UCB Libraries

 

Subject Guide for Spanish Language & Literature

 

  • Getting Started
  • Literature
  • Lang/Ling
  • Business/Politics/News
  • Film/Art/History
How do I?

¡Bienvenidos a la biblioteca!

Aquí vas a poder encontrar recursos para tus ensayos o deberes. ¡Si necesitas ayuda o tienes una pregunta, no dudes contactarme!

 

This is a guide of librarian-selected materials that will assist you with your research and reporting. Use the tabs above to locate research resources. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if you wish to set up an appointment for research help.

 

Course Guides: SP3000 | SP3050 | SP3150 | SP4150

Research Guides: Catalan | Portuguese | Latin America

 

+ Focussing a topic

Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:

  • Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
  • List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
  • Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
  • Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
  • Choose a specific time period.

Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.

+ Finding Background Information

Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:

Literature of Latin America CU

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 1

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 2  

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 3  

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 4  

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. CU

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture CU

 

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003. (2004)
PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 (Ojo! Location = Norlin Stacks)

 

Diccionario Espasa literatura española. 2003
REF PQ6051 .B74 2003

 

The feminist encyclopedia of Spanish literature 2002 (2 volumes)
REF PQ6055 .F46 2002

 

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. 2000
REF PQ7081 .A1 E56

 

Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. 1995 (3 volumes)
REF PQ7081 .D515 1995

 

Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. 1993 (2 volumes)
REF PQ6006 .D6

 

Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula. 1993 (2 volumes)
REF PN8495 .S6D54

 

Latino and Latina Writers. 2004 (2 volumes)
REF PS153.H56 L39 2004

 

Latin American Mystery Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
REF PQ7082.N7 L352 2004

 

Latin American Science Fiction Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
REF PQ7082.S34 L38 2004

 

Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos. 2001
REF PQ7081.3 .A37 2001

 

African, Caribbean, and Latin-American writers. 2000
PL8010 .A33 2000

 

Latin American Writers. 1989. (3 volumes)
REF PQ7081 .A1 L37

 

Diccionario de autores: quién es quién en las letras españolas. 1988
Z2693.3 .D53

+ Finding Keywords

Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.

 

Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.

 

First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:

Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of feminism in Spanish literature

Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:

 

Representation Feminism Spanish literature

 

Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distinctions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.

 

It's important to think of alternate words to describe your topic; either synonyms, or broader and narrower terms. This will ensure that you can find a wide range of results.

 

Everyday Example

 

Synonyms: NFL, American football, Friday Night Lights

 

Narrower Terms: Quarterback, Denver Broncos

 

Broader Terms: College Sports, Team sports, Ball game

 

Research Paper Example

 

Concept 1:

portrayal

illustration

account

embodiment

Concept 2:

rights of women

women's suffrage

gender studies

female emancipation

Concept 3:

Poetry/Drama

Fiction/Novel

European Language

Romance Language

 

 

How do I?

 

Find books and articles on Spanish literature, (including authors, novels and poetry) as well as film and theater.

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

+ Author Resources

Books

To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.

 

To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:

Use and Adapt these Subject Keywords
Biography (eg Unamuno Miguel De 1864 1936 Biography)
Authors Colombian
Authors Spanish 19th Century Biography

Articles 

To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:

CU Biography and genealogy master index

CU Contemporary authors

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

CU Dictionary of literary biography

CU Oxford reference online : premium collection

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 1

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 2  

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 3  

CU Contemporary hispanic biography. Volume 4  

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

Also see:

Latino and Latina Writers. 2004 (2 volumes)
PS153.H56 L39 2004

 

Latin American Mystery Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.N7 L352 2004

 

Latin American Science Fiction Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.S34 L38 2004

 

Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos. 2001
PQ7081.3 .A37 2001

 

African, Caribbean, and Latin-American writers. 2000
PL8010 .A33 2000

 

Latin American Writers. 1989. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 L37

 

Diccionario de autores: quién es quién en las letras españolas. 1988
Z2693.3 .D53

 

Also see: Del.icio.us: Writers Literature Digital_text Biographical material

 

+ Novel Resources

Books

To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Lope de Vega AND Fuenteovejuna

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and Adapt these Subject Keywords
Spanish Literature History And Criticism
Spanish Literature Women Authors
Portuguese Literature 20th Century History And Criticism

 

Articles 

To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.

 

Start Here: MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CUContemporary literary criticism

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU JSTOR (or mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 
+ Poetry Resources

Books

Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.

 

Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found

eg Rimas y Leyendas

to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings

 

Use and Adapt these Subject Keywords
Catalan Poetry 20th Century
Portuguese Poetry History And Criticism
Epic Poetry Spanish

 

Articles 

To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.

 

Start Here: MLA international bibliography

 

Also:

CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU JSTOR (or mobile)

CU Literature Online

CU Project Muse

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

Web Resources

Collections / anthologies

Critical theory

Poetry

Spanish literature

Textual criticism

 

+ Theater Resources

Books

To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.

 

To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Use and adapt these subject keywords
Feminist Theater
Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre)
Theater Latin America

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU International Index to the Performing Arts

CU JSTOR (or mobile)

CU MLA international bibliography

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide

 

Web Resources

Critical theory

Drama

Spanish literature

Textual criticism

+ Film Resources

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:

 

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU MLA international bibliography

CU Film and Television Index

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

+ Newspapers and Reviews

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
País  (1134-6582)

Pais
from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic
País - All Editions (Spanish Language)
from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva

Current Newspapers

CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.

 

CU Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.  Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.  More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.

 

CU Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Individual Papers:

 

Vanguardia Hemeroteca

A digital archive of La Vanguardia newspaper from 1881 to present

 

Multiple Papers:

 

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica

Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.

 

Hemeroteca Digital

A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes: El Correo mercantil de España y sus Indias, 1792-1808, Diario de Madrid, 1788-1825, El Español: diario de las doctrinas y de los intereses sociales, 1835-1848, El Imparcial, 1867-1936, La Época, 1849-1936, El Globo, 1875-1932

 

CU Latin American Newspapers

Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

+ Literary Theory Resources

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]

 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005

 

Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001

 

The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001

 

Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001

 

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000

 

The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997

 

Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory PE1479.C7 L96 1994

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Caribbean literature. 2006 (2 volumes)
PN849.C3 E53 2006

 

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003. (2004)
PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 (Ojo! Location = Norlin Stacks)

 

Diccionario Espasa literatura española. 2003
PQ6051 .B74 2003

 

The feminist encyclopedia of Spanish literature 2002 (2 volumes)
PQ6055 .F46 2002

 

Diccionario de la lengua española. 2001 (2 volumes.)
PC4625 .A3

 

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. 2000
PQ7081 .A1 E56

 

Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary. 2004

(Online) CU

 

Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. 1995 (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .D515 1995

 

Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. 1993 (2 volumes)
PQ6006 .D6

 

Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula. 1993 (2 volumes)
PN8495 .S6D54

Bibliographies

Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 1997
Z2695 .A2 W66

 

Contemporary Spanish Novel: An Annotated Critical Bibliography: 1936-1994. 1996
Z2694 .F4 A64

 

A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. 1995
Z2695 .A2 B55

 

Writers of the Caribbean and Central America : A Bibliography. 1992 (2 volumes)
Z1595 .F46

History and Criticism

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. Spanish. 2006 (2 vols.)
Historia de la literatura hispanoamericana / Roberto González Echevarría y Enrique Pupo-Walker, eds.
PQ7081.A1 C3517 2006

 

Literary cultures of Latin America : a comparative history. 2004. (3 volumes) PQ7081.A1 L525 2004

 

Twayne companion to contemporary world literature (2 vols)
PN771 .T93 2003

 

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 1996. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 C35

 

Hispanic Literature Criticism. 1994. (2 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 H573

 

Historia y crítica de la literatura española. 1980-1992. (9 volumes)
PQ6032 .H57

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Web Resources

Critical theory

Spanish literature

Textual criticism

 

+ Browsing the Collection

The following subclasses of the Library of Congress Classification Outline allow more precise browsing of the library's collection of the languages and literatures of Iberia and Latin America.

PC Romanic Languages

Catalan Literature, PC3900-3976

Spanish Philology, PC4001-4071

Spanish Language, PC4073--4977

PQ Spanish Literature, PQ6001-8929

 

PQ 7081-8560 Literature of Spanish America

Mexico, PQ7100-

 

West Indies, PQ7361-

Cuba, PQ7370-

Dominican Republic, PQ7400-

Jamaica, PQ7410

Puerto Rico, PQ7420-

Other islands, PQ7450-

Central America, PQ7471-

Costa Rica, PQ7480-

Guatemala, PQ7490-

Honduras, PQ7500-

Nicaragua, PQ7510-

Panama, PQ7520-

El Salvador, PQ7530-

South America, PQ7551-

Argentina, PQ7660-

Bolivia, PQ7880-

Brazil (Spanish language literature in), PQ7880-

Chile, PQ7990-

Colombia, PQ8160-

Ecuador, PQ8200-

Guiana, PQ8230-

Paraguay, PQ8250-

Peru, PQ8300-

Uruguay, PQ8510-

Venezuela, PQ8530-

 
+ Theses and Dissertations


From CU

 

Online PDFs: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation (1997-present)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses CU
The full text of dissertations produced at any campus of the University of Colorado system from 1997 to the present are available here as free PDF downloads. To initiate the free download, click on the "Full Text - PDF" link that appears underneath the citation and abstract information of the dissertation you'd like to see.

Print copies: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation using the Chinook Library Catalog

 

  • The catalog treats theses and dissertations like books. Search by author, title, or keyword.
  • In Chinook, the term THESIS denotes both Masters' theses and dissertations.
  • The call number for CU Boulder theses and dissertations begin with the letter "T," followed by the year of the thesis and then a code matching the author's last name.

 

From Other Institutions

 

Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools

 

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
    Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries. CU
  • ABI/Inform Global
    This database contains the full-text of over 10,000 dissertations in business and management. Under "publication type," select "dissertations." CU
  • WorldCat
    Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Limit results by "subtype limits: any content" to "thesis/dissertation." CU

Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools

 

  • CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through the above resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.


Dissertations and Theses from Other Countries

 

Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries

 

 

Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries

 

  • CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through these resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.

Spain

 

 
+ Microform

Reader/Printers for microforms are available in the Libraries.

 

Equipment includes:

  • Microcard reader/printers
  • Microfilm/fiche reader/printers
  • Microfim/fiche/card digitals scanners (Research Services only)
    scan & email or save to flash drive or SD card

Cost to make a copy:

  • 25¢ / page: cash (coin or up to $10 bills), change dispensed
  • 25¢ / page: Copy Cards

Copy Cards:

  • Cards may be purchased from a Copy Card Vending Station (a.k.a Jamex Card Dispenser & Re-Value Station) using a $1.00 bill; there will be no value on the card.
  • Money may be added to the Copy Card in increments of $1.00, $5.00, $10.00 or $20.00 up to a total of $25.00.
  • Colorful new bills may not work in these machines.

Copy Card Vending Station locations:

  • Norlin: Research & Instruction
  • Norlin: Science Library
  • Map Library

Refunds for failed copy jobs:

  • InkSpot Copy Center, 303-492-7878
    UMC 130C, Mon-Fri 7:30am-4:30pm

Maintenance, repair and technical assistance for Norlin Library's microform scanning equipment:

  • Call Michael Riberdy (Libraries Information Technology), 303-492-2816.
Norlin Library Beyond Norlin

2nd floor

  • Research Center

3rd floor

  • Government Information
  • Business Library
  • Engineering Library
  • Music Library

 

Studying Spanish linguistics? Or just need to brush up on grammar or writing?

Try the following sources and tools to help:

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

 

Linguistics Research

 

+ Articles

 

Articles

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA)

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.CU

 

Linguistics abstracts online

More than 30,000 abstracts from nearly 400 linguistics journals published since 1985.CU

 

Bibliographie linguistique online

Provides bibliographical references to scholarly publications on all branches of linguistics and all the languages of the world, irrespective of language or place of publication. CU

 

MLA international bibliography

The major index published by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, drama/theatre, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. CU

 

Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL).

One of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics.

 

Reference Tools

 

+ Dictionaries
English-Spanish Spanish-Spanish Other

English-Spanish

CU Oxford language dictionaries online

CU The Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish)
CU The Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English)

 

Collins Lexibase

English<>Spanish Dictionary (Granada University, Spain)

Merriam-Webster's Spanish-English Dictionary

 

Collins Spanish dictionary = Collins diccionario inglés
PC4640 .S595 2003

The Oxford Spanish dictionary
PC4640 .O94 2003

The University of Chicago Spanish dictionary
PC4640 .U5 2002

Spanish-Spanish

Diccionario de la lengua española. (RAE)

Diccionarios en línea para hispanohablantes

 

Diccionario De Uso Del Español / María Moliner
PC4625 .M6 2007

Tesoro De La Lengua Castellana O Española
PC4620 .C7 2006

Diccionario Panhispánico De Dudas
PC4460 .D53 2005

English-Portuguese

Collins Lexibase

Other

The Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary

 

Spanish Language Dictionaries in Chinook

 

 

Catalan Dictionaries

Galician Dictionaries

Guarani Dictionaries

Maya Dictionaries

Mixtec Dictionaries

Nahuatl Dictionaries

Quechua Dictionaries

+ Thesauri

Online Thesaurus

Parasaurus Rex

Print Thesaurus

Using Spanish Synonyms

PC4591 .B38 2006

Gran Diccionario De Sinónimos Y Antónimos

PC4591 .G67 1987

Diccionario de sinónimos explicados : matización, aclaración, antónimos y frases

PC4591 .A56 1984

Ensayo de un diccionario español de sinónimos y antónimos
PC4591 .S25 1967

 

+ Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

A Guide to Countries of the World [CU]
World Encyclopedia [CU]

Print Encyclopedias

El Pequeño Larousse Ilustrado 2003

AG61 .P48 2003

Enciclopedia Hispánica
AE61 .E52 1992

Enciclopedia Universal
AE61 .E51 1990

 

 

Try the following sections to find language learning resources:

 

+ Grammar

Spanish

The Grammar Survival Kit (Spanish)

Real Academia Española

Spanish Grammar

 

Gramática Didáctica Del Español

PC4112 .G636 2007

Using Spanish : A Guide To Contemporary Usage

PC4129.E5 B32 2005

The Oxford Spanish Dictionary And Grammar

PC4640 .L45 2001

A New Reference Grammar Of Modern Spanish

PC4112 .B88 2000

 

+ Listening

Spoken

BBC Mundo

BBCBrasil.com

BBC Spanish

Banco de Imágenes y Sonidos

iTunes

Radio Nederland

RTVE

Spanish NewsBites

 

Spanish sound recordings in the library

Spanish videorecordings in Chinook

How do I find DVDs

Video

Casa de America

Audiovisual resources are available via Casa de America Virtual, including lectures by film directors, symposia, and conferences.

Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino. Archivo Audiovisual

Documentaries and animated films focusing on Pre-Columbian cultures.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes. Videoteca

Literary topics such as interviews, poetic readings, and theatrical representations.

Cinemateca Virtual de Chile

Short films, feature films, television programs.

Internet Archive

Extensive online archive that provides open access to a vast variety of materials in digital form including a Moving Image Archive. Of special interest is its Open Source Movies Collection.

Cinevivo

Argentine portal devoted to independent films.

Videoteca Contracorriente

Interviews with worldwide figures from the political left.

Spanish American War: Motion Pictures

 

Latin American and Spanish Video on the Internet:
a Guide to Web Resources

With thanks to Jesús Alonso Regalado.

 

LANIC- Video

 

Internet Archive

Moving Image Archive

Open Source Movies Collection.

Spanish videorecordings in Chinook

How do I find DVDs

 

Television

Broadcast-Español

LANIC- Television

Spanish TV Online

Radio

Broadcast-Español

LANIC-Radio

Pandora (40 free hours a month)

Radio Bilingüe

Spanish Language Online Radios

Zona Latina Listings of Radio Stations in Latin America

Music

Classical music library CU

The Classical Music Library contains over 50,000 tracks of streaming audio.

 

Naxos music library CU

This database contains over 200,000 music tracks in streaming audio and includes folk music, some world music, and jazz.

 

Naxos music library jazz CU

This database of streaming audio offers over 20,000 tracks from over 1,900 albums. The scope of the database covers American and European artists and labels in jazz, blues and R&B.

 
+ Speaking

Diction For Undergraduates : A Two Semester Course In English, Italian, Spanish, German, And French

2003 M412

Pronunciación Del Español : Lengua Hablada Y Literaria

PC4137 .C26 1987

Forvo- Pronounciation

 

+ Verbs

Online Verb Conjugation Trainer

Vocabulary training (Spanish)

ConVer: Conjugação Verbal Portuguesa

 

Collins Spanish verbs

PC4271 .C64 2005

Spanish verbs made simple(r)

PC4271 .B76 2005

Webster's New World 575+ Spanish verbs

PC4271 .P57 2004

Spanish verbs

PC4271 .B88 1997

 

 

+ Writing

Writing Guide: Sweet Briar College {Spanish}

Ortografía

 

Ortografía De La Lengua Española

PC4143 .A5 1999

 

 

Researching Latin American businesses, Zapatero, the San Fermines or education opportunities in Peru? Try the following sources to find sources from Spanish and Latin American countries.

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

 

Business

 

+ Reports

Doing Business (World Bank)

Measures of business regulations and their enforcement in 183 countries.

 

CU World Bank e-Library

Reports, books and documents about countries worldwide.

 

Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) IN SPANISH

Alianzas Públicas-Privadas, Crecimiento Ecónomico, Finanzas, Pequeña y Mediana Empresa, Sector privado.

 

Felipe Herrera Library: Finanzas, Integración y Comercio, Macroeconomía, Sector Privado

 

UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (CEPAL/ECLAC)

IN SPANISH

Publications

+ Research Articles

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

Articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

 

CU ABI/INFORM Complete

Scholarly journal articles in business, marketing and management.

 

CU Business source complete (or mobile)

Marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

 

CU EconLit

From the American Economic Association

 

CU JSTOR business

Accounting, labor relations, marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment.

 

Politics and Development

 

+ Research Articles

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

Articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

 

CU International Political Science Abstracts (or mobile)

Political science articles

 

CU PAIS International

Publications on global policy and social issues.

 

CU CIAO

Papers from university research institutes etc

 

CU Education Full Text (or mobile)

Articles about education

 

CU ERIC

Articles about education

 

News and Current Affairs

 

+ Newspapers

Specific Newspaper

To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
País  (1134-6582)

Pais
from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic
País - All Editions (Spanish Language)
from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva

Current Newspapers

El Pais

Online version of the major Spanish daily newspaper. Provides complete full-text access to the current issue as well as the Hemeroteca, the complete, searchable archive of the publication.CU

 

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. CU

 

Factiva

Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.

Coverage includes: Spanish and Portuguese material from Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America. CU

 

LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Spanish or Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News" as a news category and then "Spanish Language News" as a news source. CU

 

ProQuest newspapers

Some Spanish and Portuguese language material. (mostly major titles) CU

 

Alternative Press Index
Some Spanish and Portuguese language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines) CU

 

Newseum: Front pages from round the world

 

LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)

News

Magazines

Academic Journals

Historical Newspapers

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences

 

Individual Papers:

 

Vanguardia Hemeroteca

A digital archive of La Vanguardia newspaper from 1881 to present

 

Multiple Papers:

 

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica

Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.

 

Hemeroteca Digital

A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes: El Correo mercantil de España y sus Indias, 1792-1808, Diario de Madrid, 1788-1825, El Español: diario de las doctrinas y de los intereses sociales, 1835-1848, El Imparcial, 1867-1936, La Época, 1849-1936, El Globo, 1875-1932

 

CU Latin American Newspapers

Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.

 
+ Magazine Articles

To find digital access to magazines, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

E.g.
Noticias Financieras (Spanish Language)

from 10/28/2002 to present in Factiva

 

+ Breaking News

Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Spanish and Portuguese news.

 

 

BBC Mundo (also includes video, audio)

EuroNews

Google Noticias (Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Spain, USA Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Venezuela)

Independent Media

Onlinenewspapers.com

Prensa Escrita

Today's Front Pages

World Newspapers

Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers

 

+ Radio

Broadcast-Español

LANIC-Radio

Pandora (40 free hours a month)

Radio Bilingüe

Spanish Language Online Radios

Zona Latina Listings of Radio Stations in Latin America

 

 

+ Blogs etc

 

 

How do I?

Find books and articles on history, art and film; for further topics, see the Subject Guide database

 

To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.

 

To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.

 

 

+ Film

Books

To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.

 

To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

 

Articles

To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:


CU MLA international bibliography

CU Film and Television Index

CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index

CU LexisNexis Academic

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

Also see Film Studies Subject Guide

+ Art

Books

To find books about art topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook

 

Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.

 

Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.

 

To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:

 

Articles

 

To find critical journal articles about an art topic, try the following databases:

CU Art Full Text (or mobile)

CU ARTbibliographies Modern

CU Oxford Art Online

CU Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

To find newspaper reviews about art, try the following databases:

CU Academic Search Premier

CU NY Times

CU Thompson Gale Databases

Also see: Research Guide for Art and Art History

 

+ History

Guide to Finding Primary Sources

Spanish Primary Sources

 

Secondary Sources

 

General

ABC-Clio eBook Collection CU

The ABC-Clio eBook Collection includes the online full text of hundreds of reference books on many subjects, including U.S. and world history, politics, government, society, education, religion, folklore, mythology, science, environment and geography.

 

Academic search premier CU

This scholarly multi-disciplinary database contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index CU

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

 

Historical abstracts CU (or mobile)

Provides indexing and abstracting for citations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States).

 

Humanities full text CU (or mobile)

Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.

 

JSTOR CU (or mobile)

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

 

Periodicals archive online CU

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

 

Periodicals index online (ProQuest) CU

Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations from over 4,500 periodicals in published in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years

 

Poole's index to periodical literature CU

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals.

 

Royal Historical Society bibliography CU

Bibliography of publications relating to the history of the British Isles, and of the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available from 55 BC to the present.

 

Women's studies international CU (or mobile)

Database includes the latest scholarship in feminist research, including Women Studies Abstracts.

Spanish

Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index CU

Articles from scholarly journals and journals of academic interest about Latin and Hispanic America with links to full text where available.

 

HLAS online: Handbook of Latin American studies CU

Article and book citations about Latin America in the Humanities and Social Sciences.