UCB Libraries

 

Subject Guide for Sociology

Finding Articles on a Topic


Looking to find an article on a sociological topic? Use one of the databases below to search for an article to suit your research needs. Also, get some hints for finding the full text of articles.

 

Sociological Article Databases

General | Child, Family and Social Services | Deviance and Criminology

Environmental Sociology | Population and Health | Race and Ethnicity | Sex and Gender

Reference Resources | Statistical Resources

 

The "General" category lists databases that are used for researching a wide variety of sociological topics. The following categories include lists of databases that are used for researching a particular area of concentration of sociology (i.e. "Deviance and Criminology" or "Sex and Gender").

 

 

General Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and full-text from periodicals - includes addiction studies, criminology, family studies, gerontology, minority studies, policy sciences, social work, and urban studies.

 

Web of Science

Includes access to current and retrospective bibliographic information from nearly 9,300 leading scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

 

Sage Journals Online

Includes the full-text of many social science journals, some journals going back 24 years. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records as well as the complete text of each article.

 

FRANCIS

A multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences. The database contains more than 1 million records, with abstracts in French or English, and descriptors in both languages, and includes coverage of journals, books, conference papers and other documents.

 

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

Includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material and it incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles.

 

[Back to Top]

 

Child, Family and Social Services Article Databases

Social Services Abstracts

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

 

Family & Society Studies Worldwide

Resource focused on family and gender related topics.

 

PAIS International

Database covering global public policy and social issues including health, finance, education, technology, and the environment for the U.S. and abroad. Covers periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.

 

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

[Back to Top]

 

Deviance and Criminology Article Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Provides coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines (topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing), extensive coverage of books, and access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.

 

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index

Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Includes abstract and indexing for over 230 titles, with more than 75 available in full-text. Topics include; criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

 

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database

Contains summaries of the criminal justice publications housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library collection. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.

 

Sage Journals Online

Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.

 

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

[Back to Top]

Environmental Sociology Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Abstracts and citations from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications on the environmental sciences.

 

Historical Abstracts

Provides indexing and abstracting for citations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database.

 

[Back to Top]

Population and Health Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

PUBMED

Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

 

PAIS International

Database covering global public policy and social issues including health, finance, education, technology, and the environment for the U.S. and abroad. Covers periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.

 

American Factfinder

U.S. Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

 

[Back to Top]

Race and Ethnicity Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

Left Index

Guide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

 

Ethnic Newswatch

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.

 

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography

Full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.

 

Oxford African American Studies Center

Includes over 5000 biographies, selected primary documents, encyclopedic entries on African American topics (arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences).

 

Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community. Search by name, keyword, historical event, year, author, personal event, question or source.


HLAS online: Handbook of Latin American Studies

Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. The multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

 

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index

Includes over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

 

Chicano Database

Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics. Records added since 1992 have expanded to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.


Bibliography of Asian Studies

BAS contains 640,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Users can browse by country-subject, or by journal title.

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Indexes works published from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and other publications.

 

[Back to Top]

 

Sex and Gender Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

Women's Studies International

Database includes the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

 

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000

Database serves as reference for U.S. history and the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes 74 document projects that interpret and present documents, more than 29,000 pages of documents pertaining to women and social movements, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and teaching tools.

 

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Searchable digital collection covering advice literature to women, 1450 to 1910. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals.

 

Everyday Life and Women in America

This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the everyday lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920, offering material for the study of families and home life in the South and North. It covers topics such as religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, gossip, travel, entertainment, and popular pastimes by providing fully searchable access to periodicals, pamphlets, books, and prescriptive literature and manuals for domestic management, all complemented by contextual essays by leading scholars.

 

Alternative Press Index (1990 - present)

Citations for API are drawn from roughly 250 alternative, radical, and left publications, that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Indexed articles include regular columns, editorials, fiction, interviews, bibliographies, biographies, and reviews.

 

Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990)

Citations for API are drawn from roughly 250 alternative, radical, and left publications, that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Indexed articles include regular columns, editorials, fiction, interviews, bibliographies, biographies, and reviews.

 

[Back to Top]

Reference Resources

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online

Includes specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics.

 

Annual Reviews

Provides online access to peer-reviewed articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries.

 

WorldCat

WorldCat is a worldwide library catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. Use WorldCat to search for and request items that are not owned by CU.

 

[Back to Top]

Statistical Resources

Statistical Insight

Index w/ detailed descriptions of 100,000+ U. S. federal and state government and private statistical publications. Includes full text of many publications.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.

 

Social Explorer

Visually displays the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, including neighborhoods, counties, and states. Includes data on the age, gender, sex, race, ethnic origin, education, employment, occupations and housing of the U. S. population. It also provide access to data on the number of congregations and adherents by religion for 1980, 1990, and 2000.

 

Current Index to Statistics

The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. Includes selected articles with statistical content since 1975 from about 1200 journals, and about 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975.

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor.

 

American Factfinder

U.S. Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

 

ICPSR

Provides access to data sets on various social and political issues.

 

[Back to Top]

 

Need Help Finding the Full Text of an Article?

Many of these databases include the full text of articles; others may give you just the bibliographic information (author, title, journal name, year published) and/or the abstract (short summary) of the article. If full-text is not included for the article you'd like to read, look for the "Find it @ CU" link, which will either link you to the full text of that article in another database or tell you where you can find a print copy of the article within the CU Libraries.