UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for General Science

Brief Description: -----------


For more information, contact the Science Library

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles 

Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.

CU Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Coverage: varies by title.


CU Applied Science and Technology Index
Provides information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields. Coverage: 1983 - present.


CU BioOne
Full Text articles from selected scientific journals. Coverage: 2000 - present.


CU General Science Abstracts / Full Text
Index to general science literature from the U.S. and Europe. Contains some links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1984 - present.


CU Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Part of the Royal Society's Catalogue of Scientific Papers [CSP], 1800-1900, is now online as part of the Library's subscription to Paratext's 19th Century Masterfile. An important resource for both scientific and humanistic research, the files of the Catalogue of Scientific Papers now online via 19th Century Masterfile include more than 450,000 citations to all manner of scientific inquiry during the 19th Century--from Darwin to Freud. Index includes 1,555 periodicals in numerous languages and the transactions of the European academies and other learned societies. Two major installments of the Catalogue of Scientific Papers are now online for searching through 19th Century Masterfile: Installment 1: The three Subject indexes produced by the Royal Society covering Pure Mathematics (1908); Mechanics (1909); and a 2-volume set covering Physics (1914). Installment 2: Volumes 13-19 covering 1884-1900, containing more than 400,000 citations.


CU ScienceDirect
Contains full text articles from Elsevier published journals. Coverage: 1997 - present.


CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data.  Subject areas covered include agricultural and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management), engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, and sociology.


CU Web of Science
Formerly ISI Citation indexes. Coverage: 1970 - present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

CU Access Science - Encyclopedia for Science and Technology



A to Z of Women in Science and Math
Science Ref

American Women in Technology: an encyclopedia
Engineering Ref

The Cassell Dictionary of Science

Science Ref Q123 .H267 1999


A Dictionary of Science

Science Ref Q123 .C68 1999


Dictionary of Scientific Quotations



Encyclopedia Of Science and Technology

Science Ref Q121 .E53 2001


Encyclopedia of Women in Aviation and Space
Engineering Ref


The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Society

Science Ref Q121 .V65 1999


The Gale Encyclopedia of Science (juvenile literature)

Science Ref Q121 .G35 2001


International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists
Science Ref 


The Penguin Desk Encyclopedia of Science and Mathematics

Science Ref Q121 .B86 2000


Science & Technology Encyclopedia

Science Ref Q121 .S34 2000

Internet Links
These are selected sites providing access to research and information. Be sure to cite the information correctly when using it for assignments.

4000 Years of Women in Science


About herbs, botanicals & other products



American Association for the Advancement of Science



Constants and Equations Pages



The Encyclopedia of Life


Eric Weisstein's Treasure Trove of Science






Mad Scientist Network



MICROMEDEX drug index and healthcare series


The National Academy of Science



The National Science Foundation