UCB Libraries

Find what you need at the library

Subject Guide for Spanish & Portuguese Language and Literature

Electronic Texts

 

The following sites provide full-text literary works, as well as secondary materials such as corpus, criticism, biographical information, glossaries, and more.

 

Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro

This full-text database contains the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain. It contains more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto etc. La base de datos de texto completo Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro presenta el conjunto de las obras dramáticas fundamentales de los siglos XVI y XVII, en ediciones preferentemente recopiladas por sus autores o bajo su dirección. Contiene más de 800 piezas escritas por dieciséis dramaturgos, como por ejemplo, Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín de Moreto, etc. CU

 

Actas de los Congresos de la Asociación Internacional de Hispanistas
El Centro Virtual Cervantes presenta en este espacio las actas de los diez primeros congresos de la prestigiosa Asociación Internacional de Hispanistas (AIH) . Este espacio digital ofrece casi mil trabajos, fruto intelectual de la dedicación de varias generaciones de hispanistas. Coverage: 1962-1989.

 

Alhadith: Resources for the Study of Morisco Texts and Culture (University of Colorado at Boulder)

 

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra
This major academic portal provides access to thousands of full-text literary works of historic and contemporary Spanish and Latin American authors as well as providing critical background and analysis. Here is a select list of authors, works, and collections available through this portal:

Authors and Works
Spain
Latin America
Benito Pérez Galdós Andrés Bello
Calderón de la Barca José Martí
Cantar de Mio Cid Literatura gauchesca
La Celestina / Tragicomedia de Calisto y Melibea Mario Benedetti
Libro de buen amor Nicolás Guillén
Literatura de Mudéjares y Moriscos Pablo Neruda
Mariano José de Larra Roberto Arlt
Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz
Portales temáticos (Arte, Literatura, Historia)

 

El Boomeran(g): El blog literario latinoamericano

"El Boomeran(g) es el blog literario latinoamericano , quizá el único portal abierto en la galaxia Google para ofrecer la más destacada información literaria en español." Features audio, critical essays, a forum, excerpts from unpublished works, and more.

 

Cantar de Mio Cid (University of Texas at Austin)

Listen to this work read in Spanish while reading it in paleographic or normative transcription or English translation.

 

Corpus del Español

This 100 million word corpus of Spanish texts has been funded by the NEH and has been created by Prof. Mark Davies of Brigham Young University. In addition to being very fast, the search engine allows a wider range of searches than almost any other large corpus in existence.

 

Domínio Público (Biblioteca Virtual do Ministério da Educação do Brasil)
Uma biblioteca virtual que deverá se constituir em referência para professores, alunos, pesquisadores e para a população em geral sendo seu principal objetivo o de promover o amplo acesso às obras literárias, artísticas e científicas (no forma de textos, sons, imagens e vídeos), já em domínio público ou que tenham a sua divulgação devidamente autorizada, que constituem o patrimônio cultural brasileiro e universal.

 

Glosario Electrónico de Términos Lingüísticos

Electronic Glossary of Linguistic Terms

Edited by J. Albert Bickford and David Tuggy for the Summer Institute of Linguistics in Mexico.

 

Proyecto Cervantes / Cervantes Project
Contains searchable full-text electronic editions of Cervantes's complete works. Also includes facsimile editions and an English/Spanish Don Quixote Dictionary.

 

Ibero-American Electronic Text Series (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

A project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Iberian and Latin American works in the humanities.

 

La Página de Julio Cortázar

Provides full-text access to many of his short stories, as well as some interviews and letters.

 

LIBRO
A collection of full-text, out-of-print university press monographs. The collection focuses upon peninsular history from the fifth to the seventeenth centuries.

Literatura Brasileira: Textos literários em meio eletrônico (Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina)
Esse projeto propõe a construção de páginas eletrônicas, possibilitando o acesso a obras clássicas da Literatura Brasileira através da rede internet.

 

Real Academia Española

La Academia "tiene como misión principal velar porque los cambios que experimente la Lengua Española en su constante adaptación a las necesidades de sus hablantes no quiebren la esencial unidad que mantiene en todo el ámbito hispánico"

Retablo de Literatura Chilena (Universidad de Chile)

Provides some full-text works of major Chilean authors.

The Virtual Zifar (The University of Colorado at Boulder)

A site devoted to the Libro del cauallero de Dios (Zifar).