UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for the History of Science

Brief Description: "A field of history which examines how humanity's understanding of science and technology has changed over the millennia, and how this understanding has allowed us to generate new technologies. This field of history also studies the cultural, economic , and political impacts of scientific innovation." (Word IQ)

 

For more information, contact the Science Library.

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles

Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.

CU Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Coverage: varies by journal title.

 

CU American History and Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

 

CU Bibliography of the History of Medicine
Science Ref HE20.3615:28

 

CU BioOne
Full text articles from selected scientific journals. Coverage: 2000 - present.

 

CU General Science Abstracts / Full Text
Index to general science literature from the U.S. and Europe. Contains some links to full text articles. Coverage: 1984 - present.

 

CU Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

 

CU Humanities Abstracts
Abstracts covering diverse subject areas of the humanities. Coverage: 1984 - present.

 

CU ISIS Cumulative Bibliography: A Bibliography of the History of Science Formed from ISIS Critical Bibliographies
Science Ref Z7405 H6 I2

 

CU Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Part of the Royal Society's Catalogue of Scientific Papers [CSP], 1800-1900, is now online as part of the Library's subscription to Paratext's 19th Century Masterfile. An important resource for both scientific and humanistic research, the files of the Catalogue of Scientific Papers now online via 19th Century Masterfile include more than 450,000 citations to all manner of scientific inquiry during the 19th Century--from Darwin to Freud. Index includes 1,555 periodicals in numerous languages and the transactions of the European academies and other learned societies. Two major installments of the Catalogue of Scientific Papers are now online for searching through 19th Century Masterfile: Installment 1: The three Subject indexes produced by the Royal Society covering Pure Mathematics (1908); Mechanics (1909); and a 2-volume set covering Physics (1914). Installment 2: Volumes 13-19 covering 1884-1900, containing more than 400,000 citations.

 

CU ScienceDirect
Contains full text articles from Elsevier published journals. Coverage: 1997 - present.

 

CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data. Subject areas covered include agricultural and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management), engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, and sociology.

 

CU Web of Science
Formerly ISI Citation indexes. Coverage: 1970 - present.

 

See also: History Subject Guide

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for the History of Science
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

A Catalog of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900, Compiled by the Royal Society of London

Science Ref Z7403 R88

A Chronology of the History of Science, 1450-1900

Science Ref Q125 .G39 1987

 

A Dictionary of the History of Science

Science Ref Q124.8 .S43 2001

 

Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology

Science Ref Q175.35 .B37 2002

 

Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-western Cultures

Science Ref Q124.8 .E53 1997

 

Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science

Science Ref Q127.A5 E53 1996

 

Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: from Copernicus to Newton

Science Ref Q124.8 .E53 1997

 

Great Events from History II. Science and Technology

Science Ref Q125 .G825 1991

 

Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia

Science Ref Q184.5 .I57 1998

 

Notable Scientists: from 1900 to the Present

Science Ref Q141 .N728 2001

 

Reader's Guide To The History Of Science

Science Ref Q125 .R43 2000

 

Science and Its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery

Science Ref Q175.46 .S35 2000

 

The Scientific Revolution: An Encyclopedia

Science Ref Q127.E8 B87 2001

Internet Links for the History of Science
These are selected sites providing access to research and information. Be sure to cite the information correctly when using it for assignments.

AAAS: History and Archives
http://archives.aaas.org/resources/

 

Academy of Natural Sciences-Library-Digital Collections
http://www.ansp.org/library/collections/index.html

 

British Society for the History of Science

http://www.bshs.org.uk/

 

The Complete Work of Charles Darwin
http://darwin-online.org.uk/

 

Einstein Archives Online

http://www.bshs.org.uk/

 

History of Science Society

http://www.hssonline.org/

 

History of Women in Science

http://www.astr.ua.edu/4000WS/

 

Institute and Museum of the History of Science

http://galileo.imss.firenze.it/

 

Internet History of Science Sourcebook

http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/science/sciencesbook.html

 

MedHist: the Guide to History of Medicine Resources on the Internet

http://www.medhist.ac.uk/

 

Women in Science Archives
http://www.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/wise/wise.html

Internet Links to Libraries with Primary Source Materials
These are selected libraries and collections in the Denver/Boulder area that have primary source materials available for research. Be sure to contact them before going to use the collection. A contact person has been listed.

 

Carnegie Boulder
Denison: Waring Room
  • Waring Room, Denison Memorial Library, University of Colorado Health Sciences, Denver.
  • Contact: Pat Nelson, Librarian or Emily Epstein, Cataloger
  • 303-315-7460
  • http://denison.uchsc.edu/waringroom.html
Leaf
Hebrew School
  • Center for Judaic Studies, Penrose Library Special Collections, University of Denver, Denver.
  • Contact: Jeanne Abrams, Director or Pat Larsen, Assistant
  • 303-871-3020
  • http://www.du.edu/cjs/