UCB Libraries

Students using computers

Subject Guide for General Medicine

Brief Description: The branch of medicine that deals with the diagnosis and (nonsurgical) treatment of diseases of the internal organs (especially in adults) .

 

For more information, contact the Science Library.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles 

Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents. Subject Guide for

CU Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Coverage: varies by title.

 

CU BioOne
Full Text articles from selected scientific journals. Coverage: 2000 - present.

 

CU General Science Full Text
Index to general science literature from the U.S. and Europe. Contains some links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1984 - present.

 

CU Medline
Index to medical literature including dentistry and nursing. Coverage: 1966 - present.

 

CU Science Direct
Contains full text articles from Elsevier published journals. Coverage: 1997 - present.

 

CU SciFinder
Access limited to Science, Math Physics, Engineering, and Earth Sciences Libraries and the Chemistry Department.
Chemical Abstracts database with more than 20 million records from 1907 to present. Coverage: 1907 -

 

CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data.  Subject areas covered include agricultural and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management), engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, and sociology.

 

CU Web of Science
Formerly ISI Citation indexes. Coverage: 1970 - present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for General Medicine
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

Anatomy and Physiology

Science Ref QP31.2 A53 1998

 

Atlas of Human Anatomy

Science Ref QM25 A798 2001

 

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment

Science Ref RC71 A14 2002

 

Dictionary of Medicine

Science Ref R121 C65 2000

 

Encyclopedia of Human Biology

Science Ref QP11 .E53 1997

 

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Science Ref R733 G34 2001

 

The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Science Ref RC41 G35 1999

 

Gray's Anatomy

Science Ref QM23.2 G73 1995

 

Human Anatomy and Physiology

Science Ref QP31.2 M36 2001

 

Human Diseases and Conditions

Science Ref RC81 A2 H75 2000

 

Macmillan Health Encyclopedia

Science Ref RA776 .M174 1999

 

Magill's Medical Guide

Science Ref RC41 .M34 1998

 

Online Medical Dictionary (OMD)

http://cancerweb.ncl.ac.uk/omd/

 

Oxford Companion to the Body

Science Ref QM7 O96 2001

 

The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine

Science Ref RC1206 .O94 1998

 

PDR Medical Dictionary

Science Ref R121 P21 2000

 

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

Science Ref R121 .T144 1997

 

Women and Health

Science Ref RA778 W66 2000

 

World of Health

Science Ref R130.5 .W67 2000

Internet Links
These are selected sites providing access to research and information. Be sure to cite the information correctly when using it for assignments.

General Medicine

 

Aidsinfo
http://www.aidsinfo.nih.gov/

 

BLAST—Basic Local Alignment Search Tool
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/BLAST/

 

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)

http://www.cdc.gov/

 

Clinical Trials.gov
http://www.clinicaltrials.gov/

 

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/
 

The Diabetes Dictionary
http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/dictionary/

 

Drugs@FDA
http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/drugsatfda/index.cfm

 

Genetics Home Reference
http://www.ghr.nlm.nih.gov/

 

Gray's Anatomy

http://www.bartleby.com/107/


Haz-Map
http://www.hazmap.nlm.nih.gov/

 

HealthWorld Online

http://www.healthy.net/

 

Household Products
http://www.householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/

 

Human Body Online

http://www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html

 

Human Metabolome Project
http://www.hmdb.ca/
Seeks to be "the chemical equivalent of the Human Genome Project", producing a database of human metabolites. Since 2004 the project has assembled the current inventory of roughly 2,500 molecules produced by metabolic reactions in body tissues and fluids -- and though this may be only 10% of the human metabolome (nobody really knows) it is a useful starting point, and a unique database.

 

JoVE – Journal of Visualized Experiments
http://www.jove.com/

 

LifeWorks: explore health and medical science careers
http://www.science.education.nih.gov/lifeworks.nsf/feature/

 

LUMEN: Structure of the Human Body
http://www.meddean.luc.edu/lumen/MedEd/GrossAnatomy/GA.html

 

MedHist: the guide to the history of medicine resources on the Internet

http://medhist.ac.uk/

 

Medline Plus Health Information

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

 

MEDLINEplus
http://www.medlineplus.gov/

 

MEDtropolis

http://www.medtropolis.com/vbody.asp

 

The Merck Manual of Diagnoses and Therapy

http://www.merck.com/mrkshared/mmanual/home.jsp

 

MICROMEDEX drug index and healthcare series
http://www.micromedex.com/products/hcs/

 

Musculoskeletal Atlas

http://courses.washington.edu/hubio553/

 

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature

http://bioethics.georgetown.edu/

 
NIH Senior Health
http://nihseniorhealth.gov/

 

PubChem
http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

 

PubMed - Database of Medical LIterature

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi

 

PubMed Central - Archive of Life Science Jounals

http://www.pubmedcentral.gov/

 

Rx List

http://www.rxlist.com/

 

Stedman’s Online Medical Dictionary
http://www.stedmans.com/section.cfm/45

 

Tox Town
http://www.toxtown.nlm.nih.gov/

 

Visible Human Browsers

http://www.uchsc.edu/sm/chs/browse/browse.htm

 

Visible Human Project-National Institute of Health

http://anatline.nlm.nih.gov/index.html

 

WebMD
http://www.webmd.com/

 

Internet Links for the History of Medicine

For other links see the History of Science Subject Guide

http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/subjectguides/sciencehistory.htm

 

History of Biomedicine
http://www.mic.ki.se/History.html
The Karolinska Institutet of Sweden's website about cultural medicine (i.e.,
traditional Chinese medicine), the history of medicine, and the history of
diseases.

 

MedHist: the guide to history of medicine resources on the Internet
http://www.medhist.ac.uk/

 

Wellcome Library
http://library.wellcome.ac.uk/

 

Internet Links for Consumer Health

 

Denison Memorial Library/UCHSC
http://denison.uchsc.edu/outreach/consumerlinks.html
Web guide for many categories of consumer health.