UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Spanish & Portuguese Language and Literature

Reference Tools


A select list of recent reference titles located in the Reference Department Stacks and online .

MLA handbook for writers of research papers
LB2369 .G53 2003


To use, click on "Sign Up for an Individual Account," then enter the appropriate information and click on Register. RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.  You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. CU


Literary Theory

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online CU


Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005


Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001


The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001


Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001


Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000


The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997


Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory
PE1479.C7 L96 1994


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Caribbean literature. 2006 (2 volumes)
PN849.C3 E53 2006


Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003. (2004)
PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 (Ojo! Location = Norlin Stacks)


Diccionario Espasa literatura española. 2003
PQ6051 .B74 2003


The feminist encyclopedia of Spanish literature 2002 (2 volumes)
PQ6055 .F46 2002


Diccionario de la lengua española. 2001 (2 volumes.)
PC4625 .A3


Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. 2000
PQ7081 .A1 E56


Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary. 2004

(Online) CU


Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. 1995 (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .D515 1995


Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. 1993 (2 volumes)
PQ6006 .D6


Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula. 1993 (2 volumes)
PN8495 .S6D54


Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary. 2002

(Online) CU


Biographical Sources

Dictionary of Literary Biography
PS129 .D52

  • Brazilian Writers (2005) Volume 307
  • Castilian Writers, 1400-1500 (2004) Volume 286
  • Latin American Dramatists (2005) Volume 305
  • Modern Latin American Fiction Writers. (1992 & 1994): Volumes 113 & 145
  • Modern Spanish American Poets (2003 & 2004): Volumes 283 & 290
  • Portuguese Writers (2004): Volume 287
  • Twentieth-Century Spanish Poets, (1991 & 1994)) Volumes 108 & 134


Latino and Latina Writers. 2004 (2 volumes)
PS153.H56 L39 2004


Latin American Mystery Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.N7 L352 2004


Latin American Science Fiction Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.S34 L38 2004


Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos. 2001
PQ7081.3 .A37 2001


African, Caribbean, and Latin-American writers. 2000
PL8010 .A33 2000


Latin American Writers. 1989. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 L37


Diccionario de autores: quién es quién en las letras españolas. 1988
Z2693.3 .D53


Other biographical sources may be located using CHINOOK by entering a specific subject heading followed by the term "biography". For example: LC SUBJECT HEADING: cervantes saavedra miguel de 1547-1616 biography

Bibliographies and Guides  

Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 1997
Z2695 .A2 W66


Contemporary Spanish Novel: An Annotated Critical Bibliography: 1936-1994. 1996
Z2694 .F4 A64


A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. 1995
Z2695 .A2 B55


Writers of the Caribbean and Central America : A Bibliography. 1992 (2 volumes)
Z1595 .F46


History and Criticism

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. Spanish. 2006 (2 vols.)
Historia de la literatura hispanoamericana / Roberto González Echevarría y Enrique Pupo-Walker, eds.
PQ7081.A1 C3517 2006


Literary cultures of Latin America : a comparative history. 2004. (3 volumes) PQ7081.A1 L525 2004


Twayne companion to contemporary world literature (2 vols)
PN771 .T93 2003


Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 1996. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 C35


Contemporary Literary Criticism. 1973- PRESENT
PN86 .C6


Hispanic Literature Criticism. 1994. (2 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 H573


Historia y crítica de la literatura española. 1980-1992. (9 volumes)
PQ6032 .H57


Masterplots : 1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature
PN44 .M33 1996 (12 vols)


Other historical, critical and interpretive sources may be located using the Chinook Library Catalog. Enter a specific subject heading followed by the subheading "criticism and interpretation" or "history and criticism". For example, SUBJECT HEADING: latin american literature history and criticism.