Crystal, D. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. Cambridge:
Cambridge UP, 1987. REF STACKS P 29 C64 1987
This is a basic and introductory encyclopedia for researchers looking
for a broad coverage of issues related to language. It is arranged thematically,
not alphabetically, and includes topics like: Language and Identity;
The Structure of Language; Mediums of Language; Child Language Acquisition;
Language, Brain, and Handicap; Language in the World; Language and Communication.
The appendices contain a glossary, suggestions for further reading, references,
and several indices.
Asher, R.E., ed. The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. Oxford:
Pergamon Press, 1994. REF STACKS P29 E48 1994 v.1-10.
This set of encyclopedias provides both a broader and more in-depth
overview of linguistics and “aims to be authoritative, up-to-date,
comprehensive, and international.” The first 9 volumes
contain over 2,000 articles, but a good place to start is Volume
10, which contains a name and subject index for all of the entries,
detailing in what volume the subject is located, as well as an
extensive glossary.
Frawley, William J., ed. International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. 2nd ed.
Oxford: Oxford UP, 2003. REF STACKS P29 I58 2003 v.1-4.
Providing an interdisciplinary approach, this alphabetically-arranged
edition focuses on “areas of intersection with the social and behavioral
science…[and] interdisciplinary work in language and literature,
language and philosophy, mathematical linguistics, computational linguistics,
and applied linguistics, in particular as concerned with language education.” It
contains 957 articles ranging in size from one paragraph to ten
pages, with an average of two to four pages per entry. Intended
for an academic audience, it assumes some previous knowledge,
but orients the reader to the subject, with key bibliographic
information for most entries. Volume 4 features a systematic
outline and index.
Bussmann, H. Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics. London:
Routledge, 1996. REF STACKS P 29 B87 1996
This dictionary provides a comprehensive look at all areas of linguistics,
arranged alphabetically by entry term. “Not restricted
to specific theories, it encompasses descriptive and historical,
comparative and typological linguistics, as well as the applied
subdisciplines. Along with the traditional core areas, interdisciplinary
fields, as well as stylistics, rhetoric and philosophy of language
are represented.”
Crystal, D. A Dictionary of Language. Chicago: University of
Chicago Press, 2001. REF STACKS P29 C68 2001
This reference work “tries to combine that convenience of the
alphabetical dictionary with the general range of the thematic encyclopedia.” In
addition to providing clear and concise definitions for terms, it answers
questions like, ‘How many people speak Turkish on Cyprus?’ and ‘What
language do they speak in Nigeria?’ A very useful dictionary
for general language inquiries.
Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics. 5th ed.
Oxford: Blackwell, 2003. REF STACKS P 29.C65 2003
Of use for both scholar and beginning student, this dictionary contains
a full list of linguistic and phonetic terms, as well as
lists of abbreviations, symbols, and symbols of the International
Phonetic Alphabet. The entries focus on the term’s standard
usage and further offer an encyclopedic element, often with historical
context.
The Atlas of Languages: The Origin and Development of Languages Throughout
the World. Revised edition. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 2003.
REF STACKS P 107.A87 2003
Like an atlas, this reference work is ordered by geographic region
and uses maps and language family trees to document “what
is spoken where at the beginning of the 21st century.” It
creates connections between language and place that recognize
both the historical and future developments of human communication.
Crystal, David and Hilary Crystal. Words on Words: Quotations About
Language and Languages. Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 2000.
REF STACKS P 106.C765 2000
Useful for finding quotations about language and communication, this
reference tool is arranged thematically and provides brief quotes with
their original authors and sources. This resource is valuable for anyone
looking for a quote on a specific topic for a research paper, speech,
etc., and offers a wide and comprehensive selection. With exhaustive
indices that compose nearly half the work, researchers can find quotes
by author, source, and key word or phrase.