![]() |
Subject Guide for Spanish & Portuguese Language and Literature
Literature
Help find Author Resources, Novel Resources, Poetry Resources, Film Resources, Theater Resources, Dissertations, Literary Theory, Literary dictionaries, Bibliographies and History and Criticism.
Also see How to cite, How to determine scholarly and non-scholarly texts and How to connect from home.
To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.
To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsBiography (eg Unamuno Miguel De 1864 1936 Biography) Authors Colombian Authors Spanish 19th Century Biography
To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:
Biography and genealogy master index
Columbia Granger's world of poetry
Also see:
Latino and Latina Writers. 2004 (2 volumes)
PS153.H56 L39 2004
Latin American Mystery Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.N7 L352 2004
Latin American Science Fiction Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.S34 L38 2004
Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos. 2001
PQ7081.3 .A37 2001
African, Caribbean, and Latin-American writers. 2000
PL8010 .A33 2000
Latin American Writers. 1989. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 L37
Diccionario de autores: quién es quién en las letras españolas. 1988
Z2693.3 .D53
Also see: Del.icio.us: Writers Literature Digital_text
To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Lope de Vega AND Fuenteovejuna
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsSpanish Literature History And Criticism Spanish Literature Women Authors Portuguese Literature 20th Century History And Criticism
To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.
Start Here: MLA international bibliography
Also:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science
Contemporary literary criticism
HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodical Index
HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies Online
Humanities Abstracts/Full Text
IBZ - International bibliography of periodical literature
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Content (LAPTOC)
Also see: Del.icio.us: Writers Literature Digital_text
Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.
Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found
to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsCatalan Poetry 20th Century Portuguese Poetry History And Criticism Epic Poetry Spanish To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.
Start Here: MLA international bibliography
Also:
Also see: Del.icio.us: Writers Literature Digital_text
To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.
To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and adapt these subject keywordsCinematography Motion Pictures Spanish Film Adaptations History And Criticism
To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:
CU Humanities Abstracts
This database provides references for periodical information in the humanities subject area. Coverage: February 1984-present.
CU Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic Index includes abstracts, references, and full text articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications. Coverage: 1980 - present.
CU MLA Directory of Periodicals
MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Coverage: 1963-present.
CU RILM Music Abstracts
Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings. Festschriften, films, iconographies, and videos are all covered by RILM. Coverage: 1969 to present. Popular reviews and news items
CU Readers' Guide FullText
1983 - present
Reviews and articles in popular magazines. Limit by Form Review
CU Readers' Guide Retrospective
1963 - 1982
Same as above but for years listed. Limit by Form Review
CU LexisNexis Academic
Late 1970(selective) - present
Full-text newspaper articles. For fullest coverage, choose guided search.
Also see Film Studies Subject Guide
Also see: Del.icio.us: Cinema
To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.
To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and adapt these subject keywordsFeminist Theater Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre) Theater Latin America
To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:
CU Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
CU Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic Index includes abstracts, references, and full text articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications. Coverage: 1980 - present.
CU Humanities Abstracts
This database provides references for periodical information in the humanities subject area. Coverage: February 1984-present.
CU International Index to the Performing Arts
IIPA is a multidisciplinary information resource designed specifically for the performing arts. It provides indexing and abstracts from sources covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Offering the widest span of scholarship available, IIPA ranges from 1864 to the most current issues. Coverage 1864 - present.
CU JSTOR
An electronic archive of fulltext scholarly journal articles, including extensive coverage of arts, humanities and the social sciences. Users may browse the journals online or retrieve articles by using the fulltext searching option. Coverage: Varies by title.
CU MLA
MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Coverage: 1963-present.
Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide
Also see: Del.icio.us: Theater
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005
Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001
The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001
Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001
Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000
The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997
Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory
PE1479.C7 L96 1994
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Caribbean literature. 2006 (2 volumes)
PN849.C3 E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003. (2004)
PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 (Ojo! Location = Norlin Stacks)
Diccionario Espasa literatura española. 2003
PQ6051 .B74 2003
The feminist encyclopedia of Spanish literature 2002 (2 volumes)
PQ6055 .F46 2002
Diccionario de la lengua española. 2001 (2 volumes.)
PC4625 .A3
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. 2000
PQ7081 .A1 E56
Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary. 2004
(Online) CU
Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. 1995 (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .D515 1995
Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. 1993 (2 volumes)
PQ6006 .D6
Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula. 1993 (2 volumes)
PN8495 .S6D54
Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary. 2002
(Online) CU
Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 1997
Z2695 .A2 W66
Contemporary Spanish Novel: An Annotated Critical Bibliography: 1936-1994. 1996
Z2694 .F4 A64
A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. 1995
Z2695 .A2 B55
Writers of the Caribbean and Central America : A Bibliography. 1992 (2 volumes)
Z1595 .F46
Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. Spanish. 2006 (2 vols.)
Historia de la literatura hispanoamericana / Roberto González Echevarría y Enrique Pupo-Walker, eds.
PQ7081.A1 C3517 2006
Literary cultures of Latin America : a comparative history. 2004. (3 volumes) PQ7081.A1 L525 2004
Twayne companion to contemporary world literature (2 vols)
PN771 .T93 2003
Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 1996. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 C35
Contemporary Literary Criticism. 1973- PRESENT
PN86 .C6
Hispanic Literature Criticism. 1994. (2 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 H573
Historia y crítica de la literatura española. 1980-1992. (9 volumes)
PQ6032 .H57
Masterplots : 1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature
PN44 .M33 1996 (12 vols)

