Subject Guide for Theatre & Dance
Brief Description: "Life's but a walking shadow; a poor player, That struts and frets his hour upon the stage, And then is heard no more: it is a tale Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, Signifying nothing." (Shakespeare, Macbeth, 5, 5, 19)
For theater resources in Norlin's Reference Department, browse the PN1993 - PN1999 range. The information below lists a fraction of the resources available. For more information, contact the Reference Department or Skip Hamilton. You may also wish to visit the UCB Theater & Dance Department.
Theatre sources dot com : a complete guide to online theatre and dance resources
NORLIN STACKS PN2052 .C38 2001
Dictionary of Costume
REF DEPT STACKS GT507 W5
Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering and Construction
ARTARC REF DEPT STACKS NA31 E59 1988
Encyclopedia of World Art
REF DEPT STACKS N31 E533
Grove Dictionary of Art
(look in index vol. under theatres, costumes, stage design, stage scenery, etc)
ARTARC REF DEPT STACKS N6370 G76 and Online
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
REF DEPT STACKS PN1861 W67 1994
Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or
Scholarly Articles ONLINE
Abstracts and Indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents. Use of these databases is subject to copyright laws and license limitations restrict most to UCB campus IP addresses.
Abstracts and Indexes to Academic or Scholarly Articles: Primary print sources
CU Art Index (Wilson Web)
Index of leading publications in the world of arts. Coverage: 1984 - present.
CU Art Retrospective (Wilson Web)
Index of leading publications in the world of arts. Coverage: 1984 - present.
CU ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Coverage: late 1960s - present.
Articles from journals in all fields. Coverage: 1990 - present
Chinook > A-Z List > A > ArticleFirst
CU Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
CU Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The most comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions and indexes on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Coverage: 1741 - present.
CU Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. The Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989.
CU Book Review Digest (OCLC FirstSearch)
Reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books. Coverage: 1983-present.
CU Expanded Academic ASAP (InfoTrac)
Expanded Academic Index includes abstracts, references, and full text articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications. Coverage: 1980 - present.
CU Humanities Abstracts (OCLC First Search)
This database provides references for periodical information in the humanities subject area. Coverage: February 1984-present.
CU International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
IIPA is a multidisciplinary information resource designed specifically for the performing arts. It provides indexing and abstracts from sources covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Offering the widest span of scholarship available, IIPA ranges from 1864 to the most current issues. Coverage 1864 - present.
An electronic archive of fulltext scholarly journal articles, including extensive coverage of arts, humanities and the social sciences. Users may browse the journals online or retrieve articles by using the fulltext searching option. Coverage: Varies by title.
CU LexisNexis Academic
Late 1970(selective) - present
Full-text newspaper articles. For fullest coverage, choose guided search.
Chinook > A-Z List > L > Lexis-Nexus Academic
CU MLA (OCLC First Search)
MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Coverage: 1963-present.
CU Project Muse
An electronic collection of over 100 journals published by major university presses. The journal collection covers the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Many journal titles included relate to film, theater, and mass media studies. Coverage: Varies by title, most 1995 - present.
Popular reviews and news items
CU Readers' Guide Abstracts
1983 - present
Reviews and articles in popular magazines.
Chinook > A-Z List > R > ReadGuideAbs > limit by Form Review
CU Readers' Guide Retrospective
1962 - 1982
Same as above but for years listed
Chinook > A-Z List > R > Readers' Guide Retrospective > limit by Form Review
American Theater and Drama Research : An Annotated Guide to Information Sources, 1945-1990
REF DEPT STACKS Z1231 .S53 1991 LIB USE ONLY
Costume Index: a subject index to plates and to illustrated text
REF DEPT STACKS Z5691 .M75 LIB USE ONLY
REF DEPT STACKS Z5691 .M75 Suppl LIB USE ONLY
Guide to American Drama Explication
REF DEPT STACKS Z1231 .D7 O84 1995 LIB USE ONLY
Guide to Critical Reviews
REF DEPT STACKS Z5871 .S16 1984 3rd edition LIB USE ONLY
International Bibliography of Theatre (12 volumes)
REF DEPT STACKS Z5783 .I57 LIB USE ONLY
Media Review Digest
REF DEPT STACKS LB1043.Z9 M4 latest volume LIB USE ONLY
Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1966-1980 : An International Bibliography
REF DEPT STACKS Z5781 .C37 1986 LIB USE ONLY
Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism 1981-1990 : An International Bibliography
REF DEPT STACKS Z5781 .C372 1997 LIB USE ONLY
REF DEPT STACKS Z5781 .P53 (1949 - 1992) LIB USE ONLY
Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources
REF DEPT STACKS Z7514 .D2 B6 1992 LIB USE ONLY
Analytical Sourcebook of Concepts in Dramatic Theory
REF DEPT STACKS Z5871 .A55 LIB USE ONLY
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
REF DEPT STACKS Z1219 .A77 LIB USE ONLY
Indexing of articles, reviews, fiction, and poetry from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Each article citation includes the list of cited references at the end of the article. Coverage: 1980 - present.
British Theatre: A Bibliography, 1901 to 1985
REF DEPT STACKS Z2014 .D7 C38 1989 LIB USE ONLY
Music and Dance of the World's Religions: A Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language
REF DEPT STACKS ML128 .S17 R87 1996 c.2 LIB USE ONLY
1/2/3/4 for the Show: A Guide to Small-cast One-act Plays
REF DEPT STACKS Z5781 .H46 1995 LIB USE ONLY
Twentieth-Century American Music for the Dance: A Bibliography
MUS REF DEPT STACKS ML128 .D3 E44 1996 LIB USE ONLY
American Alliance for Theater and Education (AATE)
American Dance Guild
American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA)
American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR)
Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE)
International Theatre Institute (ITI)
National Dance Association (NDA)
Society of Dance History Scholars (SDHS)
Theatre Communication Group (TCG)
Architecture of the Theater : a bibliographical overview
ARTARC REF DEPT STACKS Z5941 .A72 A-1247 - A-1266 LIB USE ONLY
Bibliography of Costume, a dictionary catalog of about eight thousand books and periodicals
REF DEPT STACKS Z5691 .H64 LIB USE ONLY
Stage Scenery, Machinery, and Lighting
REF DEPT STACKS Z5784.S8 S79 LIB USE ONLY
Theatrical costume, masks, make-up and wigs : a bibliography and iconography
REF DEPT STACKS Z5691 .J68 2000 LIB USE ONLY
lc subject > theaters -- stage setting and scenery
lc subject > set designers
lc subject > costume designers
lc subject > costume design
lc subject > scene painting
lc subject > theater architecture
word > theat? Denver (or Canada, or Germany, etc.)
word > costume 19th century (or 20th century, or middle ages, etc.)
Stage Rigging Handbook
PN2091 M3G54 1997
Designing and Making Stage Costumes
TT507 M73 1992
More Costumes for the Stage
PN2067 J33 1993
The Staging Handbook
PN2085 R44 1995
NA6821 I94 1996
NA6821 I947 1996
A Selected Listing
To find journals in Chinook, do a "Library of Congress Subject Heading Search" search using a LC-approved subject term plus the word "periodicals". Here are a few examples:
To find citations in the journals listed below, search the above electronic or print indexes
Architectural Review (London)
ARTARC STACKS 750.5 Ar215
ARTARC STACKS N1 A814
A + U: Architecture and Urbanism
ARTARC STACKS NA6 A66
Journal of Design History
ARTARC STACKS NK1175 J68
ARTARC STACKS 705 Oe5
PER ROOM PN2000 .T48
Theater Crafts International (TCI)
ARTARC STACKS folio PN2000 T48
Theatre Design and Technology
PER ROOM PN2085 .T48
Biographical Dictionary of Dance
REF DEPT STACKS GV1785 .A1 C58 1982 LIB USE ONLY
Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
REF DEPT STACKS PN2220 .C35 1993 LIB USE ONLY
Cambridge Guide to Theatre
REF DEPT STACKS PN2035 .C27 1995 LIB USE ONLY
Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts 2nd ed
REF DEPT STACKS PN1580 .F5 1999 LIB USE ONLY
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Ballet
REF DEPT STACKS GV1585 .C73 1977 LIB USE ONLY
Contemporary Dramatists (latest volume)
REF DEPT STACKS PR106 .C66 LIB USE ONLY
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television (latest four volumes)
REF DEPT STACKS PN2285 .C58 LIB USE ONLY
Dance on Camera : A Guide to Dance Films and Videos
REF DEPT STACKS GV1595 .D342 1998 LIB USE ONLY
Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis
REF DEPT STACKS PN2035 .P2913 1998 LIB USE ONLY
Drama Criticism (14 volumes)
REF DEPT STACKS PN1625 .D72 LIB USE ONLY
International Dictionary of Theatre (3 volumes)
REF DEPT STACKS PN2035 .I49 1992 LIB USE ONLY
International Dictionary of Theatre Language
REF DEPT STACKS PN2035 .I5 1985 LIB USE ONLY
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama (5 volumes)
REF DEPT STACKS PN1625 .M3 1984 LIB USE ONLY
National Theatre Critics' Reviews (1940 - 1996)
REF DEPT STACKS PN1601 .N4 LIB USE ONLY
Oxford Companion to the Theatre
REF DEPT STACKS PN2035 .O9 1983 LIB USE ONLY
Oxford Dictionary of Dance
REF DEPT STACKS GV1585 .C78 2000 LIB USE ONLY
Shakespeare on Screen: An International Filmography and Videography
REF DEPT STACKS PR3093 .R68 1990 LIB USE ONLY
Simon and Schuster Book of the Ballet : A Complete Reference Guide, 1581 to the Present
REF DEPT STACKS GV1787 .B275313  LIB USE ONLY
Song & Dance: An Encyclopedia of Musicals
MUS REF ML102 .M88 A86 1990LIB USE ONLY
Stern's Directory (latest volume)
REF DEPT STACKS GV1580 .D247 LIB USE ONLY
A directory of dancers, dance companies and musicians.
Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet
REF DEPT STACKS GV1787 .G68 1982 LIB USE ONLY
Theatre Backstage: From A to Z
REF DEPT STACKS PN2091 .M3 L68 1999 LIB USE ONLY
Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre
REF DEPT STACKS PN2035 .W485 2000 (latest volume) LIB USE ONLY
also available as an eBook
Women Playwrights of Diversity: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook
REF DEPT STACKS PS338 .W6 P48 1997 LIB USE ONLY
See also: Citing Electronic Sources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
5th edition, Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001.
REF DEPT RDYREF BF76.7 .P83 2001 LIB USE ONLY
Chicago / Turabian
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian, rev. by John Grossman and Alice Bennet.
6th edition, Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
REF DEPT RDYREF LB2369 .T8 1996 LIB USE ONLY
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi.
6th edition, New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2003.
REF DEPT STACKS LB2369 .G53 2003 c.2 LIB USE ONLY
Elements of Style by William Strunk, Jr. ; with revisions, an introduction, and a chapter on writing by E.B. White
4th ed., Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c1999.
REF DEPT STACKS PE1408 .S772 1999 LIB USE ONLY
Also worthy of note
Citing references in Your Paper
A step-by-step guide to APSA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, MLA and others
Voice of the Shuttle
Use their search engine, enter "theater" or "dance"
Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature by Genre: Drama, Theater & Performance Art
Voice of the Shuttle: Music and Dance
Artslynx International Dance Resources
Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
CyberDance: Ballet on the Net
Digital Librarian: Performing Arts
Internet Movie Database
A great source for quick facts about thousands of movies. Overladen with advertising.
Internet Resources in Theatre and Dance Bridgewater State College Theatre and Dance Portal
Inter-Play: An On-line Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
Librarians' Index to the Internet: Performing Arts
Provides extensive and well-organized listings of links to performing arts-related Internet resources.
Opera, Opera Companies, and Musical Theatre
Performing Arts Internet Resources New York Public Library
Extensive lists, maintained by NYPL, includes general lists as well as specialized lists for Arts administration, Dance, Film, and Theatre.
Performing Arts Links
Provides listings, news, and feature articles about current productions and performers appearing on Broadway.
Theatre History on the Web
Theater Studies Research Guide Yale University Library
WWW Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama