Subject Guide for Portuguese Language & Literature
- Getting Started
- Literature
- Language
- Current Affairs
- Film, Art, History
Bem-vindo à biblioteca!
This is a guide of librarian-selected materials that will assist you with your research and reporting. Use the tabs above to locate research resources. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or if you wish to set up an appointment for research help.
Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question. Some tips for doing so are:
- Brainstorm about your topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc.
- List what you already know about your topic, and what you need to know or want to know.
- Determine what perspective will you take on your topic.
- Deternine the geographic region on which you will focus.
- Choose a specific time period.
Often doing some preliminary reading or background research is extremely helpful in developing a focus. Move to the next step 'Getting Background Info' for some tips.
Developing a comprehensive understanding of your topic is essential when embarking on research. One way to gain background information is to utilize reference sources. This will help you to focus and concentrate your interest in a researchable portion of your topic. For help developing background information:
Literature of Latin America CU
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture CU
Dictionary of Portuguese-African civilization
DT352.4 .N86 1995
Portuguese language and Luso-Brazilian literature : an annotated guide to selected reference works
Z2725.A2 C45 1989
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003. (2004)
PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 (Ojo! Location = Norlin Stacks)
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. 2000
REF PQ7081 .A1 E56
Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. 1995 (3 volumes)
REF PQ7081 .D515 1995
Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos. 2001
REF PQ7081.3 .A37 2001
African, Caribbean, and Latin-American writers. 2000
PL8010 .A33 2000
Latin American Writers. 1989. (3 volumes)
REF PQ7081 .A1 L37
Dictionary of the literature of the Iberian peninsula
PN849.S6 D54 1993
Dicionário de literature : literatura portuguesa, literatura brasileira, literatura galega, estÃlistica literária
PQ9006 .C65 1979
Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.
Â
Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.
Â
First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:
Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of feminism in Portuguese literature
Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:
| Representation | Feminism | Portuguese literature |
Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distinctions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.
It's important to think of alternate words to describe your topic; either synonyms, or broader and narrower terms. This will ensure that you can find a wide range of results.
Everyday Example
![]() |
Synonyms: NFL, American football, Friday Night Lights
Narrower Terms: Quarterback, Denver Broncos
Broader Terms: College Sports, Team sports, Ball game |
Research Paper Example
Concept 1: portrayal illustration account embodiment |
Concept 2: rights of women women's suffrage gender studies female emancipation |
Concept 3: Poetry/Drama Fiction/Novel European Language Romance Language |
Find books and articles on Portuguese literature, (including authors, novels and poetry) as well as film and theater.
To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.
Â
To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.
Books
To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.
Â
To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook and type in the author's name.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsBiography (eg Saramago Biography) Authors, Brazilian Authors, Portuguese -- 20th century -- Biography ArticlesÂ
To find articles about authors and/or their work, try:
CU Biography and genealogy master index
CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry
CU Dictionary of literary biography
CU Oxford reference online : premium collection
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.Also see:
Latin American Mystery Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.N7 L352 2004
Latin American Science Fiction Writers: An A-Z guide. 2004
PQ7082.S34 L38 2004
Diccionario de autores latinoamericanos. 2001
PQ7081.3 .A37 2001
African, Caribbean, and Latin-American writers. 2000
PL8010 .A33 2000
Latin American Writers. 1989. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 L37
Books
To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Saramago and Caverna
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsPortuguese literature -- History and criticism Portuguese literature -- Women authors  Portuguese Literature 20th Century History And Criticism Â
ArticlesÂ
To find critical journal articles about a novel, try the following databases. Look under the title of the work, as well as under the author's name.
Â
Start Here: MLA international bibliography
Also:
CU Contemporary literary criticism
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Books
Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.
Â
Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found
eg A Mensagem
to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings
Â
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsPortuguese poetry -- Classical period, 1500-1700 Portuguese Poetry History And Criticism Epic Poetry Spanish Â
ArticlesÂ
To find articles about a poem, search in the following databases. Use the title of the work to see if there are specific references. Using the author's name may retrieve general critical discussion about an author's poetic work.
Â
Start Here: MLA international bibliography
Also:
CU Columbia Granger's world of poetry
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information
Books
To find books about a play, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the play's title.
Â
To find a copy of the play, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywordsFeminist Theater Theat* (*replaces up to 5 characters-eg retrieve theater/theatre) Theater Latin America
Articles
To find articles or reviews about a play or director, use the following databases:
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU International Index to the Performing Arts
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Theater and Dance Subject Guide
Books
To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.
Â
To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Cinematography |
| Motion pictures, Portuguese -- Brazil |
| Film Adaptations History And Criticism |
Â
Articles
To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
CU MLA international bibliography
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Film Studies Subject Guide
To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.Â
E.g.
PaÃs  (1134-6582)
Pais from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic PaÃs - All Editions (Spanish Language) from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva
CU LexisNexis Academic
Interdisciplinary database that contains the full text of national, international, and regional news, newswires, transcripts, magazine articles, legal and business information, public opinion polls, and other sources.Â
CU Factiva
Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Factiva offers multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires. More than 900 of these sources are available on or before the date of publication.
Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Â
Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Digitized Portuguese periodicals and newspapers in the public domain, mainly from Lisbon.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online [CU]
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms [CU]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Narrative Theory
PN212 .R68 2005
Introducing literary theories : a guide and glossary
PN81 .I62 2001
The Norton anthology of theory and criticism
PN86 .N67 2001
Studying literature : the essential companion
PN59 .G67 2001
Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement
PN597 .T94 2000
The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
PN41 .M874 1997
Texts and contexts : writing about literature with critical theory PE1479.C7 L96 1994
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003. (2004)
PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 (Ojo! Location = Norlin Stacks)
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. 2000
PQ7081 .A1 E56
Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. 1995 (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .D515 1995
Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula. 1993 (2 volumes)
PN8495 .S6D54
Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. Spanish. 2006 (2 vols.)
Historia de la literatura hispanoamericana / Roberto González Echevarría y Enrique Pupo-Walker, eds.
PQ7081.A1 C3517 2006
Literary cultures of Latin America : a comparative history. 2004. (3 volumes) PQ7081.A1 L525 2004
Twayne companion to contemporary world literature (2 vols)
PN771 .T93 2003
Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 1996. (3 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 C35
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Web Resources
The following subclasses of the Library of Congress Classification Outline allow more precise browsing of the library's collection of the languages and literatures of Iberia and Latin America.
PC Romanic Languages
Portuguese Philology, PC5001-5041
Portuguese Language, PC5043-5498
PQ Portuguese Literature, PQ9000-9999
Portugal, PQ9000-9499
Brazil, PQ9500-9698.36
PQ 7081-8560 Literature of Spanish America
South America, PQ7551-
Brazil, PQ7880-
Online PDFs: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation (1997-present)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses CU
The full text of dissertations produced at any campus of the University of Colorado system from 1997 to the present are available here as free PDF downloads. To initiate the free download, click on the "Full Text - PDF" link that appears underneath the citation and abstract information of the dissertation you'd like to see.Print copies: Search for a CU Thesis/Dissertation using the Chinook Library Catalog
Â
- The catalog treats theses and dissertations like books. Search by author, title, or keyword.
- In Chinook, the term THESIS denotes both Masters' theses and dissertations.
- The call number for CU Boulder theses and dissertations begin with the letter "T," followed by the year of the thesis and then a code matching the author's last name.
Â
Â
Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools
Â
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries. CU- ABI/Inform Global
This database contains the full-text of over 10,000 dissertations in business and management. Under "publication type," select "dissertations." CU- WorldCat
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Limit results by "subtype limits: any content" to "thesis/dissertation." CUBorrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced at Other Schools
Â
- CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through the above resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
Dissertations and Theses from Other Countries
Search for Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries
Â
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Provides abstracts of dissertations and some master's theses from the United States, Canada, Great Britain and, to a lesser and more selective extent, other countries. CU- Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
CRL's Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database. CRL has more than 750,000 uncataloged foreign doctoral dissertations, of which approximately 20,000 are included in this database.- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.- PhdData (The Universal Index of Doctoral Dissertations in Progress)
This site holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.
- Dissertation.com
Brazil
- Biblioteca Digital de Teses e Dissertações
Theses and Dissertations of Brazilian universities and libraries available online.Portugal
Â
Borrowing Theses and Dissertations Produced in Other Countries
Â
- CU Faculty, staff and students may request theses and dissertations identified through these resources through the CU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
Reader/Printers for microforms are available in the Libraries. Â Equipment includes:
Cost to make a copy:
Copy Cards:
Copy Card Vending Station locations:
Refunds for failed copy jobs:
Maintenance, repair and technical assistance for Norlin Library's microform scanning equipment:
|
|
| Norlin Library | Beyond Norlin |
2nd floor
3rd floor
|
|
Confused about the subjunctive? Try the following tools to help:
|
![]() |
English-Portuguese
Larousse Concise Dictionary : Portuguese-English, English-Portuguese
PC5333 .L36 2003
Collins English-Portuguese, Português-Inglês Dictionary
PC5333 .W45 2001
Aulete Digital: (Downloadable)
Michaelis: Moderno Dicionário da Língua Portuguesa
Priberam Informática - Língua Portuguesa On-Line
Dicionário De Dúvidas Dificuldades E Curiosidades Da Língua Portuguesa
PC5260 .S22 2005Grande dicionário : língua portuguesa
PC5327 .G735 2004
Portuguese business dictionary
HF1002 .S567 2006
Dicionário analógico da língua portuguesa
PC5315 .A9 1974
Dicionário Houaiss de sinônimos e antônimos
PC5315 .D53 2003
Try the following sections to find language learning resources:
Ciberdúvidas da Língua Portuguesa
Gramática da Língua Portuguesa
Texto E Gramática / Maria Helena De Moura Neves
P147 .N479 2006
Portuguese : An Essential Grammar
PC5067.3 .H88 1996
Spoken
Latin American and Spanish Video on the Internet:
a Guide to Web ResourcesWith thanks to Jesús Alonso Regalado.
Â
Â
Rede Globo (Brazilian TV network)
TV Cultura (Brazilian TV network)
RTPI (Portuguese TV network)
TVI (Portuguese TV network)
Pandora (40 free hours a month)
Zona Latina Listings of Radio Stations in Latin America
96FM (Brazilian FM radio station)
Rádio Ipanema(Brazilian FM radio station)
Rádio Globo (Brazilian FM radio station)
Rádio Antena 1 (Portuguese FM radio station)
Rádio Comercial (Portuguese FM radio station)
The Classical Music Library contains over 50,000 tracks of streaming audio.
Â
This database contains over 200,000 music tracks in streaming audio and includes folk music, some world music, and jazz.
Â
This database of streaming audio offers over 20,000 tracks from over 1,900 albums. The scope of the database covers American and European artists and labels in jazz, blues and R&B.
Talking Brazilian : a Brazilian Portuguese pronunciation workbook
PC5444 .P48 2004
ConVer: Conjugação Verbal Portuguesa
501 Portuguese verbs : fully conjugated in all the tenses, in a new easy-to-learn format, alphabetic
PC5145 .N52 2005
201 Portuguese verbs fully conjugated in all the tenses, alphabetically arranged.
PC5145 .N5
Keeping up with Lula, the samba or Fluminense? Try the following sources to find Portuguese language material from Portugal and Latin American countries.
|
![]() |
To access a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. A list of databases where you can find the newspaper will appear.Â
E.g.
PaÃs  (1134-6582)
Pais from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic PaÃs - All Editions (Spanish Language) from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva
Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.
Coverage includes: Portuguese material from Europe, Latin America. CU
LexisNexis Academic
Offers full-text of national and international newspapers. To search Portuguese language news sources select "Non-English language News" as a news category and then "Portuguese Language News" as a news source. CUÂ
Some Portuguese language material. (mostly major titles) CU
Â
Alternative Press Index
Some Portuguese language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines) CU
Newseum: Front pages from round the world
LANIC Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas-Austin)
Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Â
Multiple Papers:
Â
Digitized Portuguese periodicals and newspapers in the public domain, mainly from Lisbon.
Â
Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Most of the Library databases will not include breaking news. Try these websites for alternative Portuguese news.
BBC Brasil (also includes video, audio)
BBC Mundo (also includes video, audio)
Rede Globo (Brazilian TV network)
TV Cultura (Brazilian TV network)
RTPI (Portuguese TV network)
TVI (Portuguese TV network)
Pandora (40 free hours a month)
Zona Latina Listings of Radio Stations in Latin America
96FM (Brazilian FM radio station)
Rádio Ipanema(Brazilian FM radio station)
Rádio Globo (Brazilian FM radio station)
Rádio Antena 1 (Portuguese FM radio station)
Rádio Comercial (Portuguese FM radio station)
Find books and articles on history, art and film; for further topics, see the Subject Guide database
To find books: Search Chinook, the catalog for CU Libraries.
Â
To find articles: Search databases that CU Libraries subscribes to.
Books
To find books about a film, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook using the name of the director or do a TITLE search using the film's title.
Â
To find a copy of the film, do a TITLE search in Chinook.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Â
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Cinematography |
| Motion Pictures Latin America |
| Film Adaptations History And Criticism |
Â
Articles
To find articles or reviews about a film or director, use the following databases:
CU MLA international bibliography
CU Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index (Brazil)
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
Â
Also see Film Studies Subject Guide
Books
To find books about art topics, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook
Â
Once you find a record that looks useful you can search by the subject heading to find similar works, or physically browse the stacks around the call number.
Â
Search WorldCat to see what other libraries hold, and request material through Prospector or Inter-Library Loan.
Â
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and adapt these subject keywords |
| Art Abstract Exhibitions |
| Art American 19th Century |
| Art And Literature |
Articles
To find critical journal articles about an art topic, try the following databases:
To find newspaper reviews about art, try the following databases:
CU NY Times
Also see: Research Guide for Art and Art History
Guide to Finding Primary Sources
Portuguese
Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal
Digitized copies of books and materials from the National Library of Portugal
Digitized copies of old books housed at the National Library of Portugal
Secondary Sources
The ABC-Clio eBook Collection includes the online full text of hundreds of reference books on many subjects, including U.S. and world history, politics, government, society, education, religion, folklore, mythology, science, environment and geography.
This scholarly multi-disciplinary database contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index CU
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Provides indexing and abstracting for citations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States).
Abstracts and some full text covering diverse subject areas of the humanities.
JSTOR CU
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Periodicals index online (ProQuest) CU
Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations from over 4,500 periodicals in published in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years
Poole's index to periodical literature CU
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals.
Royal Historical Society bibliography CU
Bibliography of publications relating to the history of the British Isles, and of the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available from 55 BC to the present.
Women's studies international CU
Database includes the latest scholarship in feminist research, including Women Studies Abstracts.
Portuguese
Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index CU
Articles from scholarly journals and journals of academic interest about Latin and Hispanic America with links to full text where available.
HLAS online: Handbook of Latin American studies CU
Article and book citations about Latin America in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Scielo CU
Full-text scientific and social sciences journal articles from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain, and Venezuela.




