Subject Guide for Religious Studies
Brief Description: This study aims to illuminate the dynamics of religion as a dimension of human culture and to develop theories and methods that advance our understanding of religion in its cultural and historical context.
For more information, contact Paul Moeller.
CU Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary, full text database. It contains full text for over 3,460 scholarly publications and includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. 1975-present.
CU Année Philologique | About this Resource
An online index to research on all aspects of greco-roman antiquity, from prehistory to 800 AD. Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings covering a broad range of classical subjects, including language, literature, archaeology, history, law, philosophy, science, and technology.
CU Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Coverage : 1980 to the present.
CU ATLA Religion Database with ALTASerials (EbscoHost)
The ATLA database is a collection of major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text journals representing all major religious faiths, denominations and language groups are included. Coverage dates back to 1949.
CU Bibliography of Asian Studies
The online Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) references western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. 1971-present.
CU Bibliography of Native North Americans | About this Resource
Indexes works published from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and other publications. Areas covered include native American topics and issues, including anthropology, political science, sociology, psychology, education, and legal and medical research.
CU Brill Dictionary of Religion
A revised ed. of the Metzler Lexikon Religion published 1999-2002. Contains over 500 singed articles with bibliographies, cross references, maps, and illustrations. The articles are organized under the following six thematic fields: the human being; the individual & the group; environment, society, & culture; elements of religious systems; history of religions; and geography & territoriality of religion. Also includes entries on critical terms for the study of religion. The articles within the thematic fields explain the basic elements of religion, present overviews of important religious & philosophical traditions, discuss themes of public interest in contemporary societies, treat important representatives of religious traditions & influential figures in the study of religion, discuss religion in cultural and anthrop-geographical units, provide overviews of historical periods, and give brief information on certain historical phenomena and terms.
CU China Academic Journals Full-text Database | About this Resource
Full-text electronic versions of Chinese academic periodicals. The database includes current issues as well as archives of back issues of journals, and is reproduced with original pagination. Multiple user search strategies available, including subject, journal title, and years of publication
CU China Core Newspapers Full-text Database | About this Resource
Newspaper articles published online in mainland China since 2000. As of August 2005, the article count exceeded 4.4 million. CU owns only one series: Politics/Military/Law
CU China Data Online | About this Resource
Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
CU Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
Page images and searchable full-text of Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans. Covers every aspect of in 17th- and 18th-century American life including history, literature, religion and foreign affairs. Upon completion the database will consist of 36,000 titles.
CU Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.
CU Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Includes the complete page images of 96,000 volumes in all subject areas published in Great Britain or in the English language between 1475 and 1700, and represented in the English Short Title Catalog and Thomason Tracts.
CU Encyclopaedia of Islam
Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.
CU Encyclopaedia of Judaism
Provides a full and reliable account of Judaism, beginning in ancient Israelite times and extending to our own day. Discusses Judaism, the religion, its diverse history, literature, beliefs past and present, observances and practices, and place in the context of society and culture.
Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in a Western language.
CU Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (EWIC)
An interdisciplinary, transhistorical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. EWIC hopes both to offer the state of the art in the broad sweep of topics to inform the general audience and to
CU Humanities Full Text (Wilson Web)
Humanities Full Text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
CU International Medieval Bibliography Online
Bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
CU Index Islamicus
This database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
CU Oxford Digital Reference Shelf | About this Resource
Online access to the world's most trusted reference collection
CU Periodicals Online Index
An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Journals are covered from their first issues (as early as 1790) to 1995. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.
CU ProQuest Dissertations & Theses : A&I | About this Resource
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries.
CU Social Sciences Citation Index : Web of Science
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references in the social sciences.
Coverage is from 1974 to the present.
CU WorldCat | About this Resource
WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association. The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 419,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
New Testament Abstracts
REF DEPT INDEX BS410 .N35
Old Testament Abstracts
REF DEPT INDEX BS410 .O42
Atlas of the Bible
REF DEPT STACKS BS620 .G752 1956
Cambridge Companion to the Bible
Complete concordance to the Bible, New King James Version
REF DEPT STACKS BS425 .C65 1983
New Interpreter's Bible : general articles & introduction, commentary, &
reflections for each book of the Bible, including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books in twelve volumes
REF DEPT STACKS BS491.2 .N484 1994
New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
REF DEPT STACKS BS425 .S8 1990
Oxford Bible Atlas
REF DEPT STACKS BS630 .O96 1984
Search by keyword or scripture references, in your choice of translation and language
Holy Bible, Douay-Rheims Bible (1914, John Murphy)
REF DEPT STACKS BS180 1914
King James Bible
New American Bible (1970, Catholic Biblical Association of America)
REF DEPT STACKS BS192.3 .A1 1971 .C483
Scofield Reference Bible, King James/Authorized Version (1945, Oxford Univ. Press)
REF DEPT STACKS BS185 1945 .N5
Dictionary of Contemporary Religion in the Western World
REF DEPT STACKS BL31 .D544 2002
Dictionary of Qur'anic Terms and Concepts
REF DEPT STACKS BP133 .M57 1987
HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion
REF DEPT STACKS BL31 .H37 1995
Historical dictionary of Buddhism
REF DEPT STACKS BQ130 .P74 1993
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
REF DEPT STACKS BM50 .O94 1997
Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
REF DEPT STACKS BL31 .O9 1997
Shambhala Dictionary of Buddhism and Zen
REF DEPT STACKS BQ130 .L492513 1991
REF DEPT STACKS DS102.8 .E496
Encyclopaedia of Buddhism
REF DEPT STACKS BL1403 .E5
Encyclopaedia of Islam CD-ROM ed.
REF DEPT CD-ROM DS35.53 .E54
Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism
REF DEPT STACKS BL238 .E63 2001
Encyclopedia of African-American Religions
REF DEPT STACKS BR563 .N4 E53 1993
Encyclopedia of Mormonism
REF DEPT STACKS BX8605.5 .E62 1992
Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements
BL98 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Encyclopedia of Protestantism
BX4811.3 .E54 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion
BL31 .E44 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature
BL31 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion and War
BL80.3 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience
REF DEPT STACKS BL2525 .E53 1988
New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land
REF DEPT STACKS DS111.A2 N488 1993
New 20th-Century Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge
REF DEPT STACKS BR95 .N395 1991
Religion: a Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
REF DEPT STACKS BL80.2 .L463 1996
Academic Information Religion Gateway
A website that provides links to other sites devoted to providing information on a number of world religions, religion of specific areas, religious concepts and issues, as well as other online religion gateways.
A collection of religious adherent statistics and religious geography citations
The American Religion Data Archive
An archive of material dealing with American religious denominations dealing with the general population, selected religious groups, religious professionals, and data files such church data and denominational reports. Geared toward dealing with contemporary issues among primarily contemporary American denominations.
Gateway site for Arabic Literature (classical through modern) sponsored by Cornell University Libraries.
Archive of Indological Resources Online
Webpage set up by Professor Gudrun Buhnemann that links to a plethora of websites involving India, including the topics of Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, and Sikhism.
Buddhist Studies (WWW Virtual Library)
Documents of The Council of Trent
Earlham School of Religion, Digital Quaker Collection
Full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Early Church On-Line Encyclopedia (Ecole Initiative)
East & Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources
This site provides links that cover a variety of topics, including religion, for the countries of these two regions.
An online encyclopedia that deals with the mythology, folklore, and legend of many religio-cultural groups including Egyptian, Greek, Chinese, Roman, Japanese, Islamic, and Hindu.
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies
A website that provides Bibliographical information on philosophical literature of the Classical period in India, as well as secondary scholarly works on the same topic.
Forum on Religion and Ecology
Guide to Christian Literature on the Internet
Guide to Early Church Documents
Internet Sacred Text Archive
A site that provides a plethora of online primary texts from many religious traditions.
Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic, and Religion
A website set up and run by Dr. Alan Godlas of the University of Georgia that introduces a wide variety of topics including the Qur’an, theology, history, philosophy, art, spirituality, and contemporary issues and controversies regarding the Islamic world.
Judaism and Jewish Resources
The Online Reference Books for Medieval Studies.
Rambi (Index to Articles on Jewish Studies)
A database of articles for topics within the Jewish tradition that includes those in the Hebrew, Yiddish and European languages.
A web gateway run by the University of Florida that links to a wide variety of websites that address numerous religious traditions, religious studies programs, religion and modernity, as well as reference sources.
A website through the University of Virginia devoted to giving summaries of religious groups, and links to websites dealing with the respective group. What distinguishes this site from others is its emphasis on New Religious Movements and groups that some may deep as cults. It also deals with general issues about cults and other contemporary religious issues.
Religious Studies Conferences Worldwide
Links to upcoming conferences and events.
Perhaps the preeminent South Asian resource site set up and run by Columbia University that includes links for online journals, news, books and images among other resources.
The Second Vatican Ecumenical Council
Sera Monastery Project
A database about various aspects of Tibetan monastic life.
Shaker Manuscripts Online
Links to various Shaker manuscripts.
Soka Gakkai International (SGI-USA)
American Buddhist association that promotes world peace and individual
happiness based on the teachings of the Nichiren school of Mahayana
Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center
A resource on Tibetan Buddhism that includes a browse section about famous people and places, as well as a search database for titles, persons, subjects, places and outlines.
UC-Berkeley Resources on South Asia
Provides links to web sites, electronic journals and newspapers, electronic texts, book dealers and publishers, and mailing and discussion lists categorized under the following country/area headings: South Asia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Virtual Religion Index
Set up and run by Rutgers University to provide links to homepages, directories, and documents pertaining to a number of different religious traditions and topics.
Voice of the Shuttle: Religious Studies
Part of the larger VoS humanities gateway from UCSB that provides links for information about major religions and religious topics.
Concordance of the Qur'an
REF DEPT STACKS BP133 .K37 1983
Dictionary of Qur'anic Terms and Concepts
REF DEPT STACKS BP133 .M57 1987
Glorious Qur'an: Translation and Commentary
REF DEPT STACKS BP109 .A5 1975
Directory of Departments & Programs of Religious Studies in N.A.
REF DEPT EDUDIR BL41 .D46
Directory of Religious Organizations in the United States
REF DEPT STACKS BL2530 .U6 M44 1993
Reference Works for Theological Research (3rd ed.)
REF DEPT STACKS Z7751 .K46 1992
Research Guide to Religious Studies
REF DEPT STACKS BL41 .W5 1982
The Analects by Confucius, a translation
Bhagavad Gita Translated by Sir Edwin Arnold
Bhagavad Gita Translated by Anand Aadhar Prabhu
Guru Granth Sahib Translation as well as some background information
Heart Sutra in Sanskrit, and the English translation by Edward Conze
Lotus Sutra A translation by Burton Watson
The Noble Qur’an
Ramayana R.T.H Griffith’s translation
Tao Te Ching A number of translations