UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Reference & Undergraduate Studies

Brief Description: This subject guide provides a few general sources for abstracts and indexes, dictionaries, directories, and encyclopedias.

 

For more information, contact Reference & Instructional Services.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles 
Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.

CU Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Premier is the world's largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This resource contains full text for over 3,460 scholarly publications. Varies, mostly late 1990's to the present.

 

CU Expanded Academic ASAP (InfoTrac)
Expanded Academic Index includes abstracts, references, and full text articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications. 1980 - present.

 

CU Humanities Abstracts (OCLC FirstSearch)
This database provides references for periodical information in the humanities subject area. Coverage: February1984 to present; abstracts since 1994.

 

CU Lexis-Nexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications selected to meet academic research needs. Coverage: Varies. Late 1970(selective) - present
Chinook > e-Resouces A-Z List > L > Lexis-Nexus Academic

 

CU Social Science Abstracts (OCLC First Search)
Contains over 550 English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere in the following disciplines: anthropology, geography, law, political science, psychology and sociology. Coverage: 1983 to present. Abstracts since 1994.

 

CU WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
WorldCat contains the merged catalogs of libraries around the world, making it the world's largest and richest database of bibliographic information. WorldCat houses over 48 million bibliographic records. Coverage: 2,100 B.C.- present.

Dictionaries
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog. * The newest editions of Foreign Language Dictionaries are located in the Reference Department Row 6

Bibliographies and Guides
ARBA Guide to Subject Encylopedias and Dictionaries
REF DEPT STACKS Z5848 .A72 1997 LIB USE ONLY
also
Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information >>> ARBA

Etymological Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary
REF DEPT (opposite wall from the REF desk) PE1625 .O87 1989 LIB USE ONLY
also
Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information >>> OED Online

Desk (College) Dictionaries

American Heritage Dictionary
REF DEPT STACKS PE1628 .A6227 2002 LIB USE ONLY

 

Random House Webster's College Dictionary
REF DEPT STACKS PE1628 .R28 2000 LIB USE ONLY

Dictionaries of Slang

American Slang
REF DEPT STACKS PE2846 .C45 1998 LIB USE ONLY

Synonyms, Antonyms, and Usage

Roget's International Thesaurus
NORLIN STACKS PE1591 .R73 2001

 

Roget's 21st century thesaurus in dictionary form
REF DEPT STACKS PE1591 .D45 1999 LIB USE ONLY

 Visual/Picture Dictionaries

 

Macmillian Visual Dictionary
REF DEPT STACKS PE1629 .C64 1992 LIB USE ONLY

Directories
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

Bibliographies and Guides

Directories in Print
REF DEPT RDYREF AY2001 .D5 LIB USE ONLY
BUSINESS RDYREF AY2001 .D5 LIB USE ONLY

 

International Directories In Print
REF DEPT RDYREF Z5771 .I59 LIB USE ONLY

Government

Congressional Quarterly's Washington Information Directory
REF DEPT RDYREF F192.3 .W33 LATEST EDITION LIB USE ONLY

Telephone, Zip Code Directories

Reference USA
Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.
e-Resources A-Z List > R > Reference USA
http://reference.infousa.com/index2.asp

 

Zip Code Directory
http://www.usps.com/ncsc/lookups/lookup_zip+4.html

Associations

Encyclopedia of Associations
REF DEPT STACKS HS17 .G335 LATEST EDITION LIB USE ONLY
BUSINESS REF HS17 .G335 LATEST EDITION LIB USE ONLY

 Business Directories

Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, United States and Canada
Available online only at the Business Library.

Foundations and Grants

Directory of Research Grants
REF DEPT GRANTS LB2338 .D57 LATEST EDITION LIB USE ONLY

 

Foundation Directory
REF DEPT GRANTS AS911.A2 F65 LATEST EDITION LIB USE ONLY

Research

Government Research Directory
SCIENCE REF Q179.98 .G68 8th 1995/96 LIB USE ONLY

 

Research Centers Directory
REF DEPT STACKS AS25 .D5 LATEST EDITION LIB USE ONLY

 

Encyclopedias

Collier's encyclopedia
REF DEPT STACKS AE5 .C683 1992 LIB USE ONLY

 

Encyclopedia Americana
REF DEPT STACKS AE5 .E333 1998 LIB USE ONLY

 

Kister's best encyclopedias : a comparative guide to general and specialized encyclopedias
REF DEPT STACKS AE1 .K57 1986 LIB USE ONLY

 

New Encyclopaedia Britannica
REF DEPT STACKS AE5 .E363 1998 LIB USE ONLY