UCB Libraries

Find what you need at the library

Subject Guide for Spanish & Portuguese Language and Literature

Article Databases for Spanish & Portuguese

 

Although some databases contain links to full-text articles, whenever you find only abstracts or citations, try the following search strategies:

Chinook: Search Chinook to see if a periodical title is available in print or online in a different database.

ILLiad: Use Interlibrary Loan if the journal is not available at CU in print or online.

CU = Available to campus IP addresses.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

- - - - -

 

MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offer citations and contains some full text of articles in literature, languages, and folklore from several thousand journals and series. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1926 - present. CU

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Provides abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC.
Coverage: 1973 - present. CU

 

- - - - -

 

Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science
This multidisciplinary index covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Coverage : 1975 to the present. CU

 

Chicano Database
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and, since 1992, materials on Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.Coverage: 1960 - present. Updated quarterly. CU

 

ClasePeriodica
This index of Latin American journals covers the humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Produced by the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM), it contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Coverage: 1975 - present. CU

 

Fuente Academica
A collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for more than 150 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide. CU

 

HAPI Online

Hispanic American Periodical Index
HAPI offers authoritative information about Latin America, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the US. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970 - present. CU

 

HLAS Online
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, it alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Coverage: 1936 - present. CU

 

Humanities Abstracts/Full Text
A bibliographic database that delivers the same indexing and abstracts offered in Humanities Abstracts and Humanities Index , and also adds links to selected full text articles. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
Coverage: Abstracts from 1985 to the present; full text from 1995 to the present. CU

 

Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas - populares y académicas - con textos completos. Abarca cultura, literatura, negocios, salud, tecnología, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Coverage varies. CU

 

LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
(Association of Research Libraries)
LAPTOC is a searchable database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.

 

Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. CU

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - A&I
The Dissertation Abstracts database is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Some 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses to the database each year. CU

 

Sur Database
One of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America between 1931-1992. This full-text online edition includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements and provides a comprehensive searchable index of 6,300 entries, which corrects mistakes and inconsistencies found in the index published in the magazine. Users can search by author, title, genre, and keywords in the text itself.

Coverage: 1931-1992. CU

 

Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro

This full-text database contains the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain. It contains more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto etc.

 

La base de datos de texto completo Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro presenta el conjunto de las obras dramáticas fundamentales de los siglos XVI y XVII, en ediciones preferentemente recopiladas por sus autores o bajo su dirección. Contiene más de 800 piezas escritas por dieciséis dramaturgos, como por ejemplo, Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín de Moreto, etc. CU

 

WorldCat
WorldCat contains millions of records representing the holdings of several thousand libraries. Includes bibliographic records for books, dissertations, journals, audio-visual materials and manuscripts. This database does not include individual articles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers or book chapters. Updated daily. CU