UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Psychology

Brief Description: The science of mind and behavior.


For more information, contact the Science Library.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles 

Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.


PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database from 1887 to the present that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. For more information about PsycINFO go to:  http://libraries.colorado.edu/record=e1000330~S3


CU Medline

The MEDLINE database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and includes over 12 million references to journal articles. Subject covered includes: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Psychology, Allied Health, Veterinary Medicine, the Health Care System, Health Administration, Dentistry and the Preclinical Sciences. More than 4,000 journals from over 70 countries are indexed and about 400,000 new citations are added to the database each year. The entire database, from 1966 to date, is available for searching.  For more information about MEDLINE go to: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/medline.html



The PubMed database is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. Finally, PubMed also provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. For more information about PubMed go to:  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/overview.html


CU Web of Science

The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.  For more information about the WEB OF SCIENCE go to: http://www.isinet.com/products/citation/wos/


CU ScienceDirect

Description:ScienceDirect offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection (over 1,200 titles), along with journals from a host of prestigious societies and STM publishers. This includes the PsycArticles database of over fifty full text American Psychological Association journals from 1978 to-date. For more information about ScienceDirect go to: http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing_options/index.shtml


CU Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Description: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.


CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data.  Subject areas covered include agricultural and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management), engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, and sociology.


MIT Cognet

Description: This database provides access to scholarly journal articles, reference works, books, and conference proceedings covering research of the human mind.

Style Manuals for Psychology
Use these style manuals for guidelines on writing your research paper including the proper format for bibliographic citations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.
Science Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001

Also online at: APA Style.org


A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 6th ed.
Reference and Science Ref LB2369 .T8 1996

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for Psychology
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

CU Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling, 2nd ed.
Science Ref BF31 .B25 1999


Biographical dictionary of psychology
Science Ref BF109 A1 B56 1997


Companion encyclopedia of psychology
Science Ref BF31 C65 1994


A compendium of neuropsychological tests : administration, norms, and commentary, 2nd ed.
Science Ref RC386.6 N48 S67 1998


Comprehensive clinical psychology
Science Ref RC467 c597 1998


Comprehensive handbook of psychotherapy
Science Ref RC480 C593 2002


A dictionary of psychology
Science Ref BF31 C64 2001


The dictionary of psychology
Science Ref BF31 C72 1999


Dictionary of statistics for psychologists
Science Ref BF39 E83 1999


DSM-IV: Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV, 4th ed.
Science Ref RC455.2 C4 D54 1994
Parts of the DSM-IV are available online at http://www.psychiatryonline.com/


DSM-IV sourcebook
Science Ref RC455.2 C4 D754 1994


Encyclopedia of human behavior
Science Ref BF31 E5 1994


Encyclopedia of human intelligence
Science Ref BF431 E59 1994


Encyclopedia of human emotions
Science Ref BF531 E55 1999


Encyclopedia of neuroscience
Science Ref RC334 E53 1999


Encyclopedia of psychology
Science Ref BF31 E52 2000
Online at: http://www.psychology.org/


Graduate study in psychology
Science Ref BF77 G73


Handbook of child psychology, 5th ed.
Science Ref BF721 H242 1997


Handbook of positive psychology
Science Ref BF121 H212 2002


The Harvard guide to psychiatry, 3rd ed.
Science Ref RC454 N47 1999


The Mental Health Desk Reference
Science Ref RC466 N464 2001


Oxford textbook of psychopathology
Science Ref RC454 O94 1999


The Penguin dictionary of psychology
Science Ref BF31 R43 2001


Science Ref RC454 P7815 1994


Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.
Science Ref BF76.7 P83 2001


Steven's handbook of experimental psychology
Science Ref BF181 H336 2002


A student's dictionary of psychology
Science Ref BF31 S69 1999


Tests in print
Reference & Science Ref Z5814 E9 T47

Internet Resources

American Psychological Association



Center for Nonverbal Studies

Study of human communication in all its forms apart from language from the viewpoint of anthropology, biology & neuroscience



Classics in the History of Psychology



Internet Mental Health



JoVE – Journal of Visualized Experiments


Mental Health Net



National Center for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder



National Institute of Mental Health

Nationwide research on mental illness and mental health.



Neuropsychology Central



Personality Project



Psych Central

Dr. John Grohol's Mental Health Page.



Psychologie Online
A general resource website that provides general information about topics in psychology.


Psychology Online

Extensive links to psychological information, recommended for undergraduates



Psychology with Style
A hypertext guide to writing research reports for students and instructors of experimental and research methods courses.


Internet resources in research and teaching of psychology.


Premiere electronic journal for cognitive science.


Social Psychology Network



Society for Personality and Social Psychology



Whole Brain Atlas