Subject Guide for Catalan Studies
- Getting Started
- Literature
- Language
- Current Affairs
- Art, History, Film
Benvingut a la Biblioteca!
This is a guide of librarian-selected materials that will assist you with your research and reporting. Use the tabs above to locate research resources. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if you wish to set up an appointment for research help.
Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:
- Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
- List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
- Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
- Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
- Choose a specific time period.
Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.
Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:
Informació en català i de l’à mbit catalÃ
Historical topics: good overviews
Encyclopædia Britannica online CU
General topics related to Catalonia etc
Funk & Wagnalls new world encyclopedia CU
General topics related to Catalonia etc
Oxford digital reference shelf CU
General topics related to Catalonia etc
CU = Limited to CU Affiliates only. Use VPN to connect off campus.
Norlin Library Book Resources
Diccionari de la literatura catalana
PC3901 .D43 2008
REF CT1355.C3 D5
REF Z2691.A1 Z85 1995
BibliografÃa de la literatura hispánica
REF Z2691 .S5 1960
Sobre manuscrits i biblioteques
REF Z6605.C36 B63 1985
Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.
Â
Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.
Â
First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:
Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of feminism in French literature
Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:
| Representation | Feminism | Catalan literature |
Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distinctions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.
It's important to think of alternate words to describe your topic; either synonyms, or broader and narrower terms. This will ensure that you can find a wide range of results.
Everyday Example
![]() |
Synonyms: NFL, American football, Friday Night Lights
Narrower Terms: Quarterback, Denver Broncos
Broader Terms: College Sports, Team sports, Ball game |
Research Paper Example
Concept 1: portrayal illustration account embodiment |
Concept 2: rights of women women's suffrage gender studies female emancipation |
Concept 3: Poetry/Drama Fiction/Novel Balearic Language Romance Language |
Find books and articles on Catalan literature, (including authors, novels and poetry) as well as film and theater.
To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.
Â
To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.
Books
To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.
Â
To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:
Â
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsBiography (eg llull ramon biography) Authors Catalan To 1500 Â Authors Catalan 20th Century Biography
ArticlesÂ
To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:
CU Biography and genealogy master index
CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry
CU Dictionary of literary biography
CU Oxford reference online : premium collection
Informació en català i de l’à mbit catalÃ
Joan Lluis Vives Full text database
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information
Books
To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Rodoreda and Plaça del Diamant
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsCatalan Literature Women Authors Bio Bibliography Catalan Fiction 20th Century Catalan Literature 20th Century History And Criticism Â
ArticlesÂ
To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.
Â
Start Here: MLA international bibliography
Also:
CU Contemporary literary criticism
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Web Resources
Books
Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.
Â
Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found
to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings
Â
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsCatalan Poetry 20th Century Catalan Poetry History And Criticism Catalan Poetry Spain Valencia Province 20th Century  Â
ArticlesÂ
To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.
Â
Start Here: MLA international bibliography
Also:
CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Books
To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.
Â
To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywordsFeminist Theater Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre) Catalan Drama History And Criticism
Articles
To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:
CU International Index to the Performing Arts
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide
Books
To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.
Â
To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Cinematography |
| Motion Pictures Spanish |
| Film Adaptations History And Criticism |
Â
Articles
To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Film Studies Subject Guide
CU Factiva
Search by Language or Region to find full text Catalan newspapers
Diari AVUI
http://www.avui.catEl Periódico
http://www.elperiodico.catRegió7
http://www.regio7.catDiari d'Andorra
http://www.diariandorra.adLa Vanguardia
http://www.lavanguardia.esDiari de Balears
http://www.dbalears.catEl Temps
http://www.eltemps.net
Individual Papers:
A digital archive of La Vanguardia newspaper from 1881 to present
Â
Multiple Papers:
ARCA: Arxiu de Revistes Catalanes Antigues
Publicacions periòdiques tancades que han estat representatives dins la cultura i la societat catalana.
Â
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica
Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.
Â
A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005
Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001
The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001
Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001
Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000
The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997
Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory PE1479.C7 L96 1994
The following subclasses of the Library of Congress Classification Outline allow more precise browsing of the library's collection of the languages and literatures of Iberia.
PC Catalan Language, PC3900-3976
PQ Spanish Literature, PQ6001-8929
Online PDFs: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation (1997-present)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses CU
The full text of dissertations produced at any campus of the University of Colorado system from 1997 to the present are available here as free PDF downloads. To initiate the free download, click on the "Full Text - PDF" link that appears underneath the citation and abstract information of the dissertation you'd like to see.
Print copies: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation using the Chinook Library Catalog
Â
- The catalog treats theses and dissertations like books. Search by author, title, or keyword.
- In Chinook, the term THESIS denotes both Masters' theses and dissertations.
- The call number for CU Boulder theses and dissertations begin with the letter "T," followed by the year of the thesis and then a code matching the author's last name.
Â
Â
Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools
Â
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries. CU - ABI/Inform Global
This database contains the full-text of over 10,000 dissertations in business and management. Under "publication type," select "dissertations." CU - WorldCat
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Limit results by "subtype limits: any content" to "thesis/dissertation." CU
Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools
Â
- CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through the above resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
Dissertations and Theses from Other Countries
Â
Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries
Â
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries. CU - Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
CRL's Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database. CRL has more than 750,000 uncataloged foreign doctoral dissertations, of which approximately 20,000 are included in this database. - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. -
PhdData (The Universal Index of Doctoral Dissertations in Progress)
This site holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.
- Dissertation.com
Â
Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries
Â
- CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through these resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
Spain
Reader/Printers for microforms are available in the Libraries. Â Equipment includes:
Cost to make a copy:
Copy Cards:
Copy Card Vending Station locations:
Refunds for failed copy jobs:
Maintenance, repair and technical assistance for Norlin Library's microform scanning equipment:
|
|
| Norlin Library | Beyond Norlin |
2nd floor
3rd floor
|
|
Learning Catalan? Try the following tools to help:
|
![]() |
English-Catalan
-
Catalan dictionary : English-Catalan, Catalan-English
REF PC3291 .C38 1994
-
REF PC3891 .O45 1983
Catalan-Catalan
- Diccionari català -valencià -balear
REF Â PC3889 .A5 1980 - Diccionari de la llengua catalana
REF PC3889 .D49 1983
Catalan-Spanish
- Diccionari Català -Castellà ; Diccionari Castellà -CatalÃ
REF PC3893.S5 M59 1982 - Diccionari castellà -català i català -castellÃ
PC3893.S5 A45 1961
Informació en català i de l’à mbit catalÃ
A Guide to Countries of the World [CU]
World Encyclopedia [CU]Encyclopædia Britannica online [CU]
General topics related to Catalonia etc
Try the following sections to find language learning resources:
Conjugació de verbs catalans
Optimot: Buscador d'informació lingüÃstica que ajuda a resoldre (solucionar) dubtes sobre la llengua catalana
Catalan : a comprehensive grammar
PC3823 .W44 1999
PC3821 .R54 1981
PC3821 .B28
Keeping up with Camp Nou, El Bulli, or the Sagrada Familia? Try the following sources to find Catalan language material.
|
![]() |
CU Factiva
Search by Language or Region to find full text Catalan newspapers
Diari AVUI
http://www.avui.catEl Periódico
http://www.elperiodico.catRegió7
http://www.regio7.catDiari d'Andorra
http://www.diariandorra.adLa Vanguardia
http://www.lavanguardia.esDiari de Balears
http://www.dbalears.catEl Temps
http://www.eltemps.net
Individual Papers:
A digital archive of La Vanguardia newspaper from 1881 to present
Â
Multiple Papers:
ARCA: Arxiu de Revistes Catalanes Antigues
Publicacions periòdiques tancades que han estat representatives dins la cultura i la societat catalana.
Â
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica
Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.
Â
A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Catalan news.
Find books and articles on history, art and film; for further topics, see the Subject Guide database
To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.
Â
To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.
Books
To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.
Â
To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Cinematography |
| Motion Pictures |
| Film Adaptations History And Criticism |
Â
Articles
To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Film Studies Subject Guide
Books
To find books about art topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Art Abstract Exhibitions |
| Art Catalan |
| Art And Literature |
Articles
To find critical journal articles about an art topic, try the following databases:
To find newspaper reviews about art, try the following databases:
CU NY Times
Also see: Research Guide for Art and Art History
Secondary Sources
The ABC-Clio eBook Collection includes the online full text of hundreds of reference books on many subjects, including U.S. and world history, politics, government, society, education, religion, folklore, mythology, science, environment and geography.
This scholarly multi-disciplinary database contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index CU
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Provides indexing and abstracting for citations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States).
Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.
JSTOR CU
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Periodicals index online (ProQuest) CU
Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations from over 4,500 periodicals in published in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years
Poole's index to periodical literature CU
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals.
Royal Historical Society bibliography CU
Bibliography of publications relating to the history of the British Isles, and of the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available from 55 BC to the present.
Women's studies international CU
Database includes the latest scholarship in feminist research, including Women Studies Abstracts.




