University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    
Women and Gender Studies

 


 


Norlin main study area



University Libraries > Research Resources  > Research & Subject Guides >
  

Students using computers
Subject Guide for Women and Gender Studies:
Find Articles

 

This guide provides a selective list of subscribed online research databases related to Women’s Studies. An alphabetical list of all available databases can be found at Find Articles and More.

 

Databases

Online Journals

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Databases

CU Alternative Press Index New
Provides citations for nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines 1991 to present, covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Coverage: varies by title.

 

CU Academic Search Premier New

Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

 

CU Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 150 countries. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Covers topics such as development, equality, legal status, lesbian concerns, politics, reproductive rights, violence and exploitation.

 

CU Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

 

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality, and gender in the Middle Ages.

 

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Searchable bibliography that links to full-text articles in JSTOR, and other on-line resources, including articles, translations, book reviews, databases, and images.

 

Monastic Matrix New

Resources for the study of women's religious communities, including secondary and primary sources, 400-1600 C.E.

Online Journals

Topics:
Women’s Studies
Feminism
Gender
History
Philosophy/Religion
Psychology
Law
Culture
Politics
Business/Economics

 

Women’s Studies

Women’s Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal New

Feature articles about women in anthropology, art, economics, history, literature, sociology and the sciences. Also includes book and film reviews and some poetry and fiction

 

Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies

One of the oldest and most respected feminist journals in the United States. A broad mix of scholarly work, personal essays, and the arts, this cross-disciplinary and culturally diverse journal's feminist content makes it an ideal source of women's history, cultural theory, literature, essays, art, criticism, and pedagogical approaches.

 

Journal of International Women's Studies

Peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for scholars, activists, and students to explore the relationship between feminist theory and various forms of organizing. The journal seeks both multidisciplinary and cross-cultural perspectives. The journal aims to create an opportunity for building bridges across the conventional divides of scholarship and activism; "western" and "third world" feminisms; professionals and students; men and women.

 

NWSA Journal

Official publication of the National Women's Studies Association, publishes interdisciplinary, multi-cultural feminist scholarship linking feminist theory with teaching and activism.

 

European Journal of Women’s Studies New

Major international forum for original scholarship focusing on the complex theoretical and empirical relationship between women and the particular, and diverse, context of Europe.

 

Journal of South Asian Women’s Studies New

http://www.asiatica.org/jsaws/index.php

 

Women's Studies International Forum
Publishes feature articles on feminist research of multidisciplinary and international topics. Includes a “feminist forum” section of forthcoming conferences, calls for papers, web sites, and new books.

Feminism

Feminist Review

British publication featuring theme issues on a variety of topics, often with an international focus.

 

Feminist Theory New

International interdisciplinary journal launched in April 2000 to provide a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism.

 

Feminist Studies
In addition to feature articles of feminist analysis on a variety of topics, publishes fiction and poetry.

 

Off Our Backs
One of the oldest feminist publications provides current news on all feminist issues and reports of recent conferences in the U.S. and abroad.

Gender

Gender and Education

International forum for discussion of multidisciplinary educational research and ideas that focus on gender as a category of analysis.

 

Gender and Society: Official Publication of Sociologists for Women in Society

Presents the latest research and theory on the social and structural implications of gender.

 

Journal of Lesbian Studies

Theme issues on various aspects of lesbian life.

 

Gender and Development New

Aims to promote, inspire, and support development policy and practice, which furthers the goal of equality between women and men.

 

Feminist Africa New
This forum for feminist intellectual dialogue and gender research on the African continent is a publication of the African Gender Institute. It is currently hosted by the University of Cape Town.
http://www.feministafrica.org/

 

Gender Issues New

Articles on basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women, similarities and differences in socialization, and on the changing roles of women around the world. (Formerly Feminist Issues).

 

Gender, Place and Culture New

Forum for debate in human geography and related disciplines on theoretically-informed research concerned with gender issues. It also seeks to highlight the significance of such research for feminism and women's studies.

 

Sex Roles New

Articles on all aspects of gender role socialization, including (but not limited to) the areas of social psychology, public affairs, law, economics, and health and employment policy.

 

Journal of Gender Studies New

Interdisciplinary articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective covering a wide range of subject areas including the Social and Natural Sciences, Arts and Popular Culture.

History

Journal of Women’s History New

Devoted exclusively to the international field of women’s history. Focuses on work on women that is sensitive to the particular historical constructions of gender that shape and are shaped by women’s experience.

 

Gender and History New

International journal for research and writing on the history of femininity and masculinity and of gender relations. Examines changing conceptions of gender, and maps the dialogue between femininities, masculinities and their historical contexts.

 

Women's History Review
Interdisciplinary articles (for example, women's studies, history, sociology, cultural studies, literature, political science, anthropology and philosophy) that further feminist knowledge and debate about women and/or gender relations in history. Covers the 19th and 20th centuries as well as earlier times.

Philosophy/Religion

Hypatia: Journal of Feminist Philosophy

Feature articles, book reviews and announcements.

 

Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion

Oldest interdisciplinary, inter-religious feminist academic journal in religious studies. A channel for the publication of feminist scholarship in religion and a forum for discussion and dialogue among women and men of differing feminist perspectives.

Psychology

Feminism and Psychology New

Fosters the development of feminist theory and practice in psychology and represents the concerns of women in a wide range of contexts across the academic/applied `divide'.

 

Psychology of Women Quarterly New

Articles germane to the psychology of women, including sex-related comparisons, psychobiological factors, sexuality, social and cognitive processes, career choice and training, discrimination, harassment and violence and psychological distress

 

Women and Health New

The journal covers material involving the physical and psychological well-being of women, the sociocultural factors that lead to health problems, and issues of prevention, early diagnosis and treatment, the limitation of disability, and rehabilitation.

Law

Duke Journal of Gender Law and Policy

Interdisciplinary publication devoted to discussion and consideration of gender issues in the context of law and public policy. The journal encourages works from multiple perspectives, with particular emphasis on practical analysis, in an effort to identify the connections between social science and the law, scholarship and public policy, and academic work and professional practice.

 

Women's Rights Law Reporter

Full-text documents dedicated to the scholarly review of law affecting women's rights and sex discrimination, issues of importance to students, practitioners and academics.

Culture

Camera Obscura

Devoted to providing innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, and visual media. Encompasses a spectrum of media practices including avante-garde, alternative, fringe, international and mainstream.

 

Differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies

Publishes feature articles bringing together cultural studies and feminist analysis

 

Hecate: A Women's Interdisciplinary Journal
Articles, commentary, poetry, and fiction from a socialist feminist point of view

 

Signs

Feature articles on various topics relating to women and culture.

 

Tulsa Studies in Women’s Literature New

A scholarly journal devoted to the study of the relations between women and writing of every period and in all languages. Publishing articles, notes, archival research, and reviews, Tulsa Studies seeks path-breaking literary, historicist, and theoretical work by both established and emerging scholars.

 

Ms.
Feature articles on a wide variety of women’s issues, U.S. and international news items, sections on health and work life, and opinion pieces.

Politics

Women and Politics New

Covers issues pertaining to women and government (especially concerning social and public policy), from both a national and a comparative perspective.

 

Social Politics New

Looks at politics and culture from the perspective of gender. Addresses changes in family, state, market, and civil society. Interdisciplinary and multicultural in scope.

Business and Economics

Advancing Women in Leadership

First on-line professional, refereed journal for women in leadership. The journal publishes manuscripts that report, synthesize, review, or analyze
scholarly inquiry that focuses on women's issues. Interdisciplinary.

 

Feminist Economics New

Dedicated to developing an interdisciplinary discourse on feminist perspectives on economics and the economy.” Includes theoretical and research articles, short essays, book reviews and notices.

     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark