA450.5-482 Public Health S Agriculture S165-214 Documents T Technology TC773-788 Canal Projects TN27.5-54 Mining TN873 Petroleum Engineering TX716 Cookery U Military Science UA602.3-645 Armies Z Bibliography Z210-213 Book Industries and Trade--Printing Z490-531 Booksellers and Publishing Z738-786 Libraries Z1411-1945 National Bibliographies Z6953.8-6954 Subject Bibliography--Periodicals, Newspapers
Find books and articles on Latin American literature, (including authors, novels and poetry) as well as film and theater.
To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.
Â
To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to:
Chicano Studies | Spanish | Women's Studies
- Articles
- Books
To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.
Â
CU MLA international bibliography
Â
CU Contemporary literary criticism
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Roberto Bolaño AND 2666
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Spanish American Literature History And Criticism |
Spanish American Literature Women Authors History And Criticism |
| Spanish American Literature Social Aspects |
Â
- Articles
- Books
To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:
CU Biography and genealogy master index
CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry
CU Dictionary of literary biography
CU Oxford reference online : premium collection
CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 1
CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 2 Â
CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 3 Â
CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 4 Â
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.
Â
To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Biography (e.g. Anaya, Rudolfo biography) |
| American literature -- Hispanic American authors |
| Women authors, Latin American -- Biography -- Dictionaries |
- Articles
- Books
To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.
Â
CU MLA international bibliography
Â
Also:
CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.
Â
Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found
to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Latin American poetry -- History and criticism |
| Spanish American Poetry 20th Century |
| Experimental poetry, Spanish American -- History and criticism |
Â
- Articles
- Books
To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU International Index to the Performing Arts
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide
To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.
Â
To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Feminist Theater |
| Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre) |
| American drama -- Mexican American authors |
- Articles
- Books
To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Film Studies Subject Guide
To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.
Â
To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Cinematography |
| Motion Pictures Latin America |
| Film Adaptations History And Criticism |
Â
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]
Â
Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005Â
Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001Â
The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001Â
Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001Â
Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000Â
The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997Â
Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory
PE1479.C7 L96 1994CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Researching Guaranà land rights or development agencies in Latin America? Try the following tools to help:
|
![]() |
To find books about political topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywordsReligion and politics -- Latin America Socialism -- Latin America Cuban Americans Florida Miami Politics And Government
To find critical journal articles about a political topic, try the following databases.
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU International Political Science Abstracts
CU Ciao : Columbia International Affairs Online
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Index provides access to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations.
Allows users to access The World Bank Publication's entire output since the beginning of April 2000 plus all new documents. While there isn't an exact date range for the content, the oldest documents are circa the late 1980s. As of August 2008, over 5000 reports, books and documents are included in the E-Library. Statistical documents like the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance are available as PDF files as well.
The Government Information Library has gathered government and legal resources from countries and agencies around the world:
 Central/Latin America development
Organization of American States (OAS)
Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (CEPAL)
Also see:
Â
Current
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. CUÂ
Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.
Coverage includes: Spanish and Portuguese material from Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America. CU
LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)
LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Spanish or Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News" as a news category and then "Spanish Language News" as a news source. CUÂ
Some Spanish language material. (mostly major titles) CU
Â
Alternative Press Index
Some Spanish language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines) CU
Historical
Foreign Broadcast Information Service CU
FBIS, a publication of the U.S. government, provides translations of radio and television broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. These translations can provide intriguing local perspectives on current events.
A research tool for anyone who needs to monitor non-U.S. media sources. Information provided by the Open Source Center (OSC); a domestic and overseas bureaus who monitors timely and pertinent open-source materials. Search by region/topic, headline, simple or advanced searches.
Available in library only; username and password restricted to library personnel only. Please ask for assistance at a reference desk
Keeping up with the politics of the Andes, Banco del Sur or the football World Cup? These databases and websites offer full-text access to magazine and news articles about Latin American Studies. CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information. |
![]() |
On a Topic
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. CUÂ
Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.
Coverage includes: Spanish and Portuguese material from Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America. CU
LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)
LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Spanish or Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News" as a news category and then "Spanish Language News" as a news source. CUÂ
Some Spanish language material. (mostly major titles) CU
Â
Alternative Press Index
Some Spanish language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines) CU
Specific Newspaper
To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.Â
E.g.
PaÃs  (1134-6582)Â
Pais from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic PaÃs - All Editions (Spanish Language) from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva To find historical newspapers, do a title search in Chinook in the Journals/Serials collection. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (print or microfilm.)
Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Latin American news.
BBC Brasil (also includes video, audio)
BBC Mundo (also includes video, audio)
Google Noticias (Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Spain, USA Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Venezuela)
Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers
Pandora (40 free hours a month)
Spanish Language Online Radios
Zona Latina Listings of Radio Stations in Latin America
Blogs: DMOZ
Find books and articles on Latin American history, media and culture, including film, journalism, communication and mass media.
To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.
Â
To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to:
Anthropology | Chicano Studies | History | International Area Studies-Latin American | Spanish | Women's Studies
- Articles
- Books
To find critical journal articles about an anthropological topic, try the following databases:
Anthropology Plus
Brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Updated quarterly. CUÂ
AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print. CUÂ
Annual Review of Anthropology
Comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leaders in the field of anthropology. CUHuman Relations Area Files Databases (Material from the HRAF collection)
eHRAF Collection of Archaeology
A collection of archaeology texts indexed by culture and subject. CUÂ
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. CUEthnic Group Databases (Databases indexing material on specific groups)
Chicano Database
A bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics. Provides coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded the scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. CUÂ
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage: 1970 - present. CU
To find books about anthropology topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Ethnology Latin America |
| Mayas Folklore |
| Material Culture |
- Articles
- Books
To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Film Studies Subject Guide
To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.
Â
To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Cinematography |
| Motion Pictures Latin America |
| Film Adaptations History And Criticism |
- Articles
- Books
To find critical journal articles about a medial topic, try the following databases:
To find newspaper articles about media topics, try the following databases:
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. CUÂ
Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.
Coverage includes: Spanish and Portuguese material from Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America. CU
LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)
LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Spanish or Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News" as a news category and then "Spanish Language News" as a news source. CUÂ
Some Spanish language material. (mostly major titles) CU
Â
Alternative Press Index
Some Spanish language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines) CU
Specific Newspaper
To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.Â
E.g.
PaÃs  (1134-6582)Â
Pais from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic PaÃs - All Editions (Spanish Language) from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva To find historical newspapers, do a title search in Chinook in the Journals/Serials collection. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (print or microfilm.)
To find books about media topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Mass media -- Latin America |
| Radio Broadcasting Mexican American Border Region |
| Journalism -- Latin America -- History |
- Primary Sources
- Secondary Sources
A primary source is a document, object, or other evidence about the topic you are investigating that was created during the time period under study. It provides direct evidence and thus offers an inside view into events of the period. Primary sources come in many forms: documents (diaries, letters, speeches, government documents, books, periodicals, interviews); creative works (novels, music, poetry); and artifacts (photos, pottery, clothing).
Finding Primary Sources in Full-Text Databases
Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries. Completion of the estimated 900,000 pages is scheduled for November 2009.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
The ABC-Clio eBook Collection includes the online full text of hundreds of reference books on many subjects, including U.S. and world history, politics, government, society, education, religion, folklore, mythology, science, environment and geography.
Â
This scholarly multi-disciplinary database contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Provides indexing and abstracting for citations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database.
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) CU
Article and book citations about Latin America in the Humanities and Social Sciences. For Humanities, coverage includes: Art, History, Literature, Music, and Philosophy. For Social Sciences, coverage includes Archeology, Ethnology, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, International Relations, Political Economy, and Sociology.
Â
Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.
Â
Women's studies international CU
Database includes the latest scholarship in feminist research, including Women Studies Abstracts. Curriculum in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education
- Articles
- Books
Alternative Press Index
Provides citations for nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines 1991 to present.Â
Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Â
Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 150 countries. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.Â
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
A core resource in NISC's series of databases on family and gender related topics.Â
Â
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Â
Social sciences citation index (SSCI)
A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts and cited references, covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
Â
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Historical Databases
Â
Â
Everyday life and women in America
Â
North American women's letters and diaries
Â
To find books about women's studies topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
|
| Women -- Political activity -- Latin America | |
| Feminism -- Latin America | |
|




