UCB Libraries

painting: Tower of Babel

Subject Guide for Linguistics

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

CU Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Provides abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC.
Coverage: 1973 - present.

 

CU Linguistics Abstracts Online
Offers access to more than 30,000 abstracts from nearly 400 linguistics journals published since 1985.
Coverage: 1985 - present.

 

CU Bibliographie Linguistique
Provides bibliographical references to scholarly publications on all branches of linguistics and all the languages of the world, irrespective of language or place of publication. The database contains all entries of the printed volumes of Bibliographie Linguistique/Linguistic Bibliography for the years 1993-2000 and an increasing number of more recent references. Annual volumes will continue to be published in print by Kluwer Academic Publishers. Print copy in Norlin Reference.

 

CU Humanities Abstracts/Full Text
Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.
Coverage: Abstracts from 1985 to the present; full text from 1995 to the present.

 

CU Arts and Humanities Citation Index
AHCI indexes items from over 7,000 arts and humanities journals. The citations provide abstracts with links to availability at the CU libraries, and a list of references cited in the article. It includes the ability to search by cited reference or work phrases.
Coverage : 1980 to the present.

 

CU Oxford English Dictionary
Accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

 

CU L'Annee Philologique
An international annual index to research on all aspects of greco-roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 AD. Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects, including language, literature, archaeology, history, law, philosophy, science, and technology.
Coverage: 1969 - present.

**Please note: This database is optimized to run through the web browser Internet Explorer.

 

Click here to view a PDF explaining how to use the index.

CU MLA International Bibliography
Published by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Coverage: 1963 - present. CU

 

CU Academic Search Premier
Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

 

CU Proquest Digital Dissertations
Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.

 

Linquistics Databases via Chinook

Here you can connect to linguistics databases through Find Articles & More.