UCB Libraries

Any photo you want can go here

Subject Guide for the History of Technology

Brief Description: The history of technological devices and processes and the relations of technology to science, politics, social change, the arts and humanities, and economics. (Adapted from the Society for the History of Technology)

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles 

Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents.

CU American History and Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present

 

CU Applied Science and Technology
Provides information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields. Coverage: 1983 &emdash; present.

 

CU Engineering Village 2--Compendex
Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature. Contains references and abstracts to engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Subject areas include: chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications as well as civil and mechanical engineering. Coverage: 1970 - present.

 

CU General Science Abstracts
Index to general science literature from the U.S. and Europe. Contains some links to full text articles.
Coverage: 1984 &emdash; present.

 

CU Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

 

CU IEEE/IEE Electronic Library
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings and all current IEEE Standards. The site uses the IEEE Xplore search and navigation system. Subjects include electrical engineering and computer science. Coverage: 1988 - present.

 

CU INSPEC
INSPEC is a bibliographic database that indexes physics, astronomy and astrophysics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control engineering and information technology. The database contains full-text links when available. Subscription restrictions to full-text may apply. Coverage: 1968 - present.

 

CU ScienceDirect
Contains full text articles from Elsevier published journals. Coverage: 1997 - present.

 

CU Scirus
This search engine can search 200 million webpages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data.  Subject areas covered include agricultural and biological sciences, astronomy, biosciences, chemistry and chemical engineering, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, (business and management), engineering (energy and technology), environmental sciences, languages and linguistics, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, physics, psychology, social and behavioral sciences, and sociology.

 

 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for the History of Technology
Use these resources to gather background information, definitions, and explanations. Print resources link to Chinook, the UCB online catalog.

Biographical Dictionary of the History of Technology

Engineering Library Ref T39 B49 1996

 

CU Encyclopedia Britannica

 

An Encyclopeaedia of the History of Technology

Engineering Library Office T15 E53 1990

 

Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology

Science Ref Q 175.35 B37 2002

 

Instruments of science: an historical encyclopedia

Science Ref Q184.5 .I57 1998

 

Inventions and Inventors

Science Ref T 20 I59 2001

 

Milestones in Science and Technology

Science Ref Q199 M68 1987

 

The Norton History of Technology

Engineering Library Stacks T15 .C372 1994

 

Science and Technology Firsts

Science Ref T15 B684 1997

Internet Links for the History of Science
These are selected sites providing access to research and information. Be sure to cite the information correctly when using it for assignments.

Annotated Collection of Links for the History of Technology

http://www.refstar.com/techhist/

 

Built in America: Historic American Engineering

http://memory.loc/gov/ammem/hhhtml/hhhome.html

 

Classic Milling Illustrations

http://www.angelfire.com/journal/pondlilymill/graphics.html

 

Engineering Successes and Failures

http://www.englib.cornell.edu/ice/lists/historytechnology/successfail.html

 

IEEE History Center

http://www.ieee.org/organizations/history_center/

 

Institute for the History of Technology and Industrial Archaeology

http://www.as.wvu.edu/ihtia/

 

Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)

http://shot.press.jhu.edu/

 

Technology in Australia 1788-1988

http://www.austehc.unimelb.edu.au/tia/titlepage.html

See also: Subject Guide for the History of Science