UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Map Resources

Brief Description: A description of the Map Library collection and services. For more information, see the Map Library web pages or contact the Map Library.

  ATLASES    TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS    ROAD MAPS    GEOLOGIC MAPS    THEMATIC MAPS    DIGITAL SPATIAL DATA    REFERENCE SOURCES  

Map Library Collection
The Map Library collection consists of an estimated 200,000 maps, over 500 atlases and geographic reference books, and a growing collection of digital spatial data. Our collection provides well-rounded, world-wide coverage.

We collect general and thematic maps and atlases at small and large scales, mostly from the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries, and related reference materials such as gazetteers. The Map Library is a full Federal Depository Library and the majority of our maps are acquired through the Federal Depository Library Program from agencies such as USGS, BLM, U.S. Forest Service, Department of Transportation, NGA (formerly NIMA, DMA, and AMS), and CIA.

The Map Library collection also contains Sanborn Fire Insurance maps of Colorado, historical aerial photographs of Colorado, many facsimiles of historical maps, print satellite images, topographic maps on CD-ROM, and digital geospatial data. The digital data collection is founded on reference GIS datasets: the ESRI base datasets, the USGS/AGI Global GIS datasets, DOQQs for much of the Front Range of Colorado, DRGs for all of Colorado, and DEMs for the entire U.S.. The collection also contains thematic and more detailed data for certain areas.

We have put together an extensive list of links to online maps, GIS data, and maps reference resources. Please see our Web Resources section.

Map resources, mostly in atlases or books, can also be found in other areas of the University Libraries. In particular, the Reference Department and Government Publications, both in Norlin Library, collect map resources. These materials can be searched for through Chinook.

Location & Hours
The Map Library is located on the lower floor of the Jerry Crail Johnson Earth Sciences and Map Library in the Benson Earth Sciences building. Please check the Map Library web site for our current hours.

Circulation
The majority of maps in the Map Library collection circulate for 14 days. Maps and data on CD-ROM circulate for 2 days. Pre-1950, fragile or rare maps, maps on proprietary software programs, and most of the atlases and books in the collection do not circulate. Most maps may be copied on the library’s black and white, 11” x 17” photocopier. Maps should be checked out and returned at the Map Library circulation/reference desk.

Instruction
The map library supports a wide variety of disciplines across the university. The map library staff provides research assistance, library orientations, and specialized instruction to individual researchers and classes. Please contact Katie Lage, the map librarian, with any questions or to set up an instruction session at 303-735-4917 or katie.lage@colorado.edu.

Contact Information
303-492-7578      maplib@colorado.edu      http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/map/