UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Spanish & Portuguese Language and Literature

Find Magazines & News Articles

 

These databases and websites offer full-text access to magazine and news articles from and about Spain and Latin America. Many other magazines and journals are also available in print. Search Chinook for holdings.

CU = Available to campus IP addresses. Remote access information.

Find Newspapers and Magazines:

On a Topic

El Pais

Online version of the major Spanish daily newspaper. Provides complete full-text access to the current issue as well as the Hemeroteca, the complete, searchable archive of the publication.CU

 

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1960. CU

 

Factiva

Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.

Coverage includes: Spanish and Portuguese material from Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America.

 

Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca cultura, literatura, negocios, salud, tecnología, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Incluye algunas publicaciones académicas y populares. Coverage varies. CU

 

LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)

News

Magazines

Academic Journals

LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Spanish or Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News" as a news category and then "Spanish Language News" or "Portuguese Language News" as a news source. Coverage varies. CU

 

ProQuest newspapers

Some Spanish and Portuguese language material. (mostly major titles)

 

Veja

Portuguese-language Brazilian news and current events magazine. Searchable archive (1997 - present) available to CU students, staff, and faculty. Contact a Reference Librarian at 303-492-7128 for the current username/password. Also available in print, check Chinook for holdings.

 

Alternative Press Index
Some Spanish and Portuguese language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines)

Specific Newspaper

Most access to Spanish and Portuguese language newspapers at CU will be online. Older material may be available through microfilm.

 

To find digital access to newspapers, do a title search in E-Journal Finder. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.  

E.g.
País  (1134-6582)

 

Pais
from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic
País - All Editions (Spanish Language)
from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva

 

 

To find print or microfilm access to newspapers, do a title search in Chinook in the Journals/Serials collection. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (print or microfilm.)

 

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, of which CU-Boulder is a member. All materials located in the CRL catalog, to which Chinook links directly, are available through interlibrary loan (ILL). CRL maintains an impressive collection of foreign language newspapers, both historical and current.

Magazine Articles

To find digital access to magazines, do a title search in E-Journal Finder. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear. 

 

E.g.
Noticias Financieras (Spanish Language)

 

from 10/28/2002 to present in Factiva

 

To find physical access to magazines, do a title search in Chinook. This will tell you whether the magazine is housed with the periodicals or whether we have any issues in microfilm.

Breaking News

Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Spanish and Portuguese news.

 

BBC Brasil (also includes video, audio)

BBC Mundo (also includes video, audio)

EuroNews

Google Noticias (Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Spain, USA Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Venezuela)

Onlinenewspapers.com

Prensa Escrita

Today's Front Pages

World Newspapers

Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers