University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
University Libraries    Contact Us
Search this Site
Libraries Home
CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map
 Research Resources  |   About the Libraries  |   Services  Chinook Catalog    
Women and Gender Studies

 


 


#abstracts

Norlin main study area



University Libraries > Research Resources  > Research & Subject Guides >
  

Students using computers
Subject Guide for Women and Gender Studies:
Research Resources

 

Primary Sources Online
British Studies Collection
Microfilm Collections

CU = Resources marked with this symbol are available on campus and to students, staff, and faculty from an off-campus location. Use of these resources is subject to copyright laws and license limitations.

Primary Sources Online

CU Defining Gender: 1450 - 1910 (Five Centuries of Advice Literature Online)
Searchable database of over 60,000 archival images of original documents relating to Gender Studies in Great Britian on subjects such as Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, and Consumption and Leisure.

CU Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Provides primary documents from anti-slavery to pacifism to feminism, as well as images of postcards, buttons, posters and periodicals of the feminist movement, portals to oral history projects, reviews of feminist literature, bibliographies, and discussion boards. Updated quarterly.

 

CU North American Women's Diaries
Provides full-text diaries and letters from over 1,000 North American women from the colonial era through 1950.

 

CU Women Writers Online, Brown University
200+ full text items from published primary source materials related to women and women's studies, from the Renaissance to the Romantic (1400-1850).

 

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century: Digital Schomburg New

This nineteenth-century printed record includes poetry, short stories, histories, narratives, treatises.

American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
Gateway and guide to digitized material, recordings, and moving images located throughout the Library of Congress Web site.

 

American Women's History: A Research Guide

Index and digital collection of primary sources organized by state and by subject.

 

British Women Romantic Poets: 1789-1832

Electronic collection of published and unpublished texts of British and Irish women.

Duke University On-Line Archival Collections New

Original documents, letters, diaries and memoirs of African-American women, Civil War women, and the Women’s Liberation Movement.

 

Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
Harvard University Library Open Collections Program provides access to digitized books, manuscripts, and images selected from Harvard's library and museum. the first project undertaken by the Program is Women Working, 1800–1930. This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

 

Victorian Women Writers Project

Full-text transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century including anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.

 

Votes for Women: National American Woman Suffrage Association, 1848-1921

Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign, includes works from the libraries of other members and officers of the organization including: Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony.

British Studies Collection

British Studies Collection Combined Index New
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/govpubs/for/british/indfin1.htm
Click “W” and scroll down for listings under the subject heading “women”.

Microfilm Collections

Sex & sexuality, 1640-1940: Literary, Medical and Sociological Perspectives
Request at Circulation: Microfilm 5894

 

Medieval and Early Modern Women

Request at Circulation: Microfilm 5865

 

Women Advising Women: Advice Books, Manuals and Journals for Women, 1450-1837

Request at Circulation: Microfilm 4959

 

Women and Victorian Values: Advice Books, Manuals and Journals for Women, 1837-1910

Request at Circulation: Microfilm 5728

 

Colonial Discourses: Women, travel, & empire, 1660-1914. Part 1: Early Travel Accounts by Women and Women's Experiences in India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada. Part 2: Women and "the Orient"

Request at Circulation: Microfilm 5757

 

Women's Language and Experience, 1500-1940: Women's Diaries and Related Sources

Request at Circulation: Microfilm 5037

 

Aristocratic Women: the Social, Political and Cultural History of Rich and Powerful Women

Request at Circulation: Microfilm 5641

 

     
 
University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark