UCB Libraries

SPAN 4010

Advanced Rhetoric and Composition


  • Recursos del Tutorial
  • Articles
  • Other Resources
  • Evaluating
  • Citing

 

Internet | Articulos | Diarios

 


 

Internet

Blogs:

Technorati: http://technorati.com

Blogalaxia: http://www.blogalaxia.com/

Blogazos: http://www.blogazos.com/

 

Páginas Web

Guías de la biblioteca: http://www.ucblibraries.colorado.edu

Spanish and Portuguese

Latin America

Más

Intute: http://intute.ac.uk/

Modern languages and area studies

Spanish

Latin America

Videos

Paises, Personas y Cultura

Casa de America Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino. Archivo Audiovisual Videoteca Contracorriente
Desarrollo social y recursos naturales
1 Minuto por Mis Derechos Biblioteca Ser Indígena - Videos Red Nacional de Vídeo Popular en Chile
Literatura y Historia
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes. Videoteca Cinemateca Virtual de Chile Ingenio400.com: IV Centenario de El Quijote
Más

Latin American and Spanish Video on the Internet: a Guide to Web Resources

How do I locate videos or DVDs?

 

 

Artículos

 

Diarios
 



 

Search Tips | Choosing a Database | Articles From a Citation

 



Pro / Con arguments are often useful when writing persuasive, inquiry, or position papers. Researching varied viewpoints and opinions also reveals the discourse surrounding a topic more comprehensively. How do you find these Pro / Con conversations?


Here are a few general SEARCH TIPS:

  • Think about the types of sources that report on current events and contentious topics. See some recommendations below.
     
  • Think about where opinions are usually expressed in publication. For example, try searching for your topic with a specific format category, such as:
    • editorial
    • commentary
    • issue papers
    • research briefs
    • interview
    • speech
    • blog

Try not to use the terms 'pro/con' when you search. Use terms such as:

    • analysis
    • opinion
    • commentary
    • evaluation
    • public opinion
    • surveys
    • political aspects
    • speech
    • oppononents
    • proponents

Evaluate the sources carefully: determine the author, viewpoint, intended audience, intended purpose, and potential bias. Determine the main opinion or stance of the work. Think about what the counter argument might be.

 

If you are looking for articles on a particular topic, you can use many relevant Spanish or General databases that CU Libraries subscribes to. Some of the article databases only include citation information about the article, while others include access to the full-text of the document, usually in either PDF or HTML format.

 

The most relevant databases for Spanish are listed below. You can also try the Find Articles & More page where the databases are organized by subject/ discipline categories.

If the particular database you search does not have the full-text of the article available, look for the 'Find it at CU' option to search for electronic or print copies. If you are unable to locate the 'Find it at CU' option, follow the steps for finding a specific article below.

Typically you may search by keyword, author, title and more. For help developing keywords, go to How do I Choose Keywords? HINT! Keep track of search terms. Look for database recommended search terms and help resources.

 

WAIT! Are you connecting from off-campus?

Tutorial: VPN

 


The Libraries subscribe to numerous databases and choosing the right article database can be difficult. There are numerous types of databases some will provide citations and abstracts, some will also include full text, some will link to reference materials, and more.

  • General and Interdisciplinary databases: These databases are a good starting point when you are new to your topic. They often include scholarly and popular sources as well as material from a variety of disciplines and perspetives. For Example: Academic Search Premier

  • Subject or Discipline Databases: These databases will help you find material from specific disciplines. They provide more in-depth and focused research. For Example: HAPI Online
  • Format Specific Databases: These databases are narrowed to specific types of material, such as newspapers, statistics, images, biographies etc. For Example: Ethnic NewsWatch

Are you connecting from off-campus?

Recommended:

 

General Databases

 

Academic search premier

This scholarly multi-disciplinary database contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, with full text for more than 4,450 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

 

CQ researcher plus archive

Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher plus Archive offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

 

Infotrac OneFile

Web source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Use the terms PRO/CON with this database. CU

 

Also Try: Research & subject guides database

This database provides keyword-searchable access to research and subject guides and tutorials created by the CU Libraries. Users can also browse for relevant guides by Academic Department/Library, by individual class pages, by citation style, by database name, or by alphabetically by topic for the "How Do I?" pages.

E.g. Women's Studies, Religious Studies, Education.

 

Spanish Databases.

 

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodical Index

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

 

Newspapers

 

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1960. CU

 

Factiva

Search in Factiva.com by Source, Region or Language.

Coverage includes: Spanish and Portuguese material from Caribbean, Central America, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America.

 

Informe!
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca cultura, literatura, negocios, salud, tecnología, temas de actualidad y otras materias. Incluye algunas publicaciones académicas y populares. Coverage varies. CU

 

Alternative Press Index
Some Spanish language material. (alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines)

 

 

CU = Available to campus IP addresses.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

 

 


If you have a specific article you need or you are tracking works from a bibliography, you will use:

 

Find it @ CU Article Finder
Complete this form to find the article in electronic or print.

Tutorial: Find it @ CU Article Finder

OR use the Chinoook Journals/ Serials Title search. Be sure to look for the journal/ magazine title NOT the article title. Then follow the links to the correct volume, issue, year, page number.

Tutorial: Chinook Periodical Titles

 

 

 



Web Resources

There are numerous websites that may help you explore pro/con opinions on your topic. The resources below are a small sampling. These sites will require your evaluation of the author, intended purpose, audience, bias, and overall credibility.

 

Latin America

Spain

General

  • Brookings Institute
    US organization founded in 1916 that covers public policy issues through reports, analysis, and commentary.
  • CIA World Factbook
    Online factbook of information about countries round the world.
  • Electronic Policy Network
    A network of progressive nonprofit organizations that aggregates news, reports, analysis and policy on current issues and events.
  • US Department of State - Issues & Press
    Topics and reports generated by the US Department of state on international topics and issues.
  • Open Democracy
    A UK educational nonprofit organization that hosts online debates from participants around the world. Covering themes: arts&cultures, conflicts, democracy&power, ecology&place, faith& ideas, globalization, media&internet, people.
  • Public Agenda
    A nonprofit opinion research organization that covers topics and issues related to American life and concern: issues such as immigration, education, religion, foreign policy, etc.

Links to other internet resources

Other Ideas

 

 

 



 

 

evaluating sources | Popular v Scholarly


There are three steps you can follow to evaluate the sources (articles, websites, books) that you have found. You will want to evaluate the credibility of the author, validity of the research, and relevance of articles and web sites.

 

Authority of the Author

 

The first step in evaluating a source is determining the authority of the author who produced the material. To determine authority, you'll want to evaluate the trustworthiness (credentials, education, experience, etc.) of an author.

 

To determine credibility, ask these questions: 

  • Is the author formally educated in the subject?
  • Does the author work for a university or research center?
  • Is the author a recognized scholar in the subject?
  • Does the author have an established history of research and writing on the subject?

Validity of the Research

 

The second step of evaluating a source is determining the validity of the research being presented in the article, website or book. To ensure that the research is valid, you want to determine the quality of the research used to support the argument being made. It is also important to remember that excellent or persuasive writing doesn't necessarily ensure that the research presented is valid.

 

To determine the validity of the research in the source, ask these questions:

  • Does the author thoroughly cite all the sources? (Saying "a study was done" is not a citation.)
  • Is there a list of sources at the end of the article?
  • Does the author's evidence support the claim?
  • Is the author's evidence objective research instead of personal narrative?
  • Does it come from a peer-reviewed publication (which means the research was evaluated by experts before it was published)?

Relevance to Your Topic

 

The third step in evaluating a source is determining the article's relevance to your topic:

 

To determine relevance, ask these questions:

  • Is the article sufficiently broad to address the issue you are discussing?
  • If the article is broad, can its conclusions be applied to your subject? (e.g. an article about drinking habits of students at large universities applies to your subject of drinking habits of CU students)
  • If the article is narrow, can its conclusions be generalized to your subject? (e.g. an article about volleyball players and eating disorders at Honalee State University can be applied to your subject of eating disorders in women college athletes)

 

The key difference between scholarly and popular magazine articles is the required peer review process for scholarly journal articles.

 

Peer review is a publishing process in academic fields. Before editors decide whether to accept an article for publication in a scholarly journal, they need to send this article to other researchers in this article's subject area to do a review. This process is called "peer review" because the author's peers (i.e. other scholars) decide if the article should be published.

 

Below are some of the characteristics of scholarly journals and popular magazines and newspapers.

 

Type of Periodical Scholarly Journal Popular Magazine or Newspaper
Contents

Original Research

In-Depth Analysis

Current Events / Popular topics / Interviews
Not original research by the author
Writing Level Technical language
Assumes college education
Simple, elementary language
Assumes only 8th grade education!
Authors Researchers, Academics
Experts in the subject they are writing about
Reporters
Not subject experts
Sources Almost always has a list of Works Cited
Extensive documentation
Rarely documents sources
Documentation vague (e.g. "A study was done...")
Published By Scholarly societies, University Presses Commercial publishers
Pictures and Paper Few or no photographs
Includes charts or tables
Regular white paper
Many photographs and pictures
Glossy paper
Examples Sociological Review
Journal of Asian Studies
Journal of Philosophy
People Weekly
Sports Illustrated
New York Times
Denver Post
Length Tends to be longer Tends to be shorter

 



 

 

 

Citation Styles | RefWorks | Tips & Strategies

 

Citation Styles

The following guides provide samples of common citation formats. Consult Reference Desk personnel for additional information.

 

MLA Style (with examples)

 

You may also find print guides in the library:

 

MLA

 

REFWorks
A personal online database and bibliography creator that allows users to create a personal database online, import references automatically from multiple databases, organize references, and quickly format bibliographies and manuscripts. You will need to create a login and password. Provided by the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.

 

How do I use RefWorks?

 

 

 

Pick an Interesting Topic It is easier to express your own opinions and thoughts if you are interested in the topic.

 

Manage Your Time

Many students are tempted to plagiarize because they do not start researching and writing far enough in advance. Start your paper at least 3 weeks before the due date. Plagiarism could compromise your entire academic career. Speak to your professor if you have run out of time.

 

Create a Bibliography as you Research

Record the sources you consult. Include all the bibliographic information needed in your works cited (Author, Title, Pages, Publisher, Year, Volume, Issue).This will help you to cite correctly and to compile your works cited.

 

Take Clear Notes

Designate all direct quotes with quotation marks.

Designate when you are paraphrasing.

Electronic Research and Note taking is the same: Use quotation marks when you cut and paste.

Always note the source/ author.

 

Be Careful with Paraphrasing

Be sure you understand the text.

Do not look at the original source when writing your paraphrase.

Reorganize the information in your own words and in your own style.

Check to be sure you have not used the vocabulary or structure of the original work.

Mention the author near or in your paraphrase.

 

And Remember to Cite:

Any information that was not originally created by you:
  • Quotations
  • Key terms or phrases
  • Ideas
  • Facts not broadly known
  • Images and Sounds
Any material from another source regardless of where you found it:
  • Printed sources
  • Electronic sources
  • Conversation or email
  • Recorded sources
  • Images