UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Sociology

Sociology 1016, Instructor: Lineberger

 

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

 

Popular

Scholarly

•  Written by journalists, not experts

•  Can include glossy photos/paper

•  Usually includes advertisements

•  Intended for a general audience

•  Written by scholars (credentials are listed)

•  Includes works cited

•  Journal is peer-reviewed

•  Intended for an academic audience

 

 

Concepts and Terms

 

When starting research on a particular topic, you want to first identify the main concepts of your research question.

Question: What research has been done on transvestism and sexual orientation ?

Concepts: Transvestism, Sexual Orientation

Once you've identified the concepts, think of other terms that describe the same concept. You can also think of broader and narrower terms that describe the concepts.

 

Transvestism

Sexual Orientation

•  Transvestite

•  Transvestism

•  Cross Dressing

•  Cross Dresser

•  Sexual Preference

•  Sexual Orientation

•  Homosexual

•  Heterosexual

 

You can use a thesaurus to help you find other terms for your topic. It is important to think about the level of the material you are looking for popular and scholarly sources may use different language to describe the same concept.

 

 

Keyword Searching

 

Once you have your terms that you want to use, you need to construct your search. You can group your terms using operators (like in the example below):

 

Operators : AND, OR, NOT

Example 1: transvestism AND orientation (must find both terms)

Example 2: transvestism OR orientation (must find one of the terms)

Example 3: transvestism NOT orientation (must find first term and NOT second term)

 

Punctuation :

Phrases: sexual orientation (must find that phrase in that order)

Synonyms: (transvesti* OR cross dressing) AND orientation

Wildcards: transvesti* will find transvestite, transvestites, transvestism, etc.

 

 

How to Find Articles

 

Find Articles & More - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/

The library's article databases are listed alphabetically or by subject.

(Subject examples: Sociology, Women's Studies, etc.)

 

Subject Guides - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/subjectguides/

Librarians have compiled subject guides of the important resources (print, Internet and database) for many disciplines, including Sociology and Women's Studies.

 

E-Journal Finder - http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/ejournalfinder.htm

Search the E-Journal Finder for databases that provide a specific journal's content.

 

Recommended Resources

 

Sociological Abstracts

URL: http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/alpha-s.htm

About: This database indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, providing abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers drawn from over 1,809 serials.

 

Searching Tips: You can limit your results by date of publication. Once you have the results of your search, click on the Peer-Reviewed Journals tab to see only articles published in scholarly journals. You can also use the descriptors links included with each article to find similar articles.

 

Academic Search Premier

URL: http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/findarticles/alpha-a.htm

About: Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

 

Searching Tips: You can limit your results to full text only, by date of publication, or by specific title. You can limit your results to only scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. You can email the articles or print the full text or PDF, where available.

Sociology Subject Guide

URL: http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/research/subjectguides/sociology/index.htm

This is a collection of the important resources (print, Internet and database) for Sociology, including a page created for this particular class.

 

Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus

The easiest method of accessing library databases from off campus is through the use of the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Current CU-Boulder students, staff, and faculty need to install the VPN software on their computer and login to the VPN using their IdentiKey account.

 

Complete instructions on downloading and using the VPN software can be found at the ITS VPN Information Page: http://www.colorado.edu/its/vpn/ . For questions (and answers) about using the VPN, please call the ITS Help Desk at (303) 735-HELP.