UCB Libraries

 

SPA 3050: Spanish Phonetics and Phonology

 

  • Getting Started
  • Books
  • Articles
  • Newspapers
  • Web
How do I?

 

Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question.

The following steps should help you break the process down:

 

  • Plan your approach to the topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc. Determine your perspective. List what you know and what you need to know.
  • Develop keywords that represent your topic. You'll use these to search for books and articles for your paper. Encyclopedia and reference books can help identify keywords.
  • Read around your topic to develop a comprehensive understanding of your topic. Utilize reference sources to provide you with an overview and background information on a topic, the established knowledge on a topic, the most important facts about a topic, the key figures, places, or events related to your topic and a list of recommended readings on a topic

See the following sections to give further advice on developing keywords and background information.

 

+ Keywords

Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.

 

Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.

 

First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:

Example: I am interested in investigating Spanish pronunciation

Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:

 

Concept 1:

Spanish

Concept 2:

pronounciation

Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distincitions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.

 

Concept 1:

Spain

Iberia

Latin America

Castilian

Hispanic/Mexican/Argentine

Concept 2:

spoken Spanish

diction

accent

elocution

speech

 

Combining Keywords

Operators:

AND: Bolivia AND Phonetics (must find both terms)
OR: ceceo OR seseo (must find one of the terms)
NOT: Andes NOT Peru (must find first term NOT second term)

 

Punctuation:

Phrases: ‚ÄúPuerto Rico‚ÄĚ (must find that phrase in that order)
Synonyms: (Ecuador OR Equador) AND immigrants
Wildcards: Latin America* will find Latin American, Latin Americans etc

You may use the UCB Search Strategy/ Keyword Worksheetto develop your own topic.

For details on combining keywords for the best results view the

How Do I Use Keywords

+ Background Information

A good place to find keywords is from reference sources.

Reference Universe: This is a searchable database that indexes information from specialized subject encyclopedias. It does not include the full text of reference materials but will point you to reference sources that cover your topic. It searches both the titles of reference articles as well as the encyclopedia / dictionary indexes, providing a thorough level of access to materials and potential sources. CU

 

Some more CU Reference Source examples:

General Online Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia Britannica CU
Gale Virtual Reference Library CU
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf CU

World Almanac CU

Ethnologue

World Atlas of Language Structures

 

Specialized Dictionaries:

 

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online  

 

Diccionario De Uso Del Espa√Īol / Mar√≠a Moliner
REF PC4625 .M6 2007

 

Tesoro De La Lengua Castellana O Espa√Īola
REF PC4620 .C7 2006

 

Diccionario Panhisp√°nico De Dudas
REF PC4460 .D53 2005

 

Diccionario De Ling√ľ√≠stica

REF P29 .D518 1983

 

A sourcebook for Hispanic literature and language : a selected, annotated guide to Spanish

REF Z2695.A2 B55 1995

 

Diccionario de terminolog√≠a ling√ľ√≠stica actual

REF P29 .T418 1981

 

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language.

REF P29 C64 1987

 

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics.

REF P29 I58 2003 v.1-4.

For more reference source search tips, go to How do I find Reference Sources.

 

 

 

 

How do I?

 

Chinook is the catalog for materials owned by the CU Libraries. You can also use MyChinook to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.)

 

If you search Chinook and find that the CU Libraries do not have the item you are looking for (or if the item you are looking for is checked out), you can search Prospector, which is a combined library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming.

 

If the item you are looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Generally, an ILL request will take longer to be delivered than material requested through Prospector.

 

+ Find books on phonetics

To find books on a topic (eg phonetics) do a KEYWORD search in Chinook.

 

To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.

 

To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook for the author's name.

 

Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:

Use and Adapt these Subject Keywords

Spanish language Grammar

Spanish Language Orthography And Spelling
Historical linguistics
Spanish Philology
Languages, Modern -- Phonetics

To browse linguistics books, use the following call number ranges:

 

P1-85 Linguistics in General

PC4001-4977 Spanish Language/Linguistics

 

 

 

 

How do I?

If you are looking for articles on a particular topic, you can use many relevant databases that CU Libraries subscribes to. Some of the article databases only include citation information about the article, while others include access to the full-text of the document, usually in either PDF or HTML format.

 

The most relevant databases for Spanish Linguistics are listed below. You can also try the Find Articles & More page where the databases are organized by subject/ discipline categories.

 

+ Linguistics Articles

 

CSA linguistics and language behavior abstracts

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.CU

 

Linguistics abstracts online

More than 30,000 abstracts from nearly 400 linguistics journals published since 1985.CU

 

MLA international bibliography

The major index published by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, drama/theatre, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. CU

 

Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL).

One of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics.

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

+ Spanish Articles

Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. CU

Video Video Tutorial: Searching HAPI

 

Humanities Full Text CU (mobile)

Articles from scholarly journals in the fields of Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

 

JSTOR CU (Mobile)

Articles from back issues of selected scholarly journals in history and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

 

 

Most access to Spanish and Portuguese language newspapers at CU will be online.

 

To find access to a specific newspaper, do a title search in Chinook. Chinook will tell you where the newpaper is held, what dates the library has and the format of the holdings (digital or microfilm.)

E.g.
País  (1134-6582)

Pais
from 02/01/2005 to 12/07/2007 in LexisNexis Academic
País - All Editions (Spanish Language)
from 02/01/1995 to present in Factiva

 

Also try the following digital repositories for newspapers:

 

+ Digital Newspapers

El Pais

Online version of the major Spanish daily newspaper. Provides complete full-text access to the current issue as well as the Hemeroteca, the complete, searchable archive of the publication.CU

 

Ethnic News Watch  

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. CU

 

Factiva

Provides worldwide full text coverage of local, regional, national, and international newspapers. CU

 

Hemeroteca Digital:

A digital library of digitized Spanish newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

http://hemerotecadigital.bne.es/inicio.htm

 

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica

http://prensahistorica.mcu.es

Providing access to digitised historical newspapers from Spain, this database covers over 2000 historical newspapers, which were printed between 1777 and 2005.

 

Latin American Newspapers

Full text newspaper archive of 35 newspapers in English, Spanish and Portuguese printed throughout Latin America and the Caribbean in the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Proquest Newspapers

Some Spanish and Portuguese language material. (mostly major titles)

 

CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.

 

 

Have a look at these websites for further information about grammar and Spanish linguistics:

Voces y Letras Hisp√°nicas

 

Glosario ling√ľ√≠stico electr√≥nico

 

The Linguist List

 

Online Linguistics Resources: Intute

Spanish Linguistics

Linguistics of Latin American languages

Linguistics of American languages

Phonetics

Phonology

Translation studies

Carnegie Mellon University CMU, Languages and Linguistics: http://eserver.org/langs/