UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for Speech - Language - Hearing Sciences

Brief Description: Studies the science of human communication and its individual differences and disorders. Research within SLHS focuses upon the developmental, sociological, emotional, cultural, educational, economic, political, cognitive, neurological, psychological, physical, biological, physiological and therapeutic aspects of human communication. (UCB Program)


For more information, contact the Science Library

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles 

Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.

CU ERIC via FirstSearch
Contains annotated references to educational materials. Coverage: 1966 - present.


CU Medline via ProQuest
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Coverage: 1966 - present.


CU PsycINFO via EbscoHost
Indexes dissertations and research in psychology and related fields. Coverage: 1887 - present.


CU ScienceDirect
Contains full text articles from Elsevier published journals. Coverage: 1997 - present.


CU Web of Science
Formerly ISI Citation indexes. Coverage: 1970 - present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

Communication Disorders Sourcebook

Science Ref RC423 C644 1996


Concise Encyclopedia of Language Pathology

Science Ref RC423 C656 1999


Dictionary of Communication Disorders

Science Ref RC423 M597 1997


The Hearing Dictionary Online



Medical Speech-Language Pathology: A Practitioner's Guide

Science Ref RC423 M395 1998


Quick Reference to Speech-Language Pathology

Science Ref RC423 P665 1999

Internet Links for Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
These are selected sites providing access to research and information. Be sure to cite the information correctly when using it for assignments.

American Sign Language



American Speech-Language-Hearing Association



Autism Society of America



Colorado Speech-Language-Hearing Association



Guide to Otolaryngology in the Internet



Judith Kuster's Net Connections for Communication Disorders and Sciences



National Institute on Deafness and Communication Disorders (NIDCD)



The SLP Start Page for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology