
University Libraries >
Research Resources >
Research & Subject Guides >
Subject
Guide for
Integrative Physiology
Brief Description: The science of mind and behavior.
For more information, contact the Science Library.
CU
= Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students,
staff, and faculty from an
off-campus location.
Use of these resources is subject to
copyright laws and license limitations.
Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles
Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference
proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.
CU SportsDiscus
SportsDiscus is the world's leading database in sport, health, fitness
and sports medicine providing access to fulltext and bibliographic references
in such areas as sports medicine, physical education, coaching and training,
arts and history, corporate wellness, engineering and health and safety.
SportsDiscus has more than 700,000 qualified references from thousands
of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings,
theses, dissertations, and websites as well as has direct links to fulltext
articles. Information focuses on different areas involving sports,
including the arts and humanities, engineering and social sciences. For
more information about SportsDisucs go to:
http://www.sirc.ca/products/sportdiscus.cfm
CU Medline
The MEDLINE database is produced by the National Library of Medicine
and includes over 12 million references to journal articles. Subject
covered includes: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Psychology, Allied Health,
Veterinary Medicine, the Health Care System, Health Administration,
Dentistry and the Preclinical Sciences. More than 4,000 journals from
over 70 countries are indexed and about 400,000 new citations are added
to the database each year. The entire database, from 1966 to date, is
available for searching. For more information about MEDLINE go
to:
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/medline.html
PubMed
The PubMed database is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE.
In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively
for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just
those that are included in MEDLINE. Finally, PubMed also provides access
to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval
system. For more information about PubMed go to:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/overview.html
CU Biological
Abstracts
This database includes bibliographic references (records) with
abstracts derived from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
Contains some links to full text articles. Coverage: 1969 - present.
CU Biological
Sciences Subfiles via Cambridge Science
Abstracts
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations
to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology
and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Coverage: 1960 - present.
CU ScienceDirect
Offers access to
the Elsevier Science journal collection (over 1,200 titles), along with
journals from a host of prestigious societies and STM publishers. This
includes the PsycArticles database of over fifty full text American
Psychological Association journals from 1978 to-date. For more information
about ScienceDirect go to:
http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing_options/index.shtml
CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly,
technical and medical data. Subject areas covered include agricultural
and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management),
engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and
linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine,
neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences,
and sociology.
CU Visual
Histology
The Visual Histology Video Learning System is a collection of 26 one-half hour
online streaming video tutorials that cover the body's histological organization.
CU Web
of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective
multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious,
high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also
provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users
can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching
all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant
to their research. For more information about the WEB OF SCIENCE
go to:
http://www.isinet.com/products/citation/wos/
Reference books – selective handbooks,
encyclopedias, and dictionaries
The Oxford companion to the body
Science Reference QM7 O96 2001
Human structure
Science Reference QM23.2 L44
Grant's atlas of anatomy
Science Reference QM25.A38 2005
Encyclopedia of human biology
Science Reference QP11.E53 1997
Principles of bone biology
Science Reference QP88.2.P735 2002
Respiration and circulation
Science Reference QP101.R47
Handbook of nutrition and food
Science Reference QP141.C774 2002
Hurst's the heart, arteries and veins
Science Reference RC667.H88 1998
Vascular medicine: a textbook of vascular biology and diseases
Science Reference RC691.V39 1996
Essentials of sports medicine
Science Reference RC1210.E782 1997
The female athlete
Science Reference RC1210.F365 2002
Oxford textbook of sports medicine
Science Reference RC1210 O96 1998
Sports medicine secrets
Science Reference RC1210 S765 2003
Team physician's handbook
Science Reference RC1210.T43 2002
The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine
Science Reference RC1206.O94 1998
Injuries in baseball
Science Reference RC1220.B3 I55
Biomechanics in sport: performance enhancement and injury prevention
Science Reference RC1235.B476 2000
Injury and trauma sourcebook
Science Reference RD93.I55 2002
Complete guide to sports injuries
Science Reference RD97.G75 1997
Surgical atlas of sports medicine
Science Reference RD97.M554 2003
DeLee & Drez's orthopaedic sports medicine : principles and practice
Science Reference RD97.O78 2003
Sports injuries sourcebook
Science Reference RD97.S736 2002
The upper extremity in sports medicine
Science Reference RD557.U67 1995
Dancer's guide to injuries of the lower extremity: diagnosis, treatment,
and care
Science Reference RD560.W75 1985
Reconstructive surgery of the joints
Science Reference RD686.J656 1996
Magnetic resonance imaging in orthopaedics & sports medicine
Science Reference RD734.5.M33.S75 1997
Style Manuals for Psychology
Use these style manuals for guidelines on writing your research paper
including the proper format for bibliographic citations. Print resources link
to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.
Publication
manual of the American Psychological Association
Science Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001
Also online at: APA
Style.org
Council
of Biology Editors Style Manual
Science Stacks QH304 .C68 1978
A
manual for writers of term papers, theses, and dissertations, 6th
ed.
Reference and Science Ref LB2369 .T8 1996
The
Chicago manual of style, 15th ed.
Reference Z253 .C57 2003
Internet Links
Biomechanics
BioMechanics Magazine Home Page http://www.biomech.com/
The Magazine of Lower Extremity Movement. Text available from January 1996.
Defense Technical Information Center
STINET Databases http://stinet.dtic.mil/
"DTIC provides information--records of planned, ongoing, or completed
Defense-related research--to U.S. Government agencies and their contractors...
The Public-STINET does not require registration. It provides access to
citations to unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into
DTIC's Technical Report Bibliographic (TR) Database within the last 11
years."
Introduction to Muscle http://muscle.ucsd.edu/musintro/jump.shtml
This is an introduction to muscle physiology and design by the Muscle Physiology
Lab at the University of California.
Musculoskeletal Diseases http://www.mic.ki.se/Diseases/C05.html
A collection of links relating to muscules and/or skeletal conditions
and disorders from the Karolinska Institute Library and Information Center
in Stockholm.
Ergonomics
Bad Human Factors Designs http://www.baddesigns.com/
"A scrapbook of illustrated examples of things that are hard to use
because they do not follow human factors principles." By Michael
J. Darnell
CUErgo: Cornell Ergonomics Web http://ergo.human.cornell.edu/
ErgoWeb: The Place for Ergonomics http://www.ergoweb.com/
"A one stop spot for ergonomics information, products, case studies,
instructional materials, standards and guidelines, communication opportunities,
ergonomics related news, and more." "
Useful Sites Concerning
Ergonomic Issues http://www.ergo.engin.com/ErgoSites.html
Fitness and Health
Do It Sports http://www.doitsports.com/index.html
Information on participatory sporting events and related topics.
FitLife http://www.fitlife.com/
FitLife provides current material, information and services in the fields
of physical fitness, health promotion, wellness and lifestyle.
BALANCE: Fitness on the Net http://gort.ucsd.edu/newjour/
A monthly electronic journal started November 1994. Issues are freely accessable
but you must register to view back issues.
FitnessLink: All The News That's
Fit. http://www.fitnesslinkpros.com/
Contains many useful resources on fitness, health and nutrition. Including
news articles updated daily.
HealthAtoZ Search
Engine http://www.healthatoz.com/
Searches web sites which which "has been exclusively catalogued
by medical professionals."
Myo Dynamics http://www.myodynamics.com/
Charles Staley's Fundamentals of Strength Training for Sport
Net Seat.com http://www.netsweat.com/
"The primary purpose of this site is the dissemination of information
on exercise and nutrition. IFR offers a comprehensive listing of fitness
related sites as well as a weekly editorial on nutrition and fitness."
Stride Magazine http://www.stride.com/
A quarterly magazine devoted to lower body health, from hip to toe. Full
text for selected articles of current issue and for all articles of back
issues.
Sport and Exercise Psychology http://www.coloradobiathlon.org/
Contains links to organizations, conferences, graduate programs, mailing
list and journals relating to exercise physiology.
Kinesiology
Comprehensive
Sites of Interest to Kinesiology http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/discipline/health_kin/redirect.html
Links to sites of interest.
Kinesiology Associations Web Site Links (CSU Northridge) http://library.csun.edu/dhelfer/kinesweb.html
Peak Performance Technologies,
Inc. http://www.peakperform.com/index.htm
Peak is "a company dedicated to producing a full line of motion and
analog measurement products to satisfy the requirements of researchers,
clinicians, and businesses who have an interest or need to measure motion." This
site includes a bibliography or articles and studies which references
Peak and/or its equipment in research.
USA Gymnastics
Online: Technique http://www.usa-gymnastics.org/publications/technique/
Journal with selected full text starting January 1995.
Physical Education
Welcome to AAHPERD http://www.aahperd.org/naspe/template.cfm
Official web site of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education,
Recreation & Dance.
Resources
of Scholarly Societies - Recreation & Leisure
Studieshttp://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/recreation_soc.html
"This is one of a set of subject pages created by compilers at the
University of Waterloo Library to facilitate access to websites maintained
by or for scholarly societies across the world."
Sport Management
Sport Management Info.
Centre @ UNB -Terry R. Haggerty
http://www.unb.ca/web/SportManagement/
Contains interesting listings
of sport management related sites maintain by the University of New Brunswick
in Canada.
Sports Medicine
American Sports Medicine Institute
http://www.asmi.org/
"ASMI's mission is to improve the understanding, prevention, and treatment
of sports-related injuries through research and education." This
site contains and provides links to resources relating to this mission.
Center for Sports Medicine and Osteopathic
Medicine - Richard M. Bachrach, D.O., F.A.O.A.S.M.
http://www.bonesdoctor.com/
Contains general information about some
sports injuries and disorders of the neuromusculoskeletal system.
Gatorade Sports Science Institute
http://www.gssiweb.com/
"Provides information targeted toward athletic
trainers, physicians, coaches, nutritionists and others interested in
the fields of sports medicine, sports nutrition and exercise science."
Human Kinetics
http://www.humankinetics.com/
Publisher's website for kinetics materials
in various formats. The site
also includes an Online Education Center, information about all aspects
of
sports science and medicine as well as physical education, and links
to
other websites.
The National Athletic Trainers' Association
http://www.nata.org/
Information and publications about careers in athletic
training.
The Physician and Sports Medicine
http://www.physsportsmed.com/links.htm
Links to other sites in sports medicine
Scholarly Sports
Sites http://www.ucalgary.ca/library/ssportsite/
This subject
directory brings together the websites which will assist the serious
sports researcher,
kinesiology librarian, sport information specialist, college/university
student and faculty.
Sports
Medicine (Medicine)
http://sportsmedicine.about.com/
Links to sports medicine
related sites.
|