
University Libraries >
Research Resources >
Research & Subject Guides >
Subject Guide for Women and Gender Studies:
Reference Resources
Below is a selected list of print materials that can help you begin your research.
Note: Clicking on the call number for each book will bring you to the record
in the Chinook Library Catalog
Indexes | Biographical
Sources | Encyclopedias
and Dictionaries | Directories and Handbooks
Indexes
Women's Studies Index 1989-
REF DEPT INDEX Z7962 .W65
Feminist Periodicals: A Current Listing of Contents. 1981-
REF DEPT INDEX Z6944 .W6 F44
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts 1983-
REF DEPT INDEX HQ1233 .S78
Biographical
Sources
Ahead of Their Time:a biographical dictionary of risk-taking women
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1123 .D86 2002 New
Women of Strength: Biographies of 106 Who Have Excelled in Traditionally
Male Fields, A.D. 61 to the Present
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1123 .B35 1996
Women in world history : a biographical encyclopedia, 10 vols.
REF
DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .W6 1999 New
A
to Z of American women leaders and activists
REF
DEPT STACKS HQ1412 .L36 2002 New
A
to Z of American women in sports
REF
DEPT STACKS GV697 .A1 E28 2002 New
Notable American women
REF DEPT STACKS CT3260 .N5735 2004 New
Black Women in America, 3 vols.
REF DEPT STACKS E185 .86 .B542
2005 New
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women, 2 vol. New
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1767 .5.A3 B56 1998
Notable Hispanic American Women
REF DEPT STACKS E184 .S75 N68 1993
Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary
REF DEPT STACKS E98 .W8 B38 2001 New date
Encyclopedias
and Dictionaries
United
States | International | Feminism
and Gender | Politics
United
States
American Women's History
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .W4 1994
Women during the Civil War : an encyclopedia
REF DEPT STACKS E628 .H37 2004
New
Milestones: A Chronology of American Women's History
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1410 .W434 1997
International
Encyclopedia of Amazons: Women Warriors from Antiquity to the Modern
Era
REF DEPT STACKS U51 .S34 1991
Women’s Roles in Ancient Times
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1127 .W654 1999 New
International Encyclopedia of Women, 4 vol. (e-resource)
REF
DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .R69 2000 New
International encyclopedia of women and sports
SCI REF GV709 .I58 2001New
International encyclopedia of women scientists
SCI REF Q141 .O27 2002 New
Larousse Dictionary of Women
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .L37 1996
Politics
From
Suffrage to the Senate, 2 vols.
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1236 .5.U6 S32 1999 New
International Encyclopedia of Women’s Suffrage
REF DEPT STACKS JF851 .H28 2000 New
The Almanac of Women and Minorities in American Politics
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1236
.5.U6 M3778 2001 New
Feminism & Gender
Historical Dictionary of Feminism
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .B65 2006 New date
The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Post Feminism
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .R68 2000 New
Women’s
Movement Today:An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism, 2 vols. REF
DEPT
STACKS HQ1115 .W644 2006 New
Women's Studies Encyclopedia. 3 vols.
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .W645 1999 New date
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World’s
Cultures, 2 vols.
REF DEPT STACKS HQ16 .E53 2003 New
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender, 2 vols.
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1115 .E52 2001 New
Lesbian History and Cultures (e-resource)
REF DEPT STACKS HQ75 .5.L4395 2000 New
Encyclopedia of Abortion
REF DEPT STACKS HQ767 .5.U5 P35 2002 New
Women's Thesaurus: An index of Language Used to Describe and Locate
Information By and About Women
REF DEPT STACKS Z695.1 .W65 1987
Directories
and Handbooks
Handbook of American Women's History
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1410 .H36 2000 New date
Readers Guide to Women’s Studies
REF DEPT STACKS Z7961 .R43 1998 New (no longer e-resource)
Statistical Handbook on Women in America
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1420 .T34 1996
Where Women Stand: An International Report on the Status of Women
in Over 140 Countries, 1997-1998
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1154 .N39 1997
W.I.S.H.: The International Handbook of Women's Studies
REF DEPT STACKS HQ1180 .W2 1993
|