Spa 3440: Literatura Latinoamericana Contemporánea
- Getting Started
- Books
- Articles
- Web
- Help!
Once you have determined a topic, issue or subject of interest, you will need to focus the topic into a researchable question.
The following steps should help you break the process down:
- Plan your approach to the topic. Identify related issues, people, events etc. Determine your perspective. List what you know and what you need to know.
- Develop keywords that represent your topic. You'll use these to search for books and articles for your paper. Encyclopedia and reference books can help identify keywords.
- Read around your topic to develop a comprehensive understanding of your topic. Utilize reference sources to provide you with an overview and background information on a topic, the established knowledge on a topic, the most important facts about a topic, the key figures, places, or events related to your topic and a list of recommended readings on a topic
See the following sections to give further advice on developing keywords and background information.
Before you start to research a topic, you need to develop keywords that represent your research interest, question, or inquiry.
Keywords are significant words (usually nouns or noun phrases) which can be used as search terms in online catalogs or databases. Keywords will determine the quantity and relevance of results you retrieve when searching.
First you will identify and articulate your topic in your own words:
Example: I am interested in investigating the representation of feminism in Latin American literature
Next you will designate the main concepts or ideas that describe the topic:
Concept 1:
representation
Concept 2:
feminism
Concept 3:
Latin American literature
Then develop other terms and vocabulary that represent the topic. Some terms may be broader, narrower, or synonyms. Adding terms that represent geographical distincitions, time periods, or significant figures about your topic may also be useful.
Concept 1:
portrayal
illustration
account
embodiment
Concept 2:
rights of women
women's suffrage
women's studies
female emancipation
Concept 3:
Spanish-American
Hispanic
Argentine/a
fiction/novel/poetry
Combining Keywords
Operators:
AND: Iberio-American AND poetry (must find both terms)
OR: Spain OR Spanish (must find one of the terms)
NOT: Latin America NOT Brazil (must find first term NOT second term)
Punctuation:
Phrases: “literary movement” (must find that phrase in that order)
Synonyms: (breed OR caste) AND Peru
Wildcards: Latin America* will find Latin American, Latin Americans etc
You may use the UCB Search Strategy/ Keyword Worksheetto develop your own topic.
For details on combining keywords for the best results view the
A good place to find keywords is from reference sources.
Reference Universe: This is a searchable database that indexes information from specialized subject encyclopedias. It does not include the full text of reference materials but will point you to reference sources that cover your topic. It searches both the titles of reference articles as well as the encyclopedia / dictionary indexes, providing a thorough level of access to materials and potential sources. CU
Some more CU Reference Source examples:
General Online Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia Britannica CU
Gale Virtual Reference Library CU
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf CU
Specialized Dictionaries:
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online CU
Real Academia Española: http://www.rae.es/rae.html
Literature
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism
The Cambridge history of Spanish literature
PQ6033 .C36 2004
Diccionario Espasa literatura española. 2003
PQ6051 .B74 2003
Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. 1993 (2 volumes)
PQ6006 .D6
Diccionario Oxford De Literatura Española E Hispanoamericana
PQ6006 .O9518 1984
A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. 1995
Z2695 .A2 B55
Hispanic Literature Criticism. 1994. (2 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 H573
For more reference source search tips, go to How do I find Reference Sources.
Chinook is the catalog for materials owned by the CU Libraries. You can also use MyChinook to manage your library account (including renewals, holds, recalls, saved searches, etc.)
If you search Chinook and find that the CU Libraries do not have the item you are looking for (or if the item you are looking for is checked out), you can search Prospector, which is a combined library catalog of 23 libraries in Colorado and Wyoming.
If the item you are looking for is not in Chinook or Prospector, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Generally, an ILL request will take longer to be delivered than material requested through Prospector.
Author Resources
To find books by an author do an AUTHOR search in Chinook.
To find books about an author or an author's work, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook for the author's name.
Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsCriticism and Interpretation (eg Bolano Roberto 1953 2003 Criticism And Interpretation) Authors Spanish American 20th Century Exiles' writings, Spanish American Also see:
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
The Cambridge history of Spanish literature
PQ6033 .C36 2004
Diccionario Espasa literatura española. 2003
PQ6051 .B74 2003
Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. 1993 (2 volumes)
PQ6006 .D6
Diccionario Oxford De Literatura Española E Hispanoamericana
PQ6006 .O9518 1984
A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. 1995
Z2695 .A2 B55
Hispanic Literature Criticism. 1994. (2 volumes)
PQ7081 .A1 H573
Novel Resources
To find books about a novel, do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name and under the title of the work (use both).E.g. Roberto Bolaño AND 2666
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings:
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsSpanish American Literature History And Criticism Spanish American Literature Women Authors History And Criticism Spanish American Literature Social Aspects
Poetry Resources
Books about a specific poem generally are not found in the Library. However, sections of books which provide a critical discussion of an author's overall work may discuss a specific poem.
Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook under the author's name or the title of the anthology in which the poem is found
to find where those books are in the Library. Go to that area and look in each book's 'Index' under that specific Poem's title.
To find more specific material do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to find relevant subject headings
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsCatalan Poetry 20th Century Spanish Poetry 20th Century History And Criticism Spanish Poetry Women Authors
Literary Theory Resources
Do a KEYWORD search in Chinook on your topic.
Or do a SUBJECT search in Chinook to browse the subjects in the catalog:
Use and Adapt these Subject KeywordsLiterature History And Criticism Theory Politics And Literature Psychoanalysis And Feminism
Also see:
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism
The Feminist Encyclopedia Of Spanish Literature
REF PQ6055 .F46 2002
If you are looking for articles on a particular topic, you can use many relevant databases that CU Libraries subscribes to. Some of the article databases only include citation information about the article, while others include access to the full-text of the document, usually in either PDF or HTML format.
The most relevant databases for Spanish Literature are listed below. You can also try the Find Articles & More page where the databases are organized by subject/ discipline categories.
Video Tutorial: Finding databases
MLA international bibliography CU
Articles in literature, languages, linguistics, drama/theatre, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Hapi: Hispanic American periodicals index CU
Articles from scholarly journals and journals of academic interest with links to full text where available. Journals are published in and about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Covers political, economic, and social issues as well as Latin American arts and literature
Video Tutorial: Searching HAPI
JSTOR CU
Articles from back issues of selected scholarly journals in history and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse CU
Full-text articles from over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
A collection of cross-searchable literature databases including the major crititcal world literature indexes, the MLA Bibliography, and ABELL.
HLAS online: Handbook of Latin American studies
Article and book citations about Latin America in the Humanities and Social Sciences. For Humanities, coverage includes: Art, History, Literature, Music, and Philosophy.
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
MLA international bibliography CU
Articles in literature, languages, linguistics, drama/theatre, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Johns Hopkins Guide To Literary Theory And Criticism CU
Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods .
A collection of cross-searchable literature databases including the major crititcal world literature indexes, the MLA Bibliography, and ABELL.
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
You may want to have a look at these websites for digital versions of texts, digitized primary sources and other information:
Literary Index is a sound assessment of significant literary resources available on the WWW with connections to recommended sites.
Literary Resources on the Net at the University of Pennsylvania is a major WWW source of literary sites.
Voice of the Shuttle is a major site listing connections to literary sites concerned with English and American Literature, Minority Literature, and other English literary classifications by genre or country.
Gender Studies lists a multitude of sites dealing with women studies; feminist theory; gay, lesbian, and queer studies; and much more.
Literary Theory sites on the WWW will be found at this location.
Jorge Luis Borges
Fundación Internacional Jorge Luis Borges
Borges center at the University of Iowa
Augusto Monterroso
Página de literatura guatemalteca
Julio Cortázar
Literatura Argentina contemporánea
Gabriel García Márquez
Nobel Prize in Literature
Magical realism
Juan Rulfo
Escritores y poetas en español
http://www.rae.es/rae.html
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online CU
CU = Available to CU affiliates only.
How to connect from home: Remote access information.
For help with your research papers and presentations, contact:
Alison Hicks
Spanish and Portuguese Librarian
alison.hicks@colorado.edu
303 735-1709
For help with other questions, see:
Guides
Latin American Studies
Use this subject guide to locate librarian-selected resources for researching Latin America.
Spanish & Portuguese Language and Literature
Use this subject guide to locate librarian-selected resources for researching Spanish and Portuguese language and literature.
English and American Literature
A guide to resources in English & American Literature: Critical materials on authors; book reviews of novels, biographies, and critical works of literature; novels; plays; poems; short stories.

Side Photo